Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (91st Issue, February 2014) – Incident in Focus

4-Methylimidazole (4-MEI) in Cola Drinks

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

The issue of 4-methylimidazole (4-MEI), a chemical contaminant, present in cola drinks was once again brought in the limelight in January 2014 when a United States consumer magazine published survey results pointing out that 4-MEI was still widely present in cola drinks available in the US market.

4-MEI and its Occurrence in Foods

Caramel colours are divided into four classes, namely Caramel I, II, III and IV. 4-MEI is a contaminant formed during the manufacturing of Caramel III and IV which involves the interaction of ammonium compounds with carbohydrates under varying conditions of temperature and pressure.

Caramel colours can be used in different foods such as cola drinks, beers, soy sauces, etc. to give the distinctive brown colour. On labels of prepackaged food, caramel colours may be identified with the International Numbering System number “150”, whereas the four subclasses may be more specifically identified as “150a”, “150b”, “150c” and “ 150d”, respectively.

The public may be exposed to low levels of 4-MEI through the consumption of foods and beverages containing Caramel III and IV. In addition, 4-MEI can also be formed in some foods as a by-product during roasting.

Caramel colours are commonly used in cola drinks to give the distinctive brown colour
Caramel colours are commonly used in cola drinks to give the distinctive brown colour

Public Health Significance

The safety of 4-MEI in food has raised concern because of its cancer-causing potential. The International Agency for Research on Cancer has evaluated the carcinogenicity of 4-MEI and considered that there was sufficient evidence in experimental animals for the carcinogenicity of 4-MEI and concluded that 4-MEI is “ possibly carcinogenic to humans” (i.e. Group 2B).

In the evaluation on caramel colours conducted by the Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) and more recently again by the European Food Safety Authority, it was considered that the exposure level to 4-MEI that could result from the consumption of foods containing Caramel III and IV did not give rise to concern.

When the issue of 4-MEI present in cola drinks was brought to public attention in March 2012, the highest level of 4-MEI found in cola drinks was 153 micrograms per can of 12 fl. oz. (about 360 mL). Based on our risk assessment, a 60-kg individual would have to consume over 300 cans of that cola drink daily to reach the doses causing cancer in rodents. Referring to the highest level of 4-MEI found in the recent survey (352.5 micrograms of 4-MEI per bottle of 12 fl. oz.), an individual would still have to consume over 130 bottles of the soft drink daily to reach the doses causing cancer in rodents. The US Food and Drug Administration considers that there is no immediate or short-term danger presented by 4-MEI in foods from the use of caramel colours, and does not recommend consumers change their diets because of concerns about 4-MEI.

Regulatory Control

At present, there is no internationally recognised health-based guidance value for 4-MEI nor its maximum permitted levels in foods. Nevertheless, JECFA has specified the maximum levels of 4-MEI in Caramel III and IV in the chemical specifications of caramel colours to indicate good manufacturing practice. In the US, caramel colours may be safely used for colouring foods generally. In Hong Kong, caramel is a permitted colouring matter.

Whilst international authorities have opined that 4-MEI in foods from the use of caramel colours does not give rise to concern, the US State of California has adopted a different approach, and requires businesses to provide a warning if they manufacture or sell products in California that cause exposures to 4-MEI of more than 29 micrograms/day. Such warning does not necessarily mean a product is in violation of any food safety standards. Rather, it serves to enable Californians to make informed decisions.

Key Points to Note

  • 4-MEI is a contaminant formed during the manufacturing of Caramel III and IV (150c, 150d).
  • Public members may be exposed to low levels of 4-MEI through the consumption of foods prepared with Caramel III and IV.
  • Based on the available information, exposure to 4-MEI resulting from the consumption of foods containing Caramel III and IV does not give rise to concern.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Manufacturers of caramel colours should maintain the levels of 4-MEI as low as technically possible through appropriate process control.
  2. Food manufacturers should use food colours with the lowest possible level required for the intended colouring function.
  3. Ensure that all food products for sale comply with local regulations, including food additive and labelling requirements.

Advice to the Public

  1. Maintain a balanced diet so as to avoid excessive exposure to food additives and contaminants from a small range of food items.
  2. For concerned individuals, they can read food labels on prepackaged food and look for caramel colours or more specifically Caramel III and IV, or their identification numbers (150, 150c, 150d) to make informed choices.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-02-2014

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一四年二月第九十一期)-焦点个案

可乐类饮料中的4-甲基咪唑

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

二零一四年一月,美国一份消费者杂志刊登调查结果,指出美国市面上售卖的可乐类饮料依然普遍含有4-甲基咪唑。报道令可乐类饮料含化学污染物4-甲基咪唑的问题再次备受关注。

食物中的4-甲基咪唑

焦糖色素(又称酱色)分酱色I、酱色II、酱色III及酱色IV四类,其中酱色III和酱色IV由铵类化合物与碳水化合物在不同温度和压力下合成,过程中可能会产生污染物4-甲基咪唑。

焦糖色素可使食品呈独特的棕褐色,广泛应用于可乐类饮料、啤酒和豉油等食品中。在预先包装食物的标签上,焦糖色素的国际编码系统编号为150,四类焦糖色素的编号分别为150a、150b、150c及150d。

市民在进食含酱色III和酱色IV的食物和饮料时可能会摄入少量4-甲基咪唑。另外,一些食物在烤烘时也会衍生4-甲基咪唑。

可乐类饮料普遍使用焦糖色素以呈现独特的棕褐色
可乐类饮料普遍使用焦糖色素以呈现独特的棕褐色

对公众健康的影响

由于4-甲基咪唑可能致癌,令人关注进食含这种物质的食物是否安全。国际癌症研究机构基于动物实验结果,评估4-甲基咪唑的致癌性,把4-甲基咪唑列为“或可能令人类致癌”(第2B组)的物质。

联合国粮农组织/世卫联合食物添加剂专家委员会(专家委员会),以至近期的欧洲食品安全局均曾对焦糖色素的安全性作出评估,两者皆认为以人们进食含酱色III和酱色IV的食物而摄入的4-甲基咪唑量,不会造成健康问题。

二零一二年三月,当可乐类饮料含4-甲基咪唑一事曝光时,在可乐类饮料中检测出的4-甲基咪唑最高水平是每12安士(约360毫升)含153微克4-甲基咪唑。根据我们所作的风险评估,要达到令囓齿类动物致癌的剂量,一名体重60公斤的消费者每天须饮用300罐以上含有该浓度的可乐。这次调查检出每樽汽水(12安士)最高含352.5微克4-甲基咪唑,消费者每天仍须饮用130樽以上含有该浓度的汽水,才会达到令囓齿类动物致癌的剂量。美国食物及药物管理局认为,因使用焦糖色素而含有4-甲基咪唑的食物并无即时或短期危险,并不建议消费者因为担心4-甲基咪唑而改变饮食习惯。

法定规管

虽然目前并无国际公认的4-甲基咪唑健康参考值,亦无食物中的最高准许含量,但专家委员会在其化学品质量规格中对酱色III和酱色IV里的4-甲基咪唑订定了限量标准,作为优良制造规范的指标。在美国,焦糖色素可作为染色料在食物中安全地使用。在本港,焦糖色素是准许染色料。

虽然国际规管机构普遍认为使用焦糖色素的食物含有4-甲基咪唑并无安全问题,美国加州取态不同,规定企业如所生产或销售的产品会令人每天摄入超过29微克的4-甲基咪唑,便须加上警告字句。标有警告字句并不代表有关产品违反了任何食物安全标准,只是方便加州市民作出知情的选择。

注意要点

  • 4-甲基咪唑是酱色III及酱色IV(编号150c和150d)制作过程中产生的污染物。
  • 市民在进食以酱色III和酱色IV生产的食物和饮料时可能会摄入少量4-甲基咪唑。
  • 根据现有资料,因进食含酱色III及酱色IV的食物而摄入的4-甲基咪唑量没有安全问题。

给业界的建议

  1. 焦糖色素生产商应在技术许可的情况下,通过良好的过程控制,把4-甲基咪唑的含量减到最少。
  2. 食物生产商在使用食物色素时,分量应只限于在食物中发挥预期增色用途所需的最低分量。
  3. 确保所有出售的食品均符合本港规例,包括食物添加剂及标签规定等。

给市民的建议

  1. 保持均衡饮食,以免因偏食几类食品而过量摄入食物添加剂和污染物。
  2. 关注这问题的消费者可以查看预先包装食物上的标签是否标示含有焦糖色素或特别列明酱色III和酱色IV或其编号(150、150c和150d),便可知所选择。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期: 19-02-2014