Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (43rd Issue, February 2010) – Incident in Focus

Frozen Scallops and Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning

Reported by Mr Arthur YAU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) announced that a local retailer withdrew from sale a batch of frozen, roe-on, half-shell scallops as they contained paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP) toxins. The CFS found that the scallops contained PSP toxins at 114μg/100g. PSP is uncommon in Hong Kong , but sporadic cases and outbreaks, particularly involving scallops, may occur from time to time. This article provides an overview of PSP toxins in shellfish.


Example of Half-shell Scallops Involved in the Incident

 

What is PSP?

PSP is caused by ingestion of shellfish containing PSP toxins in humans. PSP intoxications exhibit mainly neurological symptoms like tingling, numbness, burning sensation near the mouth, fever, rash and staggering etc., accompanied by gastro-intestinal symptoms, minutes to several hours after consuming contaminated bivalves. People usually recover from it in a few days. In severe cases, muscle paralysis, respiratory arrest and death may occur.

What are PSP Toxins?

PSP toxins consist of 21 closely related toxins, with saxitoxin (STX) being the most toxic. The toxins accumulate in bivalve as they consume PSP toxins-containing algae, which occur in tropical to moderate climate zones. Although the distribution of PSP toxins varies among different species, it was reported that the consumption of viscera (digestive gland) and gonad contribute the most significant risk to PSP.


Anatomy of a Scallop – The digestive gland and the gonad contribute the most significant risk to PSP

 

Toxicity of PSP Toxins to Human

The level of PSP toxins that can cause symptoms in human varies considerably because of variations in individual sensitivity. Also, the level detected varies by laboratory methods. The best understood member of the group, STX, is used as a benchmark.

Safety Reference Value

The Joint Food and Agriculture Organization / Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission / World Health Organization ad hoc Expert Consultation on Biotoxins in Bivalve Molluscs established a provisional acute reference dose of 0.7μg STX equivalents/kg body weight in 2004. With the recalled half-shell scallop as an example, a 60kg adult only needs to consume less than two pieces to reach the reference dose, where symptoms may start to appear.

Preventive Measures

There are several ways to keep the hazards of the PSP toxins away from bivalves for human consumption even though PSP toxins-contaminated bivalves look no different from normal ones. When harvesting bivalve shellfish, the trade should avoid areas that have recently been affected by PSP toxin-containing algae. Although keeping bivalves in PSP toxins free water can allow them to release the toxins and reduce their toxins level, the time required varies from species to species and this can have impact on cost and quality. Therefore, people still depend on monitoring systems to warn fishermen and shellfish farmers in areas where there are regular outbreaks of PSP toxin-containing algae.

Removal of all internal organs (evisceration) is an effective PSP-toxin reduction measure that can be used in shellfish like scallops, as the toxins concentrate in the digestive gland and the adductor muscle contains lower level of the toxins. Although PSP toxins cannot be destroyed by cooking, the cooking process can transfer the heat-resistant toxins to the cooking liquid (about half of the toxins are transferred in a local study with scallops) and render it toxic. Therefore, discarding the cooking liquid may reduce the level of PSP toxins.

 Points to Note:

PSP toxins are heat-stable toxins produced by certain algae and cannot be destroyed through cooking.
Removal of viscera and gonads from bivalves before cooking, where possible, and discarding any cooking liquid before consumption can greatly reduce the level of PSP toxins.
Avoid over-indulgence in consumption of shellfish.

 

Local Situations

The CFS has been regularly monitoring shellfish in Hong Kong for PSP toxins. From 2007 to 2009, about 1 249 samples were analysed for PSP toxins and 12 (<1%) of them were found unsatisfactory.

 

Advice to Public

Purchase shellfish from reliable source.
Scrub and clean shells before cooking.
Reduce PSP toxins level by removal of the innards from bivalves before cooking where possible and discard any cooking liquid before consumption.
Avoid over-indulgence in shellfish consumption and maintain a balanced diet.

Advice for Trade

When harvesting bivalve shellfish, avoid areas that have recently been affected by PSP toxin-producing algae.
Source shellfish from countries where they have established monitoring programmes for toxin-producing algae.

Further Information

The CFS television advertisement on “Safety Tips on Consumption of Shellfish”
The CFS pamphlet on “Prevent Shellfish Poisoning

 

    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 17-02-2010

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零一零年二月第四十三期)-焦点个案

急冻带子与麻痹性贝类中毒

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任游天颂先生报告

食物安全中心(中心)宣布,一家本港零售商停售一批急冻半壳含卵带子,因为有关食物含有麻痹性贝类毒素。中心在这批带子中验出麻痹性贝类毒素,含量为每100克含114微克。淋痹性贝类中毒在本港并不多见,但不时会有零星个案和事故,特别是有关带子和扇贝。本文将会概述贝类的麻痹性贝类毒素。


事件涉及的半壳带子例子

 

麻痹性贝类中毒是什么?

麻痹性贝类中毒是由进食含有麻痹性贝类毒素的贝类所致。中毒症状在人们进食受污染双贝类后数分钟至数小时内出现,主要与神经系统有关,包括刺痛、麻痹、口部四周出现灼热感觉、发烧、出疹和踉跄等,并有肠胃病症状。患者通常在数天内康复,严重者可能出现瘫痪、呼吸停顿,甚或死亡。

麻痹性贝类毒素是什么?

麻痹性贝类毒素有21种类近毒素,当中以石房蛤毒素的毒性最强。含有麻痹性贝类毒素的微藻类存在于热带和温带海域,双贝类吃下这些微藻便会把毒素积聚在体内。虽然麻痹性贝类毒素在贝类体内的分布情况因品种而异,但有报告指进食内脏(消化腺)和生殖腺最容易引致麻痹性贝类中毒。


带子/扇贝的内部构造 — 消化腺和生殖腺最容易引致麻痹性贝类中毒

 

麻痹性贝类毒素对人们造成的毒性影响

由于个人敏感程度有别,可引致中毒症状的麻痹性贝类毒素水平因人而异,加上不同的化验方法检出的毒素水平亦有差异,现以麻痹性贝类毒素中最为人认识的石房蛤毒素作为标准阐释。

安全参考值

联合国粮食及农业组织/政府间海洋学委员会/世界卫生组织辖下的双贝类软体动物中的生物毒素特别专家谘询会议已于二零零四年把暂定急性参考剂量定为每公斤体重0.7微克石房蛤毒素当量。以回收行动涉及的半壳带子为例,一名60公斤重的成年人只需进食少于两个带子便达到参考剂量,可能会开始出现中毒症状。

预防措施

即使受麻痹性贝类毒素污染的双贝类在外表上与一般双贝类并无分别,但我们仍有多种方法预防供人食用双贝类中的麻痹性贝类毒素危害。业界应避免在近期受含有麻痹性贝类毒素的微藻类影响的海域捞捕野生双贝类。虽然把双贝类放在不含麻痹性贝类毒素的水中可令它们释出毒素,从而降低毒素水平,但所需时间因品种而异,而且会影响成本和质量。因此,在经常爆发含有麻痹性贝类毒素的微藻类的海域,人们仍依赖监察制度来提醒作业的渔民和贝类饲养者。

由于麻痹性贝类毒素集中于消化腺,而闭壳肌含有较少毒素,故摘除所有内脏能有效减少带子、扇贝等贝类中的麻痹性贝类毒素。虽然烹煮不能消除麻痹性贝类毒素,但却能把贝类中的毒素转移到烹煮的汁液(本地的一项研究显示带子内约有半数毒素转移到烹煮的汁液),令汁液含有毒素。因此,弃掉烹煮的汁液可降低麻痹性贝类毒素水平。

注意要点

麻痹性贝类毒素是由某些微藻类产生的毒素,非常耐热,不能透过烹煮清除。
烹煮前先摘除双贝类的内脏和生殖腺(如适用),以及食用前弃掉烹煮的汁液,均可大大降低麻痹性贝类毒素水平。
避免过量进食贝类。

 

本港情况

中心一直定期监察本港贝类中的麻痹性贝类毒素。由二零零七至零九年,中心约为1 249个样本进行麻痹性贝类毒素分析,当中有12个(<1%)属于不合格样本。

 

给市民的建议

向可靠来源购买贝类。
烹煮前先刷洗外壳。
烹煮前先摘除双贝类的内脏(如适用),并弃掉烹煮的汁液才进食。
避免进食过量贝类,保持均衡饮食。

 

给业界的建议

避免在近期受含有麻痹性贝类毒素的微藻类影响的海域捞捕双贝类。
向已建立有关可产生毒素微藻类监察计划的国家采购贝类。

更多资料

中心制作有关“小心食用贝类海产”的电视宣传短片
中心编制有关“预防贝类中毒”的单张

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 04-10-2010