Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

The Risks of Eating Raw Honey

The Risks of Eating Raw Honey

The China Food and Drug Administration (CFDA) reported that a number of people in certain regions in the Mainland died after eating unprocessed raw honey recently. While investigations on the cause of death are underway, the CFDA advised consumers not to eat raw honey for the sake of prudence.

Some unprocessed or raw honey products including raw honey, comb honey, wild honey, etc. are gaining popularity in recent years. Some consumers associate raw honey (i.e. unfiltered, unheated/unpasteurized honey) or wild honey (i.e. from bees that live in the wild) with specific health benefits. However, it is important to note that these products can carry some risks.

Honey may contain natural toxins

As honey bees can forage up to several kilometres from the hives, the honey they produced often originates from wide varieties of plants, sometimes including poisonous plants. If the density of flowering poisonous plants or in certain cases, honeydew from insects that feed on poisonous plants is high during a particular period, the honey may accumulate significant amount of natural toxins such as grayanotoxin that causes “Mad honey poisoning”.

The symptoms of poisoning due to honey consumption depend on the types and levels of the toxins. Common symptoms include nausea and vomiting. In severe cases, low blood pressure , shock, or even death may occur. For commercial honey, the pooling of massive quantities of honey during proper processing generally dilutes any toxic substance. On the contrary, raw or wild honey from small-scale beekeepers or honey hunters may not undergo any process to dilute the level of various toxins.

Raw honey may contain allergens

During processing, honey is filtered to the extent that all or most of the fine particles and pollen grains normally found in suspension will be removed. Unlike processed honey, raw honey may contain small amounts of pollen grains. According to literature, there were cases of allergic reactions after ingestion of raw honey that contained pollen. Symptoms could range from itching in the oral mucosa to anaphylactic shock. People who are allergic to pollen or with severe seasonal allergies (hay fever) should be aware of the potential risk of eating raw honey.

Infants less than one year old should not be fed any types of honey

Furthermore, some people believe raw honey is free from bacteria due to its anti-microbial properties. In fact, honey including raw honey can contain the spore forming bacterium, Clostridium botulinum, that causes intestinal botulism (also called infant botulism). Intestinal botulism mainly affects children less than one year old. Early symptom is constipation, followed by lethargy, difficulties in feeding, generalised muscle weakness and weak cry. While most cases require hospitalisation, fatal cases are rare.

Advice to public

  1. Buy honey from a reliable source or apiary .
  2. For the sake of prudence, people who are allergic to pollen or with severe seasonal allergies (hay fever) are not advised to eat raw honey.
  3. Grayanotoxin-containing honey may cause a burning sensation in the throat, and honey with bitter or astringent taste should be discarded.
  4. Travellers to areas such as the Black Sea region of Turkey, North America, Korea, Japan, Nepal and New Zealand should pay special attention as there have been reported cases of grayanotoxin poisoning which were attributed to honey from these areas.
  5. Avoid feeding honey to infants less than one year old.

Advice to Trade

  1. The trade should ensure that their honey products, whether imported or locally produced, comply with local regulation concerning food safety and are fit for human consumption
       
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 22-09-2015

风险传达>>主题项目>>食物安全专页 友善列印

进食生鲜蜂蜜的风险

进食生鲜蜂蜜的风险

据国家食品药品监督管理总局消息,近期内地个别地区发生了食用未经加工处理的生鲜蜂蜜导致多人中毒死亡的情况,致死原因仍在调查中,国家食品药品监督管理总局提建议消费者为审慎计,不要食用生鲜蜂蜜。

生蜜、巢蜜和野生蜂蜜等一些未经加工的生鲜蜂蜜产品近年大受欢迎。有消费者认为生蜜(未经过滤、加热/巴士德消毒的蜂蜜)或野生蜂蜜(采自野生蜜蜂的蜂蜜)具某些健康益处。然而,消费者必须留意,食用这些产品有一定的风险。

蜂蜜或含天然毒素

由于蜜蜂会到离巢五公里之遥的地方采蜜,所以蜂蜜的蜜源往往来自多种植物,有时甚至包括有毒植物。假如某段时期的蜜源主要是有毒开花植物,或昆虫吸吮有毒植物后排出的蜜露,这段时期生产的蜂蜜便有可能积集了大量天然毒素,例如造成“狂蜜病中毒”的梫木毒素。

食用蜂蜜中毒的症状视乎毒素的种类和多少而定。患者一般会出现恶心和呕吐,严重者会出现低血压、休克,甚至死亡。蜂蜜生产商往往把大量不同蜜源的蜂蜜混合在一起进行加工处理,从而稀释了毒素。相反,规模较小的蜂农或采蜜人出产的生蜜或野生蜂蜜可能没有经过任何稀释毒素的过程。

生蜜或含致敏物

蜂蜜在加工过滤过程中已经去掉了蜂蜜中全部或大部分的微小颗粒和花粉颗粒;而未经加工的生蜜却可能含小量花粉颗粒。文献记载了一些因进食了含花粉的生蜜而有过敏反应的个案,其中轻微的可能会出现口腔粘膜痕痒,严重者可引起过敏性休克。因此,对花粉过敏或有严重季节性过敏症(如花粉热)的人士对进食生蜜的潜在风险应有所警惕。

一岁以下婴儿不应喂食蜂蜜

此外,有些人相信生蜜具抗菌作用,因此不会含有细菌。但事实上,蜂蜜(包括生蜜)有可能含有可产生孢子的肉毒杆菌。肉毒杆菌可导致肠道性肉毒中毒(又称婴儿肉毒中毒)。肠道性肉毒中毒主要发生在一岁以下的婴儿身上,早期病征是便秘,继而出现困倦、喂哺困难、肌肉普遍无力及哭声微弱。虽然大部分患者均需接受住院治疗,但致命的情况较罕见。

给市民的建议

  1. 向可靠的来源或养蜂场购买蜂蜜。
  2. 为审慎起见,对花粉过敏或有严重季节性过敏症(如花粉热)的人士不应进食生蜜。
  3. 含梫木毒素的蜂蜜可能令喉咙有烧灼感;如蜂蜜带有苦味或涩味,便应弃掉。
  4. 由于海外曾出现与土耳其黑海地区、北美洲、韩国、日本、尼泊尔及新西兰等地区的蜂蜜相关的梫木毒素中毒个案,前往这些地区的外游人士应加倍注意。
  5. 避免给一岁以下婴儿喂食蜂蜜。

给业界的建议

  1. 业界须确保其蜂蜜产品(不论进口或本地生产)符合本港的食物安全规例,并适宜供人食用。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 22-09-2015