Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (125th Issue, December 2016) – Incident in Focus

Dioxins, Dioxin-like Polychlorinated Biphenyls and Hairy Crabs

Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety

In late September 2016, two hairy crab samples collected at import level were found to contain dioxins and dioxin-like polychlorinated biphenyls (DL-PCBs) at a level exceeding the action level adopted by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS). To safeguard public health, the CFS suspended the import and sale within Hong Kong of the hairy crabs from the two concerned aquaculture farms in Jiangsu Province. In previous years, there were also reports of contamination of food with dioxins and DL-PCBs in other parts of the world. For example, in 2008, elevated levels of dioxins and DL-PCBs were found in Irish pork and in 1999, high levels of dioxins were found in pork, poultry and eggs from Belgium; the causes of these two incidents were traced to animal feed contaminated with dioxins and DL-PCBs.

What are Dioxins and DL-PCBs?

Dioxins and DL-PCBs are environmental pollutants with similar toxic effects. Their nature, sources and safety concerns have been discussed in the last issue. In brief, their long-term cumulative risk to health includes developmental problems in children and reproductive problems in adults as well as cancer-causing in humans.

How do Dioxins and DL-PCBs Contaminate Hairy Crabs?

Hairy crabs occur in streams, rivers and lakes. They scavenge for food at the bottom of habitats and eat almost everything they can find. Dioxins and DL-PCBs, once released, contaminate soil surfaces and aquatic sediments leading to bioaccumulation and biomagnification (i.e. increasing concentration) of the contaminants through the food chain (see Fig).

Bioaccumulation and Biomagnification of Dioxins and Polychlorinated Biphenyls in Hairy Crabs
Bioaccumulation and Biomagnification of Dioxins and Polychlorinated Biphenyls in Hairy Crabs

Which Parts of Hairy Crabs Contain More Dioxins and DL-PCBs?

The edible portion of hairy crabs can broadly be divided into white meat and brown meat. White meat is white in colour and is present in the claws, legs and also in the body. Brown meat is brownish-green and is obtained from the main body of the crab. It consists mainly of the crab’s digestive organ (hepatopancreas) and reproductive organs.

The amount of fat in brown meat (i.e. digestive and reproductive organs) is much higher than that in white meat. Since dioxins and DL-PCBs are fat-soluble, they tend to accumulate in the brown meat. A study commissioned by the Dutch Food and Consumer Product Safety Authority in 2012 showed that brown meat of hairy crabs sampled from some polluted rivers may contain dioxins and DL-PCBs at levels 15 to 115 times higher than that in white meat. Based on the average levels of dioxins and DL-PCBs (29.1 pg TEQ/g) in 9 locations in the Netherlands, the study estimated that the PTMI (a health-based guidance value) for dioxins and DL-PCBs would be exceeded by consumers with a high background exposure when a portion of 50 g meat (i.e. about 1.3 tael) of hairy crab (about a 3-tael crab) is consumed once a month.

Regulatory Control

At present, the Codex Alimentarius Commission has not established maximum limits for dioxins and DL-PCBs in foods. In Hong Kong, an action level of 1 pg/g for dioxins for all food commodities (including hairy crabs) has been adopted in the food surveillance programme since 1999. An action level of 6.5 pg/g for the sum of dioxins and DL-PCBs in hairy crabs have been adopted by CFS.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Dioxins and DL-PCBs are a group of persistent environmental pollutants.
  2. Adverse health effects arising from long-term exposure include developmental problems in children and reproductive problems in adults as well as carcinogenic to humans.
  3. Because of a higher content of fat, brown meat of crabs is known to contain higher amount of contaminants such as dioxins and DL-PCBs.

Advice to Public

Dioxins and DL-PCBs are found throughout the world in the environment and all people have background exposure which is not expected to affect human health. Nonetheless, the World Health Organization opines that the reduction of body burdens (level in the body) is a long-term strategy and is probably most relevant for girls and young women to reduce exposure of the developing fetus and when breastfeeding infants later on in life.

  • As dioxins and DL-PCBs accumulate in fats of animals, trimming fat from meat and consuming low fat dairy products may decrease the exposure.
  • A balanced diet (including adequate amounts of fruits, vegetables and cereals) will help to avoid excessive exposure from a single source.
  • Consume hairy crabs in moderation.

Advice to Trade

  • Purchase live hairy crabs from aquaculture farms that are regulated by the relevant authorities and from reputable exporters.
  • In Hong Kong, all food available for sale in the market must be fit for human consumption. The trade should ensure that the food they sell or import is fit for human consumption and comply with legal requirements.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 21-12-2016

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一六年十二月第一百二十五期) - 焦點個案

二噁英、二噁英樣多氯聯苯與大閘蟹

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任朱源強先生報告

二零一六年九月底,兩個從進口層面抽取的大閘蟹樣本被發現含有二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯,含量超出食物安全中心(中心)所採用的行動水平。為保障市民健康,中心暫停進口及在港出售江蘇省的兩個涉事水產養殖場的大閘蟹。世界其他地方以往亦曾有食物被二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯污染的報告。例如,二零零八年,愛爾蘭豬肉被發現二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯超標;一九九九年,比利時的豬肉、家禽及蛋被發現二噁英含量甚高。經追查發現,引致這兩次事故的原因是動物飼料被二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯污染。

什麼是二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯?

二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯是毒性作用相似的環境污染物,其性質、來源及安全問題已在上期討論。簡言之,二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯會對人類健康造成長遠的累積風險,包括導致兒童及成人分別出現發育及生育問題,還可令人致癌。

二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯怎樣污染大閘蟹?

大閘蟹在溪澗、河流及湖出沒。大閘蟹在棲息地的水底覓食,並幾乎吃掉覓得的所有東西。二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯一旦釋出,會污染土壤表面及水中沉積物,並沿食物鏈在生物體內積聚和濃縮(即濃度增加)(見圖)。

二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯在大閘蟹體內積聚和濃縮
二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯在大閘蟹體內積聚和濃縮

大閘蟹的哪些部位含有較多二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯?

大閘蟹的可食用部分大致可分為白肉及褐色肉。白肉呈白色,生長在蟹螯、蟹足及蟹身。褐色肉呈褐綠色,生長在蟹身主體部分,主要是蟹的消化器官(肝胰臟)及生殖器官。

褐色肉(即消化及生殖器官)的脂肪量遠高於白肉。由於二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯屬脂溶性,故往往在褐色肉積聚。荷蘭食品及消費產品安全局(Dutch Food and Consumer Product Safety Authority)在二零一二年委託進行的一項研究顯示,從某些受污染河流抽取的大閘蟹樣本,褐色肉的二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量較白肉高15至115倍。該研究根據在荷蘭九個地點的大閘蟹的二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯的平均含量(每克29.1皮克毒性當量)估計,本底暴露值較高的消費者若每月進食大閘蟹(約3兩重的蟹)的50克肉(即約1.3兩),便會超出二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯的暫定每月可容忍攝入量(健康參考值)。

規管情況

現時,食品法典委員會未就食物中二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量訂定限量標準。自一九九九年起,香港在食物監察計劃中就所有食物(包括大閘蟹)所採用的二噁英含量行動水平為每克1皮克。中心採納的大閘蟹二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量總和的行動水平為每克6.5皮克。

注意要點:

  1. 二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯是一組持久性環境污染物。
  2. 因長期攝入對健康造成的不良影響,包括兒童的發育問題、成人的生育問題,以及令人致癌。
  3. 蟹的褐色肉因脂肪含量較高,故含有較多污染物,例如二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯。

給市民的建議

由於二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯在全球環境中無處不在,所有人均會受到本底暴露,但預計不影響人體健康。儘管如此,世界衞生組織認為減低人體的二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯含量(體內水平)屬長期策略,尤其對女童及年輕女性來說,可能更為適切,因為可令發育中的胎兒,以及日後以母乳餵哺的嬰兒減少攝入二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯。

  • 由於二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯積聚在動物脂肪,故去掉肉類的脂肪和食用低脂奶類製品或可減少攝入二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯。
  • 保持均衡飲食(包括進食充足水果、蔬菜及穀類食品)有助避免從單一食物來源攝入過量二噁英及二噁英樣多氯聯苯。
  • 適量食用大閘蟹。

給業界的建議

  • 從受有關當局規管的水產養殖場及商譽良好的出口商購買鮮活大閘蟹。
  • 在香港,所有在市面出售的食物必須適合供人食用。業界應確保出售或進口的食物均適合供人食用,並符合法例標準。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-12-2016