Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (89th Issue, December 2013) – Food Safety Platform

Toxins in Our Honey?

Reported by Mr. Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

This article is the second in a series of three articles on natural toxins in food.

Honey is the sugary liquid produced by bees mainly from nectars in flowers and to a lesser extent, honeydew from sap-sucking insects. Because of the sweetness and distinctive aroma, honey has been prized since antiquity.

As honey bees can forage up to five kilometres from the hives, the honey they produced often originates from wide varieties of plants, sometimes including poisonous plants. If the density of flowering poisonous plants or in certain cases, honeydew from insects that feed on poisonous plants is high during a particular period, the honey may accumulate significant amount of natural toxins. In this article, we will give a brief introduction on three of the better-known natural toxins that may be found in honey.

Grayanotoxins

Grayanotoxins is a natural toxin best known to be produced by rhododendrons. The toxins exist in flowers, leaves and twigs of plants of the Ericaceae family. Grayanotoxin poisoning is usually caused by the consumption of grayanotoxins-contaminated honey which is often bitter. Such food poisoning cases are sometimes called “mad honey poisoning”, where symptoms like dizziness, weakness, excessive perspiration, excessive salivation, numbing of limbs, nausea develop quickly after consumption.

Grayanotoxin poisoning is well-known in the Black Sea area of Turkey. It is caused by a high concentration of rhododendron flowers in that area in certain time of the year, and it may be difficult for the small-scale beekeepers there to blend the rhododendron honey with non-toxic ones in order to dilute the level of toxins. Grayanotoxin poisoning has also been reported in other countries, and self-imported honey has been involved in certain cases in recent years.

Pyrrolizidine Alkaloids

Pyrrolizidine alkaloids (PAs) are a large group of natural toxins that are found in large number of plants all around the world. There are over 500 different types of PAs and are reportedly found in over 6 000 plant species in several families of plants. The main concerns of PAs, especially 1,2-unsaturated PAs, are their chronic effect on livers. They can cause veno-occlusive disease on the liver, where in acute cases can lead to death in two weeks.

Although PAs are sometimes found in honey, their health risk to humans is more often associated with herbal medicines or PA-containing weeds in cereal grains. On the other hand, the level of PAs in honey can be higher especially in honey harvested from a single type of flower that is known to contain PAs. PA-containing honey generally cannot be distinguished by taste.

Tutin

Tutin is a natural toxin unique to the tutu plants that are endemic to certain parts of New Zealand. Tutin is found in the honeydew produced by the insect passion vine hoppers that feed on tutu saps. However, tutin is not found in the tutu nectar. When the bees gather enough tutin-containing honeydew to make honey, the honey can become toxic as a result.


When passion vine hoppers (white: nymph, black: adult) eat the sap of the tutu plant, the tutin toxin and the sugars in the undigested sap is excreted as honeydew onto the leaves. Bees, after collecting the honeydew, will produce toxic honey.

Tutin and its derivative are very toxic to human and can cause vomiting, delirium, giddiness, increased excitability, stupor coma and violent convulsions. Death by consuming tutu-contaminated honey has also been reported in the past.

Because tutin poisoning is serious and the limited distribution of the tutu plant, maximum regulatory levels have been set in New Zealand for honey and honey combs. Products that exceed the limits are not allowed to be sold or exported, and that beekeepers and packers are required to comply with these standards.

Honey Consumption

With good understanding of plant in the environ around the hives by beekeepers and blending of honey from different sources by packers to achieve a dilution effect if toxic substances are present, honey can be enjoyed without issues. However, infants under one year old should not consume honey as their digestive systems are not fully developed and will be at risk of contracting botulism. Since honey mainly contains free sugars like fructose and glucose, and sugars provide energy for the body but have no other nutritional value, excessive intake of honey should be avoided.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-12-2013

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

回到主页
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一三年十二月第八十九期-食物安全平台

蜂蜜含毒素吗?

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任游天颂先生报告

我们一连三期介绍食物中的天然毒素,本文为该系列之二。

蜂蜜主要是蜜蜂采集花蜜后制成的甜味液体,也有少部分蜂蜜是采自吸吮植物汁液的昆虫所排出的蜜露。蜂蜜味道甘甜,芳香馥郁,自古被人们视为珍品。

由于蜜蜂会到离巢五公里之遥的地方采蜜,所以蜂蜜的蜜源往往来自多种植物,有时甚至包括有毒植物。假如某段时期的蜜源主要是有毒开花植物,或昆虫吸吮有毒植物后排出的蜜露,这段时期生产的蜂蜜便有可能积集了大量天然毒素。本文将对蜂蜜中较广为人知的三种天然毒素作一简介。

梫木毒素

梫木毒素是一种天然毒素,人们大多知道是由杜鹃花产生,其实杜鹃花科植物的花、叶和枝都含有这种毒素。受梫木毒素污染的蜂蜜多带苦涩味,进食后有可能引致梫木毒素中毒,又称为“狂蜜病中毒”,患者会迅速出现头晕、乏力、大量出汗、唾液过多、四肢麻木和恶心等症状。

梫木毒素中毒在土耳其黑海地区并不罕见,因当地蜜蜂在一年中某段时期多采杜鹃花蜜,而规模较小的蜂农又没有能力把杜鹃花蜜与其他无毒蜂蜜混合以减低毒素的浓度。其他国家也有梫木毒素中毒的个案,近年有部分个案是自行从海外购买的蜂蜜引致。

吡咯联啶生物碱

吡咯联啶生物碱是一大类天然毒素,种类超过500种。据悉有几个科多达 6 000个植物品种含有这类化学物,这些植物数量繁多,遍布世界各地。吡咯联啶生物碱令人关注的是其对肝脏的慢性毒性,尤其是1,2-不饱和吡咯联啶生物碱。这类生物碱可引致肝脏出现静脉阻塞性疾病,急性病例更会在两周内死亡。

虽然蜂蜜中有时会发现含有吡咯联啶生物碱,但这类化学物对健康构成风险往往与中药或谷物中混杂含吡咯联啶生物碱的野草有关。另一方面,蜂蜜里的吡咯联啶生物碱含量有可能较高,尤其是如果蜜源来自含有吡咯联啶生物碱的单一花种。含有吡咯联啶生物碱的蜂蜜从味道上一般难以分辨。

羟基马桑毒素

羟基马桑毒素是新西兰部分地区特有的马桑树产生的一种天然毒素。马桑的花蜜不含羟基马桑毒素,反而是以马桑的树汁为食的西番莲虫分泌的蜜露含这种毒素。蜜蜂采集这种蜜露制成的蜂蜜也因此具有毒性。

西番莲虫 ( 白色:幼虫;黑色:成虫 ) 吸吮马桑的树汁后在树叶上排出蜜露,这些蜜露含有未消化树汁的羟基马桑毒素和糖分。蜜蜂采集这些蜜露制成的蜂蜜亦会具有毒性。
西番莲虫(白色:幼虫;黑色:成虫)吸吮马桑的树汁后在树叶上排出蜜露,这些蜜露含有未消化树汁的羟基马桑毒素和糖分。蜜蜂采集这些蜜露制成的蜂蜜亦会具有毒性。


羟基马桑毒素及其代谢物对人体的毒性十分强,可引致呕吐、精神错乱、晕眩、亢奋、木僵、昏迷及剧烈抽搐。过去曾有因进食受羟基马桑毒素污染的蜂蜜而死亡的报告。

由于羟基马桑毒素中毒后果严重,而马桑树的分布地不广,新西兰当局已就蜂蜜及巢蜜中的羟基马桑毒素含量订立规管限值。超过限值的产品一概不能发售或出口,蜂农及包装商均须遵从有关规定。

进食蜂蜜

只要蜂农对蜂箱附近环境的植物种类有深切了解,包装商在包装蜂蜜时把不同蜜源的蜂蜜混合以稀释毒素,蜂蜜是可以安全享用的。然而,一岁以下的婴儿不应进食蜂蜜,因为他们的消化系统尚未完全发育,进食蜂蜜有肉毒中毒的风险。蜂蜜主要含果糖和葡萄糖等游离糖,而糖分除了为身体提供能量外,并无其他营养价值,故不宜摄取过量蜂蜜。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期: 28-01-2015