Frequently Asked Questions Print Friendly
Food Additives/Contaminants

1. How can I know whether a particular food additive can be used in a food product in Hong Kong?

Reference can be taken from the following regulations:

(1) Colouring Matter in Food Regulations (Cap. 132H)
(2) Sweeteners in Food Regulations (Cap. 132U)
(3) Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W)
(4) Preservatives in Food Regulation (Cap. 132BD)

Details of the above food law are available at the website www.elegislation.gov.hk.

If, after checking with the aforesaid Regulations, you are still not sure whether a particular food additive can be used in food, you may send us an enquiry through the electronic mail (e-mail address: enquiries@fehd.gov.hk) with the following information for processing:

(i) name of the food additive;
(ii) INS No. of the food additive;
(iii) nature of the substance e.g. extract or whole plant;
(iv) technological function of the food additive in the food;
(v) nature/type of food in which the food additive is being added;
(vi) amount of the food additive used in the food;
(vii) other useful information or special concern.
We will reply the enquirer within 10 days of receipt of the enquiry. If a substantive reply is not possible within this period, an interim reply will be given.

2. Can Tertiary butylhydroquinone(TBHQ) be used as antioxidants in edible oils and fats ?

According to the Preservatives in Food Regulation (Cap. 132 BD), TBHQ not exceeding a permitted level is allowed to be used as an additive in fats and oils in Hong Kong.

3. Can brominated vegetable oil (BVO) be used in food in Hong Kong?

BVO may be used in flavouring for beverages. JECFA (Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives) has evaluated the safety of BVO and concluded that it should not be used as food additive.

As stipulated in section 54 of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132), it is an offence to sell food that is unfit for human consumption.

Members of the trade should not use BVO in food in Hong Kong.

4. Is sulphur dioxide a permitted additive in peeled almond ( 南北杏 ) ?

According to the Preservatives in Food Regulation (Cap. 132 BD), peeled almond may contain sulphur dioxide as food additive.

5. How is the use of flavouring agent regulated in Hong Kong?

There is currently no specific legislation in Hong Kong governing the use of flavouring agent. The food law in Hong Kong under the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132) covers general protection for food purchasers, offences in connection with sale of unfit food and adulterated food, composition and labelling of food, food hygiene, seizure and destruction of unfit food.

When considering whether any particular flavouring agent is allowed to be added to foods, we will take reference from safety evaluation done by international food safety authorities such as JECFA.

6. Is sorbitol a permitted sweetener in food?

According to the Sweeteners in Food Regulations (Cap. 132U), sweetener means any chemical compound which is sweet to the taste, but does not include any sugars or other carbohydrates or polyhydric alcohols. As sorbitol is one of the polyhydric alcohols, the aforesaid Regulations are not applicable to sorbitol. Nevertheless, sorbitol can be used in food in accordance with good manufacturing practice.

7. What are the permitted sweeteners in Hong Kong?

According to the Schedule to the Sweeteners in Food Regulations (Cap. 132U), permitted sweeteners include the followings:

(1) Acesulfame Potassium
(2) Alitame
(3) Aspartame
(4) Aspartame - acesulfame Salt
(5) Cyclamic Acid (and Sodium, Potassium, Calcium salts)
(6) Saccharin (and Sodium, Potassium, Calcium Salts)
(7) Sucralose
(8) Thaumatin
(9) Neotame
(10) Steviol Glycosides

8. What are the maximum permissible levels for the permitted sweeteners in foods?

There are no maximum permissible levels set for those permitted sweeteners as prescribed in the Schedule to the Sweeteners in Food Regulations (Cap. 132U). The quantity of the permitted sweeteners to be used in foods shall be in accordance with the good manufacturing practice.

9. In the supermarket, the soya milk of local brands often expire within a few days, but some foreign brands expire in half a year's time. Both types are found in the refrigeration section. Does that mean that the longer lasting ones have a higher dose of preservatives and that we should avoid them?

The difference in shelf-life among different brands of soya milk may be due to the use of different types of heat treatment process in their production. For example, in products that have been Ultra Heat Treated, virtually all microbial population has been eliminated, the shelf-life can extend to months, yet there may not be significant difference in terms of the nutritive and other quality attributes as compared to products treated with other heat processes.

The letters “U.H.T.”, which stand for Ultra Heat Treated, may be found on the product package. The use of preservative in U.H.T. products is generally considered not necessary. Also, U.H.T. products normally do not need refrigeration until opened.

10. What is the maximum penalty for the breach of regulations related to the labelling of food additives?

The maximum penalty is a fine of $50,000 and 6 months' imprisonment.

11. Some media in Hong Kong reported that "One Drop of Incense" used as a flavouring agent of soup products made its way into the restaurants of Hong Kong. What is "One Drop of Incense"?

Upon our enquiry, the concerned Mainland authority replied that "One Drop of Incense" was a hotpot flavouring agent. Generally speaking, hotpot flavouring agents may contain vegetable oils and flavouring substances. It was also reported in the media that the major component of "One Drop of Incense" was ethyl maltol, which could be used as a flavouring and a flavour enhancer. The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) has evaluated the safety of ethyl maltol and opined that the normal use of ethyl maltol as flavouring in food would not raise safety concern . The Centre for Food Safety also explained, in the February and December 2011 editions of the newsletter "Food Safety Focus", the incident to the public and the trade. For details, please refer to the links below:

Hot Pot Flavouring Agent “One Drop of Incense” (Food Safety Focus 55th Issue, February 2011)

From “One Drop of Incense” to Flavourings (Food Safety Focus 65th Issue, December 2011)

12. What has the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) done to ensure the correct use of food additives ?

Educational materials such as leaflets and booklets are distributed by the CFS through publicity channels including CFS website, periodicals, seminars and exhibitions to brief the public and the trade on various food additives and the relevant legislation. The CFS has also strengthened its publicity efforts by making use of its monthly e-publication "Food Safety Focus", which serves as a platform to introduce a series of articles covering holistically the safety concern of food additives like preservatives, colouring matters, sweeteners, etc. Such information is also available for the public and the trade on the CFS website. Meanwhile, testing on food additives in different types of foods is conducted by the CFS under the food surveillance programme.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 28-02-2017

1. 如何分辨某種食物添加劑在香港是否可以使用於食物內?

你可以參考下列規例的條文:

  1. 《食物內染色料規例》(第132H 章)
  2. 《食物內甜味劑規例》(第132U 章)
  3. 《食物及藥物( 成分組合及標籤) 規例》(第132W 章)
  4. 《食物內防腐劑規例》(第132BD 章)

如要參閱上述食物法例的詳情,請瀏覽網頁www.elegislation.gov.hk

假如你查閱上述規例後,仍然未能肯定某種食物添加劑是否可使用於食物內,你可以發電子郵件向本署查詢( 電郵地址:enquiries@fehd.gov.hk) 。請你在郵件中提供下列資料:

  1. 該食物添加劑的名稱;
  2. 該食物添加劑在國際編碼系統中的編號;
  3. 該物質的性質,例加是屬於提取物抑或是整棵植物;
  4. 該食物添加劑對食物所起的技術用途;
  5. 加入該食物添加劑的食物的性質/類別;
  6. 該食物添加劑使用於食物內的分量;
  7. 其他有用資料或須特別關注的地方。

我們在接獲有關查詢後,會於10 天內作答。如在這其間未能給予具體的答覆,亦會先行發出臨時回覆。

2. 特丁基對苯二酚可否在供食用的油及脂肪內用作抗氧化劑?

根據《食物內防腐劑規例》( 第132 BD 章),特丁基對苯二酚於本港可在供食用的油及脂肪內用作食物添加劑,但不得超過准許含量。

3. 溴化植物油在香港可否使用於食物內?

溴化植物油可能會被加入飲料中所使用的調味劑。聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織食物添加劑聯合專家委員會已對溴化植物油的食用安全作出評估問題,認為它不應用作食物添加劑。

根據《公眾衞生及市政條例》(第132章)第54條的規定,凡出售不宜供人食用的食物,即屬違法。

業界不應在本港食物中使用溴化植物油。

4. 二氧化硫可否在南北杏內用作食物添加劑?

根據《食物內防腐劑規例》( 第132BD 章) ,南北杏可含有二氧化硫作食物添加劑。

5. 香港如何規管調味劑的使用?

目前,香港並無特定法例規管調味劑的使用。《公眾衞生及市政條例》( 第132 章) 載有關於香港的食物法例,其條文涵蓋對食物購買人的一般保障、與出售不宜食用的食物和攙雜食物有關的罪行、食物的成分組合及標籤、食物衞生,以及檢取和銷毀不宜食用的食物。

本署在考慮是否准許某類調味劑添加於食物內時,會參考聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織食物添加劑聯合專家委員會等國際食物安全機構所進行的安全評估的結果。

6. 山梨醇是否獲准許使用於食物內作為甜味劑?

根據《食物內甜味劑規例》( 第132U 章) ," 甜味劑" 是指任何帶甜味的化合物,但不包括糖或其他碳水化合物或多羥醇。由於山梨醇是多羥醇的一種,因此該規例不適用於山梨醇。然而,山梨醇可按照優良製造規範的準則在食物內使用。

7. 香港有哪些經准許的甜味劑?

根據《食物內甜味劑規例》( 第132U 章) 的附表,下列為經准許的甜味劑:

  1. 醋磺內酯鉀
  2. 縮二氮酸基酰胺
  3. 天冬酰胺
  4. 天冬酰胺- 醋磺內酯鹽
  5. 環己基氨基磺酸(和鈉、鉀、鈣鹽)
  6. 糖精(和鈉、鉀、鈣鹽)
  7. 三氯半乳蔗糖
  8. 索馬甜
  9. 紐甜
  10. 甜菊醇糖苷

8. 經准許甜味劑在食物內的最高准許含量是多少?

《食物內甜味劑規例》( 第132U 章) 的附表並無訂明經准許甜味劑的最高准許含量。經准許甜味劑使用於食物的分量,應符合優良製造規範的準則。

9. 在超級市場內,本港牌子的豆奶往往數天便過期,但一些外國牌子則半年才過期。兩類產品均存放在冷藏櫃內。這是否表示保質期較長的豆奶含較多防腐劑,我們應避免飲用?

不同牌子的豆奶在生產過程中採用的加熱程序可能有所不同,因而保質期有差異。例如:經超高溫處理的產品因當中的微生物幾乎已遭完全消滅,其保質期可長達數月,但在營養及其他品質特性方面與採用其他加熱程序的產品未必有明顯分別。

經超高溫處理的產品可能在包裝上印有"U.H.T."(全名為Ultra Heat Treated)。一般而言,經超高溫處理的產品無須加入防腐劑,而且在開封前亦無須冷藏。

10. 違反有關食物添加劑標籤的規例,最高刑罰是甚麼?

最高刑罰是罰款50,000元及監禁六個月。

11. 有報道指,本港一些食肆自行在內地購入俗稱「一滴香」的增味劑用以製作濃湯及醬汁供市民食用。究竟什麼是「一滴香」?

中心曾向內地有關部門查詢「一滴香」的情況,獲回覆指「一滴香」屬火鍋飄香劑的一種。一般而言,火鍋飄香劑可能含有植物油及食用香料,亦有報導指「一滴香」的主要成分為乙基麥芽酚(Ethyl maltol)。乙基麥芽酚(Ethyl maltol)可用作調味劑和增味劑。聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織聯合食物添加劑專家委員會(JECFA)曾評估乙基麥芽酚的安全性,認為一般情況下在食物中使用乙基麥芽酚作為調味劑,應不會引起安全上的疑慮。中心亦已於二零一一年二月及十二月份之《食物安全焦點》報道有關情況。詳情可參閱以下連結:

火鍋飄香劑"一滴香" (食物安全焦點二零一一年二月第五十五期)

從"一滴香"看調味劑(食物安全焦點二零一一年十二月第六十五期)

12. 食物安全中心(中心) 如何確保業界能正確使用食物添加劑?

中心除製備單張、小冊子等教材,亦透過中心網頁、定期刊物、講座、展覽會等渠道,向市民及業界介紹食物添加劑及其相關法例,提醒業界應確保在本港出售的所有食物適宜供人食用,並留意本港對食物添加劑的使用和標籤的規管規定。中心更加強宣傳力度,以網上的《食物安全焦點》月刊為平台,推出一系列文章,全方位介紹防腐劑、染色料、甜味劑等不同食物添加劑的安全問題以供業界及公眾瀏覽。此外,中心亦一向透過其食物監察計劃化驗不同種類食物中的食物添加劑。