Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (114th Issue, January 2016) – Incident in Focus

Antibiotics and Food Safety

Dr. Ivan CHONG, Veterinarian,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Late last year, the World Health Organization (WHO) held its first World Antibiotic Awareness Week in an attempt to increase awareness of global antibiotic resistance. This article aims to explore the use of antibiotics in food producing animals and their implications to food safety including their potential residues in food and the development of antibiotic resistant bacteria.

Use of Antibiotics in Food Producing Animals
First introduced in the 1940s, antibiotics are medicines that kill or stop the growth of bacteria. Since their introduction, they are widely used in human as well as veterinary medicine. According to the WHO, approximately half of current antibiotic production is used in agriculture including food animal production. Antibiotics are used therapeutically to treat animals with infectious diseases, prophylactically to prevent diseases or their spread within a herd and, in some places, for growth promotion where they are typically given in low doses in the feed and/or water as they increase the rate of weight gain and/or the efficiency of feed utilisation in animals.

Antibiotic Residues in Food
Just like many other veterinary drugs, the use of antibiotics in food animals has the potential to leave residues in animal products such as meat and milk. While low level residues of certain antibiotics are considered safe in some food products, residues of other antibiotics (e.g. chloramphenicol) may pose unacceptable risk to public health and are therefore prohibited to be used in food animals.

In Hong Kong, the Harmful Substances in Food Regulations (Cap. 132AF) (the Regulations) implemented in 1983 govern the import and sale of food containing harmful substances. In 2001, significant enhancements were made to the Regulations to include antibiotics as well as other veterinary drugs in the two Schedules to the Regulations. Currently, the maximum concentrations of 38 veterinary drugs (the majority of which are antibiotics) in different foods are specified in the First Schedule of the Regulations, in which the name of the veterinary drug, description of the veterinary drug, description of the food and the maximum concentration of that veterinary drug allowed are listed. Moreover, a total of seven veterinary drugs (including two antibiotics) that are prohibited in any fish, meat or milk are listed in the Second Schedule to the Regulations.

Development of resistant bacteria in animals when antibiotics are used
Development of resistant bacteria in animals when antibiotics are used (Adapted from US CDC)

Emergence and Spread of Antibiotic Resistant Bacteria
When antibiotics are administered to animals, they kill or stop the growth of susceptible bacteria in the intestine. At the same time, some resistant bacteria in the intestine survive or remain unaffected and multiply, leading to the development of an antibiotic resistant bacterial population. Misuse, overuse or the use of antibiotics for growth promotion can potentially accelerate this process as long-term, low-level exposure to antibiotics may lead to survival and growth of resistant bacteria. Humans can become exposed to and subsequently infected by these resistant bacteria through the handling or consumption of contaminated food or through direct contact with animals harbouring these bacteria.

Should We Stop the Use of Antibiotics in Food Producing Animals?
As pointed out by the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), antibiotics are essential tools for protecting animal health and animal welfare. When used appropriately, antibiotics also contribute to satisfying the increasing world demand of safe food of animal origin such as milk, meat, fish and eggs. Without antibiotics, food animals suffering from bacterial infectious diseases will be denied effective treatment and outbreaks of disease may not be effectively controlled or prevented within a herd. With more than 60% of human pathogens today originating from animals, leaving sick food animals untreated poses a risk to both food safety and public health.

The OIE, WHO, as well as Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) all recommend prudent and responsible use of antimicrobials including antibiotics. In general, antibiotics should only be used when indicated and when used in food animals, they should be under veterinary supervision. Efforts should also be made to reduce the use of antibiotics by implementing good animal husbandry practices. According to the Code of Practice to Minimize and Contain Antimicrobial Resistance prepared by Codex, antibiotics should not be used for growth promotion without appropriate risk analysis. The WHO also advises against the use of antibiotics for growth promotion.

According to FAO, prudent use of veterinary drugs including antibiotics has tremendous benefits to animal health and the judicious use of antibiotics in agriculture should reduce the emergence and spread of resistant bacteria in animals, and minimise public health risks.

Key Points to Note

  1. Antibiotics are essential tools for protecting animal health and animal welfare.
  2. While low level residues of certain antibiotics are considered safe in some food products, residues of other antibiotics may pose unacceptable risk to public health.
  3. Misuse and overuse of antibiotics may accelerate the development of antibiotic resistance.

Advice to the Consumers

  • Purchase food of animal origin from reliable source.
  • Observe good hygiene when preparing food, particularly those from animal origin (e.g. raw meat), including washing hands with soap after contact with raw meat.
  • Cook food thoroughly before consumption.

Advice to the trade

  • Ensure that antibiotics given to animals are only used under veterinary supervision.
  • Obtain food of animal origin from sources that follow Good Practice in the Use of Veterinary Drugs.
  • Fresh (i.e. not chilled or frozen) pork, beef and goat meat should only be obtained from animals slaughtered in one of the licensed locals slaughterhouses.
  • Importation of chilled/frozen meat or chilled/frozen poultry meat must be accompanied by an import licence from the Centre for Food Safety.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-01-2016

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一六年一月第一百一十四期)-焦點個案

抗生素與食物安全

食物安全中心
風險評估組
莊富傑獸醫報告

為了提高全球對抗生素耐藥性問題的認識,世界衞生組織(世衞)於去年年底舉辦了首個"世界提高抗生素認識周"。本文將探討在食用動物身上使用抗生素及其可能衍生的食物安全問題,包括可能在食物中出現的抗生素殘餘及抗生素耐藥菌的形成。

抗生素在食用動物中的應用
抗生素是一種能夠殺滅細菌或抑制細菌生長的藥物,自二十世紀四十年代問世以來,不但廣泛用於人類醫學,亦用於治療動物。世衞指目前生產的抗生素約有半數用於農業,包括養殖食用動物。抗生素被用於治療患傳染病的食用動物;預防疾病或阻止疾病在食用動物間傳播;有些地方為了加快食用動物生長,會在飼料及/或水中加入低劑量的抗生素,以增加食用動物的體重及/或提高飼料利用率。

食物中的抗生素殘餘
與其他獸藥一樣,對食用動物施用抗生素,動物產品(例如肉和奶)中有可能殘留一定的抗生素。雖然有部分抗生素即使在一些食品中有少量殘餘也不構成安全問題,但亦有某些抗生素(例如氯霉素)的殘餘可給公眾健康帶來難以承受的風險,這些抗生素因此被禁止在食用動物中使用。

在香港,一九八三年起實施的《食物內有害物質規例》(第132AF章)就輸入和出售含有有害物質的食物作出規管。該規例在二零零一年大幅修訂,把抗生素和多種獸藥納入兩個附表中。規例的附表1目前載列了38種獸藥(大部分是抗生素)在不同食物中的最高濃度限量,包括獸藥名稱、獸藥的描述、食物類別和所容許的最高濃度。附表2則列明了魚、肉類和奶類不得含有的七種獸藥,其中兩種是抗生素。

施用了抗生素的動物體內出現耐藥細菌
施用了抗生素的動物體內出現耐藥細菌(摘自美國疾病控制及預防中心)

抗生素耐藥菌的形成和傳播
動物接受抗生素後,腸道的易感細菌被殺滅或抑制,未被殺滅或抑制的耐藥細菌卻同時開始大量繁殖,形成對抗生素有耐藥性的菌群。錯用、濫用或使用抗生素來加快動物生長都有可能加速這個過程,因為長期使用低劑量的抗生素有 利於耐藥細菌的生存和生長。人類在處理或進食受污染的食物,或直接與帶菌動物接觸時,都有可能接觸到這些耐藥細菌並受感染。

應否停止對食用動物施用抗生素?
正如世界動物衞生組織指出,抗生素是保障動物健康和福利必不可少的工具。只要使用得當,抗生素亦為滿足全球對安全的動物源性食物(如奶類、肉類、魚和蛋等)與日俱增的需求作出貢獻。沒有抗生素,患有傳染病的食用動物將不能 得到有效的治療;一旦食用動物間爆發疾病,就不能得到有效控制和預防。由於現今逾60%的人類病原體源自動物,如生病的食用動物得不到治療,將對食物安全和公眾健康構成風險。

世界動物衞生組織、世衞和聯合國糧農組織(糧農組織)一致建議慎重和負責任地使用抗生素等抗微生物藥物。一般而言,抗生素只應在有真正需要時才使用,而對食用動物施用時應遵從獸醫的監督。食品法典委員會編製的《盡量減少 和控制抗微生物藥物耐藥性操作規範》指出,在未經適當的風險分析的情況下,抗生素不應用作促進生長。世衞亦不建議使用抗生素來促進生長。

糧農組織指出,謹慎使用包括抗生素在內的獸藥對動物健康具有裨益。在務農過程明智地使用抗生素能減少細菌出現抗藥性的問題在食用動物中發生及蔓延,減低公共衞生的風險。

注意要點

  1. 抗生素是保障動物健康和福利必不可少的工具。
  2. 雖然有部分抗生素即使在一些食品中有少量殘餘也不構成安全問題,但亦有某些抗生素(例如氯霉素)的殘餘會給公眾健康帶來難以承受的風險。
  3. 錯用和濫用抗生素都有可能加快耐藥細菌的形成。

給消費者的建議

  • 應從可靠的店鋪購買動物源性食物。
  • 在處理食物(尤其是生肉等動物源性食物)時,應注意衞生,包括接觸生肉後用肥皂洗手。
  • 把食物徹底煮熟方可進食。

給業界的建議

  • 確保只有在獸醫監督下才對動物施用抗生素。
  • 採購動物源性食物時光顧遵守獸藥使用良好規範的供應商。
  • 新鮮豬肉、牛肉及羊肉 (非冰鮮或冷藏肉類 )須來自本地持牌屠房屠宰的牲口。
  • 進口冰鮮/冷藏肉類或冰鮮/冷藏禽肉須領有食物安全中心簽發的進口許可證。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 20-01-2016