Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (65th Issue, December 2011) – Incident in Focus

From “One Drop of Incense” to Flavourings

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

The issue of hotpot flavouring products was once again brought in the limelight in November 2011 when a local media report revealed that two out of nine food samples collected from local food premises were tested with low levels of ethyl maltol, a flavouring claimed by the media as an ingredient of “One Drop of Incense” (ODI) (一滴香). ODI represents one brand of hotpot flavouring products although other similar products may be branded with different names. In this article, we will look into what food flavour is, where food flavour comes from, and how safe in general the use of flavourings is.

Flavourings and Flavour Enhancers - What is Food Flavour?

Flavour is the sum of those characteristics of any material taken in the mouth, perceived principally by the senses of taste and smell. The perception of flavour is a property of flavourings.

Whilst flavourings are substances added to food to impart or modify taste and/or odour, they do not include substances like sugar, vinegar, and table salt as they have an exclusively sweet, sour, or salty taste. Flavourings do not include flavour enhancers such as monosodium glutamate (MSG) neither because the function of flavour enhancer is to enhance the existing taste and/or odour of a food.

There are thousands of flavourings in existence, many of which exist in the natural foods we eat everyday. For instance, vanillin is a flavouring naturally occurring in vanilla pods and has the characteristic flavour of vanilla. Vanillin can either be extracted directly from vanilla pods, or chemically synthesised. On the other hand, a related flavouring, ethyl vanillin, is formed predominantly by chemical synthesis. With its chemical structure similar to vanillin, ethyl vanillin also possesses the characteristic vanilla flavour but three to four times stronger than that given by vanillin.

Flavourings have a long history of safe use in a wide variety of foods such as soft drinks, confectionary, soups, snack foods, bakery products, and milk beverages.

Fig.1 Seasoning packs for instant noodles often contain flavourings to give the meat or seafood flavour.
Fig.1 Seasoning packs for instant noodles often contain flavourings to give the meat or seafood flavour.

Fig.2 Appropriate use of flavouring essence can give ice-cream and banana rolls the desirable vanilla and banana flavour.
Fig.2 Appropriate use of flavouring essence can give ice-cream and banana rolls the desirable vanilla and banana flavour.

Safety of Flavourings

Small amounts of flavourings are usually adequate to give the desired flavouring effect, as is implied by the name of ODI - one drop can give good taste for the whole pot of food. Due to their sensory properties, excessive use of flavourings can render the end product undesirable to consumers. Their use in food is generally self-limiting and consumer dietary exposure to the flavourings can hardly be high.

So far, the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) has evaluated the safety of over 1700 flavourings, including ethyl maltol. JECFA has allocated an Acceptable Daily Intake (ADI) of 0-2 mg/kg bw for ethyl maltol, and opined that its normal use in food as a flavouring would not raise safety concern. Whilst very few flavourings have been recommended by JECFA as not to be used, the vast majority have been considered as no safety concern at current levels of intake when used as flavourings. A database of evaluations of flavourings, which is updated from time to time, is available from JECFA’s website.

Food manufacturers, additionally, can make reference to relevant industry tool books and consult relevant expertise for understanding the flavouring properties of individual flavourings and their suggested uses. For instance, meat flavour in meat products and soups may be provided by meat extract, vegetable oil, and/or flavourings like 2,5-dimethylpyrazine and 2-methylpyrazine.

Key Points to Note

  1. Flavourings can impart or modify taste and/or odour of food.
  2. Over 1 700 flavourings have been evaluated by international organisations and most of them can be used safely in food.
  3. Flavourings are generally used in small amount and consumer dietary exposures are usually not high.

 

Regulatory Control on Flavourings in Hong Kong

In Hong Kong, the food legislations require that all foods for sale must be fit for human consumption. Furthermore, the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations (Cap. 132W) require that prepackaged food for sale in Hong Kong shall include in the list of ingredients the class title if flavourings constitute the ingredients of a food.

In view of the public concern on hotpot flavouring products, since early 2011, the CFS has taken more than 70 samples of hotpot soup bases and condensed soup from the local market for testing of ethyl maltol and/or metallic contamination, colouring matters, preservatives, antioxidants, etc. Only one sample was found unsatisfactory due to the presence of a non-permitted colouring matter, Orange II.

Advice to the Trade

  • Use only the suitable flavourings that are safe for use in food.
  • Use flavourings under conditions of good manufacturing practice, which include limiting the quantity used in food to the lowest level necessary to accomplish the desired flavouring effect.
  • Purchase food ingredients from reliable food importers or distributors and comply with local regulatory requirements on the use and labelling of flavourings.

Advice to Consumers

  • Patronise reliable food premises and purchase prepackaged foods from reliable retailers.
  • Maintain a balanced diet and enjoy a variety of foods.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 23-12-2011

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一一年十二月第六十五期- 焦點個案

從 “ 一 滴 香 ” 看 調 味 劑

食物安全中心 風險評估組
科學主任郭麗儀女士報告

火鍋飄香劑的問題近日再度成為焦點。事緣,某本港傳媒在十一月報道,從本港食肆抽取了九個食物樣本進行化驗,發現有兩個樣本含小量乙基麥芽酚,該報指有關調味劑是“一滴香”產品的配料。“一滴香”是火鍋飄香劑的一個牌子,但市面上可能會有不同牌子的其他同類產品。究竟食物味道是什麼?從何而來?使用調味劑的一般安全性又如何?本文將會與大家逐一探討。

調味與增味 - 食物味道是什麼?

味道泛指任何物質在我們嘴裏散發出的各種特點,這些特點主要透過味覺和嗅覺感受。調味劑的特性就是讓人感受味道。

調味劑是為了增添或改良食物味道及/或氣味而添加的物質。不過,調味劑既不包括糖、醋和食鹽等物質,因為這些物質只有甜味、酸味或鹹味,也不包括穀氨酸一鈉(俗稱味精)等增味劑,因為增味劑的作用是提高食物現有的味道及/或氣味。

目前,世界上有數千種調味劑,當中許多存在於我們日常食用的天然食物。舉例來說,香蘭素是天然存在於雲呢拿豆筴中的調味劑,帶有雲呢拿的獨有味道。香蘭素可從雲呢拿豆筴中直接提取,又或經化學合成。另一方面,乙基香蘭素是一種相關的調味劑,主要是經化學合成的。由於乙基香蘭素的化學結構與香蘭素類似,故乙基香蘭素同樣帶有雲呢拿的獨有味道,但會較香蘭素濃烈三四倍。

調味劑有悠久的歷史,已安全使用於多種食品內,例如汽水、糖果、湯類、零食、烘焙食品和奶類飲品。

圖一 即食麫的調味包通常加入了調味劑,令湯帶肉味或海鮮味。

圖一 即食麫的調味包通常加入了調味劑,令湯帶肉味或海鮮味。

圖二 適當使用調味香精可令雪糕帶芳香的雲呢拿味道,而香蕉糕則有甜甜的香蕉味道。

圖二 適當使用調味香精可令雪糕帶芳香的雲呢拿味道,而香蕉糕則有甜甜的香蕉味道。

調味劑的安全性

小量調味劑通常足以達到預期的調味效果,這一點從“一滴香”的名字就能反映出來,即一滴就足以令整鍋火鍋變得美味芳香。由於調味劑能刺激味覺及/或嗅覺,過量使用會令最終產品不為消費者接受,故調味劑在食物中的使用量有限,消費者從膳食攝入的調味劑分量一般不會高。

目前為止聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織聯合食物添加劑專家委員會(專家委員會)已對1700多種調味劑(包括乙基麥芽酚)的安全性作出評估。專家委員會已把乙基麥芽酚的每日可攝入量定為每公斤體重零至二毫克,又認為乙基麥芽酚如在食物中正常用作調味劑不會引起安全問題。雖然專家委員會不建議使用幾種調味劑,但認為絕大部分調味劑,以現時攝入的分量計食用者不會有安全問題。專家委員會網頁內設立有關調味劑的評估資料庫,不時會作更新。

此外,食物製造商亦可參考有關的業界工具書,並徵詢專業意見,以了解個別調味劑的調味特性和建議用法,舉例來說,肉類產品和肉湯中的肉味可能來自肉類提取物、植物油及/或2,5-二甲基吡嗪和2-甲基吡嗪等調味劑。

注意要點

  1. 調味劑可增添或改善食物的味道及/或氣味。
  2. 目前,超過1700種調味劑已接受國際組織評估,當中大部分可供安全用於食物中。
  3. 調味劑在食物中的使用量一般屬小量,消費者從膳食攝入調味劑的分量不高。

本港對調味劑的規管

本港有關食物法例訂明,所有出售的食物必須適宜供人食用。此外,《食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)規例》(第132W章)規定,如本港出售的預先包裝食物使用調味劑作為配料,就必須在配料表上列明其類別名稱。

鑑於市民關注火鍋調味產品,食物安全中心由今年年初起,已在本港市面上抽取70多個火鍋湯底和濃湯的樣本,進行乙基麥芽酚及/或金屬雜質、染色料、防腐劑及抗氧化劑等測試,當中只有一個不合格樣本,原因是含有橙黃II這種非准許染色料。

給業界的建議

  • 只使用可安全用於食物中的適當調味劑。
  • 根據優良製造規範內的規定使用調味劑,這些規定包括使用的分量只限於在食物中發揮預期調味用途所需的最低分量。
  • 向可靠的食物進口商或分銷商採購食物配料,並遵從本港對調味劑使用和標籤方面的規管要求。

給消費者的建議

  • 光顧可靠的食肆,向可靠的零售商選購預先包裝食物。
  • 保持均衡飲食,進食不同種類的食物。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 23-12-2011