Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

A Study on Genetically Modified Ingredients in Corn and Corn-Based Products in Hong Kong

Abstract

 

           The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) and the Consumer Council (CC) conducted a joint study on genetically modified (GM) ingredients in corn and corn-based products, to assess whether these products followed the recommendations set out in the “Guidelines on Voluntary Labelling of GM Food” (the Guidelines). The Guidelines were published in 2006 to lay down the principles underlying the recommended labelling approaches for GM food, and provide a reference for the trade to make truthful and informative labels in a consumer-friendly manner.

2.  
The recommendations of the Guidelines are summarised as follows:-
   
(a) To label food items with 5% or more GM materials in their respective food ingredient(s) as “genetically modified” (positive labelling);
   
(b) Not to use negative labelling with absolute terms (e.g. “GM free”) whereas other forms of negative labelling may be used only when such declaration can be substantiated by documentation; and
   
(c) To provide additional information on the label if the GM food concerned has undergone significant modifications in specific aspect (e.g. animal gene being introduced to food of plant origin).

The Study

3.
A total of 49 samples of corn and corn-based products (5 cob samples, 9 kernel samples, 6 soup samples, 4 cornmeal samples, 6 infant/young children food samples and 9 snack samples) were collected at the retail level, mainly from supermarkets. The presence and the amount of 10 GM corn events 1 were analysed by the Government Laboratory. Among these 49 samples, corn DNA was detected in 37 samples, and among them, 12 samples were detected with GM corn DNA.
 
4.
Five samples were found to contain GM corn contents exceeding the threshold value (5%). Nevertheless, none of them carried any positive “GM” labelling and hence did not follow the recommendation in the Guidelines. These 5 samples were all snack products imported from the United States. The CFS has issued advisory letters to remind vendors/distributors of these products to follow the recommendation as stipulated in the Guidelines, i.e. to add the term “GM” in their product labels.
 
5.
Thirteen samples were found to carry negative labelling, of which corn DNA was detected in 7 samples whilst only 2 of them were detected with GM corn content at levels less than 5%, thus were in line with the recommendation in the Guidelines. The CFS had requested vendors of these 13 products to submit relevant documentation. Ten vendors submitted acceptable documentation to substantiate that the respective corn ingredient was derived from non-GM sources. The remaining 3 distributors responded that they had deleted the negative labelling on their product labels.
 
6.
Among the 13 samples with negative labelling, 5 samples made with multiple ingredients were found to carry negative labelling for the products as a whole without specifying which ingredient(s) was/were derived from non-GM source. Some of the ingredients did not have GM counterparts on the market. The negative labelling on these samples did not follow the recommendations in the Guideline and may cause confusion to consumers. The CFS has issued advisory letters to remind vendors/distributors of these 5 products to follow the recommendations as stipulated in the Guidelines should they wish to label the food ingredients derived from non-GM source (which contains less than 5% of GM content). Distributors of 2 of these products had deleted the negative labelling on their product labels.
 
7.
The GM events tested in the study have all passed safety assessment conducted by overseas authorities, and thus, are unlikely to pose risk to the consumers. As stipulated in the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132), all food available for sale in Hong Kong, including GM food, must be fit for human consumption.

Advice to the Public

  • Know more about GM food by referring to the CFS’s website and the Guidelines.

Advice to the Trade

  • The CFS encourages the trade to provide truthful claim for consumers regarding the GM status of their food products, by making reference to the Guidelines.
  • The trade should know about the presence of GM ingredients in their food products, in particular those derived from soyabean and corn because their GM counterparts are more common. They should also verify the truthfulness of the GM labelling of their food products.
  • Should the trade choose to use GM ingredients to manufacture food products or sell GM food products, the trade should ensure that the respective GM ingredients have passed pre-market safety assessment of the source countries.
  • For food ingredients with 5% or more GM materials, they should be labelled as “genetically modified”.
  • As for negative labelling, according to the Guidelines, the use of absolute terms is not recommended. Should the trade wish to apply negative labelling other than those with absolute terms, the trade should have documentation to substantiate such declaration, e.g. laboratory report showing that the food ingredient contains GM content less than 5%. In addition, negative labelling for products as a whole is not recommended unless all individual ingredients are derived from non-GM sources and are accompanied with substantiation on the declaration.
  • For the label of imported food products with languages other than Chinese or English, it is recommended to include Chinese or English description on the label should the trade choose to apply positive or negative GM labelling.

More Information

8.
The related article is published in the CHOICE MAGAZINE (Issue 438 released on 15 April 2013) (Chinese only).

April 2013
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

1 A GM event refers to a GM crop carrying a specific recombinant DNA of interest. For example, Bt11 and MON810 represent two GM corn events that have been specifically inserted with different recombinant DNA to exert insect resistance.

 

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 15-04-2013

工作项目 >> 食物安全之风险评估 友善列印

本地粟米和以粟米为原料食物的基因改造成分研究

摘要

食物安全中心(中心)联同消费者委员会(消委会) 于2012年4至10月期间合作进行一项基因改造食物的研究,测试市面上一些粟米和以粟米为主要配料的预先包装食物的基因改造成分,以探讨这些食物的基因改造食物标签是否符合本地《基因改造食物自愿标签指引》 (下称《指引》) 的建议。该《指引》在2006年出版,载述了为基因改造食物加上标签的基本原则,以便业界为消费者提供真确有用的资料。

2.  
《指引》建议的做法概述如下:
   
(a) 如食品的个别配料含有百分之五或以上的基因改造物质,建议在标签注明为「基因改造」(正面标签);
   
(b) 不建议使用含绝对性字眼的反面标签(例如「不含基因改造成分」);如使用其他形式的反面标签,须具备文件证明有关声明属实;以及
   
(c) 基因改造食物如在某方面与原来品种有显著分别(例如在源自植物的食物内加入动物基因),建议在标签提供附加资料。

研究

3.
是次研究在市面上,主要是超级市场,共购买了49款粟米和以粟米为主要配料的预先包装食物样本,其中包括粟米捧(5款)、粟米粒(9款)、粟米汤(6款)、粟米粉/粟米渣(4款)、婴幼儿食品(6款)及零食(19款),这些样本送住政府化验所检测是否含有10个基因改造粟米品系1和其含量。在49款食物样本中,有37款样本检出粟米DNA,其中有12款样本检出含有基因改造粟米成分(即基因改造粟米的DNA)。
 
4.
有5款样本含有多于阈限值(5%)的基因改造粟米成分。但这5款样本都没有在标签上注明「基因改造」,并不符合《指引》中的建议。这5款样本都是来自美国的零食产品。中心已向该5款产品的零售商/分销商发出劝喻信,提醒他们依照《指引》的建议加上「基因改造」的标签。
 
5.
有13款样本使用了反面标签,有7款检出粟米DNA,当中只有2款检出含量少于5%的基因改造粟米成分,都符合《指引》中的建议。中心亦已要求这13款产品的零售商提供支持反面标签的资料,其中10款能提供文件证明产品没有使用基因改造粟米,其余3款产品的分销商已删除反面标签。
 
6.
在13款使用了反面标签的样本中,共有5款含有多于一种配料的样本在包装上作出反面标签,它们都没有明确标示是哪一种配料来自非基因改造来源,当中有些配料并没有对应的基因改造品种存在于市场上,因此,并不符合《指引》的建议,容易对消费者造成混淆。中心已向该5款产品的零售商/分销商发出劝喻信,提醒他们如选择使用反面标签来表明食物配料是来自非基因改造来源(含有少于5%的基因改造成分),则应依照《指引》的建议作有关标示。其中2款产品的分销商已删除反面标签。
 
7.
是次研究中检出的基因改造粟米品系,已全部通过其他国家机构的相关安全评估,因此应不会对市民构成风险。根据香港法例第132章《公众卫生及市政条例》的规定,所有在香港出售的食物,包括基因改造食物,都必须适宜供人食用。

给消费者的建议

  • 可参考《指引》和中心的网页,以增加对基因改造食物的了解。

给业界的建议

  • 中心鼓励本地食物业界根据《指引》,积极为消费者提供真确声称以反映食物的基因改造状况。
  • 食物业界应主动了解产品或食物原料是否含有基因改造物质和其「基因改造」标签是否正确,尤其是以基因改造品种种植量较多的农作物生产的产品或食物原料,例如大豆和粟米。
  • 如业界选择使用基因改造食物原料生产食品或售卖基因改造产品,应确保该食物原料或产品已通过来源国家的销售前安全评估。
  • 如食品的配料含有5%或以上的基因改造成分,建议根据《指引》在标签注明为「基因改造」。
  • 至于反面标签,根据《指引》,不建议使用含绝对性字眼的反面标签;如使用其他形式的反面标签,业界须具备文件证明有关声明属实,例如证明食物含有少于5%的基因改造物质含量的化验报告。此外,除非该食物的所有配料均来自非基因改造来源及具备文件以证明有关声明属实,否则不建议以任何反面标签来表示或意味该食物整体而言来自非基因改造来源。
  • 对于在包装上使用中文或英文以外的语言的进口食物,如要作基因改造标签,无论是「正面标签」或「反面标签」,建议在食物包装或配料的标签上加上中文或英文描述。

其他资料

8.
2013年4月15日出版的选择月刊(第438期)载有相关文章。

食物环境卫生署
食物安全中心
风险评估组
2013年4月

1基因改造品系指基因改造农作物含有关的特定重新组合DNA。例如Bt11及MON810代表两种基因改造粟米品系,当中已加入不同的特定重新组合DNA,以增加抵抗害虫的能力。

 

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 15-04-2013