Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (47th Issue, June 2010) – Incident in Focus

More about Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning Toxins in Food

Reported by Mr Dicky CHAN, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

A recent report on local suspected Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning (PSP) outbreak in May reminded us again the association between consumption of the beloved Hong Kong style steamed fan shell and food poisoning. We take this opportunity to examine again this subject matter.

PSP Toxin Produced by Algae

PSP refers to an illness affecting human due to ingestion of shellfish containing PSP toxins. The affected persons usually present with neurological symptoms and are frequently accompanied by gastro-intestinal symptoms within minutes to several hours after consuming shellfish containing the toxin. The toxin is produced by small algae known as “dinoflagellates”. This group of algae usually measures between 5 and 2 000 microns in length/diameter. PSP toxins producing algae is usually found in the tropical and moderate climate zones. Some identified toxins producing species are Alexandrium catenella, Pyrodinium bahamense, Gymnodinium catenatum, etc. Depending on the strains, ability to produce PSP toxins within the same species of dinoflagellates is varied. When the climatic and other environmental conditions are favourable, these algae grow rapidly and may produce toxin; and eventually cause “harmful algal bloom (HAB)”. Shellfish, such as clams, scallops, mussels, feeding in areas affected by HAB may therefore be at a higher chance of containing the toxin produced by these algae.

Alexandrium catenella
Alexandrium catenella – a PSP toxins producing algae in H.K.
(Source: Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD))

Occurrence

PSP toxins producing dinoflagellates have mainly occurred in the waters near North America, Europe and Japan but occurrences in Asia are increasingly reported. Nowadays, they also occur in other regions such as Central America, South America and Oceania. In Mainland China, occurrences in Zhejiang, Fujian and Guandong Provinces were also reported. Many national authorities have implemented red tide/HAB monitoring and management programmes in their home countries. In Hong Kong, the AFCD has also established a red tide management framework with a view to minimizing the possible local impacts of red tide/HAB on marine fish culture activities and human health.

Distribution of PSP Toxins

The levels of PSP toxins accumulated in different parts of tissues of contaminated shellfish vary depending on the types and species of shellfish. For some species of scallops, it was reported that viscera had the highest level of accumulated PSP toxins and adductor muscle contained the lowest level. Some previous studies found that the level of PSP toxins in the digestive gland of scallops was about 30 times higher than in the adductor muscle. Other parts, such as gonad, were also found containing higher level of PSP toxins than the adductor muscle.

Effect of Cooking on PSP Toxins

A previous local study observed that about 50% of total PSP toxins were leaked out from fan scallop tissues (viscera, gill, mantle and adductor muscle) into the cooking liquid during steam cooking process. However, there was no significant loss of PSP toxins from gonad. In general, consumption of viscera of scallops was the most significant risk factor for causing PSP, while gonad and cooking liquid were the second most significant risk factors.

Anatomy of a Fan Shell
Anatomy of a Fan Shell (Source: Centre for Health Protection (CHP))

Key Points to Note:

  • Viscera of scallops normally contain the highest level of accumulated PSP toxins, while adductor muscle contains the lowest level.
  • Consumption of viscera of scallops is considered as the most significant risk factor for causing PSP, while gonad and cooking liquid are the second most significant.

International Situation

PSP occurrence varies among different regions. In Europe and South Africa, PSP cases occurred more often between May and November. However, in North America, more reported cases occurred between July and September. Types of shellfish, species of dinoflagellates, and climatic and environmental conditions, such as salinity, temperature, nutrients and sunlight, are important factors.

Local Situation

From time to time, sporadic cases of PSP have been recorded in Hong Kong. An earlier publication of Centre for Health Protection reported 69 suspected shellfish poisoning cases affecting 145 persons from 1997 to 2006, with more cases reported in May and June ( Communicable Diseases Watch Vol.4, No.13 ). In recent years, most suspected PSP outbreaks involved consumption of shellfish, especially scallops. The latest one was reported in mid-May 2010 ( Communicable Diseases Watch Vol.7, No.11 ), with a total of 14 clusters and 28 persons affected. It was found that consumption of viscera or gonad of scallop was associated with the illness.

According to the trade, fresh bivalves on sale in local retail outlets are mostly imported from the Mainland. Although algal blooms occur quite frequently in Hong Kong (~20-30 incidents/year), they seldom cause significant public health impact locally. The Hong Kong food surveillance programme detected 12 samples unsatisfactory for PSP toxin testing between 2007 and 2009. For these unsatisfactory samples, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) had assessed the health risk, issued warning letters and requested relevant traders to stop selling the concerned products, obtained follow-up samples, traced their source and distribution as far as possible, announced the results timely and reminded the public not to consume the concerned products.

Tracing of food source is a problem in these incidents. The Food Safety Bill has recently been introduced into the LegCo which will provide food safety measures including, among others, a registration scheme for food importers and distributors and a requirement for food traders to maintain proper transaction records, which ensures that the Government can trace the source of the food more effectively and take prompt actions when dealing with food incidents.

Advice to Public and Trade

Further Information

    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 18-06-2010

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零一零年六月第四十七期)- 焦点个案

再谈食物中的麻痹性贝类毒素

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任陈伟仁先生报告

本港在五月发生怀疑麻痹性贝类中毒事件,有关报道再次提醒我们进食至爱港式蒸带子引致的食物中毒。本栏藉此机会再次探讨麻痹性贝类中毒。

由藻类产生的麻痹性贝类毒素

麻痹性贝类中毒是一种由进食含有麻痹性贝类毒素的贝类引致的疾病。患者通常在进食含有毒素的贝类后数分钟至数小时内出现神经系统相关的症状,而且往往会有肠胃症状。麻痹性贝类毒素由名为“双鞭毛藻”的微小藻类产生,这一组藻类的长度/直径一般约为5至2000微米。产生麻痹性贝类毒素的藻类通常生活在热带和温带水域,当中已知会产生毒素的种类包括链状亚历山大藻、巴哈马麦甲藻及链状裸甲藻等。同一种类的双鞭毛藻产生麻痹性贝类毒素的能力各有不同,视乎藻株而定。在有利的气候和其他环境条件下,这些藻类会迅速繁殖,并可能产生毒素,最终形成“有害藻华”。蚬、带子、扇贝及青口等贝类如在有害藻华出现的水域觅食,含有这种藻类产生的毒素的机会较高。

链状亚历山大藻
链状亚历山大藻是一种可产生麻痹性贝类毒素的本港藻类。
(资料来源:渔农自然护理署(渔护署))

出现水域

可产生麻痹性贝类毒素的双鞭毛藻一向主要在北美洲、欧洲及日本附近的水域,但在亚洲出现的情况日多。现时,这种藻类亦见于中美洲、南美洲及大洋洲等其他地区。至于中国内地,浙江、福建、广东多省亦发现其踪影。各国当局已在其水域推行红潮/有害藻华监察及管理计划。在本港,渔护署亦已设立红潮管理框架制度,务求减少红潮/有害藻华可能对本港海鱼养殖活动及市民健康的影响。

麻痹性贝类毒素的分布

受污染贝类不同部位组织积聚的麻痹性贝类毒素含量不一,视乎贝类的品种及种类而定。就某些种类的带子及扇贝而言,有报告指内脏积聚的麻痹性贝类毒素含量最高,而闭壳肌则最低。以往一些研究发现,扇贝的消化腺所含的麻痹性贝类毒素较闭壳肌高出约30倍,而生殖腺等其他部位所含的毒素亦高于闭壳肌。

烹煮对麻痹性贝类毒素的影响

早前一项本港研究指,约有半数的麻痹性贝类毒素会在蒸煮过程中由扇贝的组织(内脏、鳃、套膜及闭壳肌)流到烹煮的汁液中,但生殖腺内的麻痹性贝类毒素并没有明显流失。一般而言,引致麻痹性贝类中毒的最主要风险因素是进食带子或扇贝的内脏,其次是进食生殖腺及烹煮的汁液。

新鲜带子的内部构造
新鲜带子的内部构造(资料来源:卫生防护中心)

注意要点 :

1.
带子及扇贝内脏积聚的麻痹性贝类毒素含量通常最高,而闭壳肌的含量则最低。
   
2.
引致麻痹性贝类中毒的最主要风险因素是进食带子或扇贝的内脏,其次是进食生殖腺及烹煮的汁液。

各地情况

不同地区的麻痹性贝类中毒个案出现情况均有分别。在欧洲及南非,五月至十一月会出现较多麻痹性贝类中毒个案,但北美洲则在七月至九月会有较多呈报个案。贝类品种、双鞭毛藻种类及气候和环境条件(例如盐度、温度、营养素及阳光)都是关键因素。

本港情况

本港不时发生零星的麻痹性贝类中毒个案。卫生防护中心早前的一份报告指出,一九九七年至二零零六年间,本港共有69宗怀疑贝类中毒呈报个案,受影响人数共145人,并发现五月至六月有较多呈报个案(《传染病直击》第4卷第13期(只备英文版))。近年,本港发生的怀疑麻痹性贝类中毒事件,大部分与进食贝类(尤其是带子或扇贝)有关。最新的中毒事件在今年五月中呈报(《传染病直击》第7卷第11期(只备英文版)),涉及14个组羣共28人,患者是因进食带子的内脏或生殖腺而出现不适。

业界表示,本港零售鲜活双壳贝类产品多数来自内地。红潮虽然在本港屡有发生(每年约有20至30宗),但绝少对公众健康造成重大影响。本港食品监察计划在二零零七至零九年间的麻痹性贝类毒素测试中,共发现12个不合格样本。就这些不合格样本而言,食物安全中心(中心)已评估对市民健康的风险,向有关店铺发警告信和要求停止出售有关食物,抽取跟进样本,尽量追查食物来源和分销情况,适时公布结果和提醒市民不要进食有关不合格食物。

上述事故反映追查食物来源的困难。最近当局已将《食物安全条例草案》提交立法会。该草案将会实施多项食物安全管制措施,包括设立食物进口商和分销商登记制度和规定食物商须妥为备存交易纪录等,其中后者可确保政府能更有效追查食物来源,并在处理食物事故采取迅速行动。

给市民及业界的建议

更多资料

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 18-06-2010