Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (106th Issue, May 2015) – Food Safety Platform

Role of Sweeteners in Reduction of Sugar Intake (Part I)

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Our desire for sweet taste extends across different ages, races and cultures. This article discusses the role of sweeteners, in particular low-calorie sweeteners, in replacing some of the added sugar in our diet, and its implications for weight control.

World Health Organization’s Guideline on Sugar Intake

In March 2015, the World Health Organization (WHO) released the Guideline: Sugars Intake for Adult and Children, in which a reduced intake of free sugars throughout the lifecourse as well as reducing intake of free sugars to less than 10% of total energy intake in both adults and children was strongly recommended. Free sugars include monosaccharides and disaccharides added to foods and beverages by the manufacturer, cook or consumer, and sugars naturally present in honey, syrups, fruit juices and fruit juice concentrates. WHO also suggests that a further reduction of free sugars intake to below 5% of total energy intake would provide additional health benefits in the form of reduced dental caries.

Translating the above-mentioned WHO’s recommendations into daily practice, for a total energy intake of 2000 kcal a day, the daily “allowance” for free sugars would be 50g (strong recommendation) and 25g (conditional recommendation), respectively. With these recommendations in mind, some may wonder whether we are still going to be able to enjoy sweet-tasting food and beverages without exceeding the recommended sugar intake limits.

Various forms of food and beverages containing sweetener
Various forms of food and beverages containing sweetener

The Nature of Low-calorie Sweeteners

Low-calorie sweeteners (e.g. aspartame, sucralose and neotame) have very little or no caloric values. They are also known as intense sweeteners because they are substantially sweeter, ranging from several dozen to several thousand times sweeter than table sugar (i.e. sucrose), and thus only a tiny amount is needed to give the food enough sweetness, resulting in substantial calorie-savings.

Indeed, low-calorie sweeteners offer a feasible alternative to enjoy sweet-tasting food and beverages without the added sugar or calories. The safety of low-calorie sweeteners that are suitable for food use has been evaluated by international food safety authorities, and thus these sweeteners can be safely incorporated as part of a varied and balanced diet. Food safety authorities worldwide share the same view. Further information on the food safety of sweeteners can be found from previous issues of Food Safety Focus.

Low-calorie Sweeteners and Weight Control

According to WHO, the totality of evidence reviewed indicates that increasing or decreasing free sugars is associated with parallel changes in body weight, and the relationship is present regardless of the level of intake of free sugars. The excess body weight associated with free sugars intake results from excess energy intake. This brings to the next question: is it possible to achieve weight control simply by replacing free sugars with low-calorie sweeteners?

Some of us may be aware that some earlier studies had brought about the hypotheses that low-calorie sweeteners might stimulate appetite or increase food intake, and in turn cause people to gain weight. Nowadays, more recent research findings have become available. Evidence from short-term randomised control trials consistently indicates that when low-calorie sweeteners are used to replace sugar, the resulting reduction in calories can help to achieve short-term weight loss. Recent studies have not observed that low-calorie sweeteners promote overeating. Nevertheless, there is insufficient evidence at present to conclude the relationship between the use of low-calorie sweeteners and long-term weight control.

Indeed, the key to maintaining body weight is not to consume more calories than are burnt. Low-calorie sweeteners can be used as an alternative to save calories by replacing table sugar. Nevertheless, they only work if the calorie saving is not added back, say by eating more food as a reward later in the day, or by taking in more of other calorie-yielding nutrients such as other types of carbohydrates, protein and fat in the overall diet. Achieving long-term weight maintenance rests on a healthy and active lifestyle that includes a sensible, balanced diet and regular physical activity, and this requires long-term commitment.

In the next article, we will look into how the human beings respond to sweet taste, and the concerns on the use of sweeteners among children.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 20-05-2015

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一五年五月第一百零六期)-食物安全平台

甜味劑在減少糖攝取量方面的角色(上篇)

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任郭麗儀女士報告

我們對甜味的熱愛橫跨年齡,種族和文化。但是,過量攝取糖分卻對健康有不良影響。本文將討論甜味劑,特別是低熱量甜味劑在取代部分膳食中添加的糖中所擔當的角色及其對體重控制的影響。

世界衞生組織對糖攝取量的指引

二零一五年三月,世界衞生組織(世衞)就成人及兒童的糖攝取量發出指引,強烈建議終身減少游離糖攝取量,以及將成人和兒童的游離糖攝取量降至能量總攝入量的10%以下。游離糖指所有由製造商、廚師和消費者在食物添加的單糖和雙糖,以及蜜糖、糖漿、果汁及濃縮果汁中天然含有的糖。世衞又建議將游離糖攝取量進一步減至每日能量總攝入量的5%以內,認為在減少齲齒方面,可帶來額外的健康好處。

如在日常生活中落實世衞以上的建議,以每日從膳食攝入2000千卡能量的人為例,游離糖的每日攝取量分別為50克(強烈建議)和25克(條件性建議)。有人可能會想,如果遵從這些限制糖攝取量的建議,以後還能繼續吃甜的食物和飲料嗎?

各種含有甜味劑的食物和飲料
各種含有甜味劑的食物和飲料

低熱量甜味劑的特性

阿斯巴甜(aspartame)、三氯半乳蔗糖(sucralose)和紐甜(neotame)等低熱量甜味劑只有極低甚至不含熱量。這些甜味劑又稱為高甜度甜味劑,甜度遠高於砂糖(即蔗糖)數十至數千倍不等。在食物中只須加極小量的甜味劑便能達致所需甜度,因而可大幅減少食物所含的熱量。

如果想享用甜食,但又不想攝取糖分或熱量,低熱量甜味劑的確是一個好選擇。用於食物的低熱量甜味劑的安全性已得到國際食物安全機構的肯定,可安全納入成為多元化和均衡飲食的一部分,這也是世界各地食物安全機構的一致看法。關於甜味劑食物安全問題的更多論述,可參閱過往期數的《食物安全焦點》

低熱量甜味劑與體重控制

世衞指出,整體證據顯示,增加或減少攝入游離糖,體重亦會有相對應的改變。無論攝入的游離糖分量是多少,這種關係依然存在。進食過多游離糖會造成能量過剩,以致過重。那是否意味着,只要用低熱量甜味劑取代游離糖,就能控制體重呢?

大家可能聽過早年有研究指低熱量甜味劑會刺激食慾,令人吃得更多,反而令體重增加。我們留意到現在多了一些近期的研究結果。短期隨機對照試驗結果一致顯示,以低熱量甜味劑取代糖所減少的熱量有助在短期內達到減輕體重的效果。而這些研究並沒有得出低熱量甜味劑會令人吃得過多的結論。不過,目前並沒有足夠證據顯示低熱量甜味劑與長期的體重控制之間存在關係。

事實上,保持體重的關鍵在於避免攝取多於身體所需的熱量。以低熱量甜味劑取代砂糖的確可以減少熱量,但如果因為省下了熱量而在之後吃得更多,或吃了更多其他產生熱量的營養素,例如碳水化合物、蛋白質和脂肪等,對於減輕體重仍然是徒勞無功的。長期維持健康的體重需要保持積極健康的生活模式,包括均衡飲食和適當運動,而且持之以恆。

下期我們會探討人類對甜味的反應和人們對在兒童食物中使用甜味劑的關注。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 20-05-2015