Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (43rd Issue, February 2010) – Food Safety Platform

Microwave Cooking and Food Safety

Reported by Ms. Shuk-man CHOW, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Besides ionizing radiation introduced in the previous two issues, microwaves are another form of radiation that is commonly used to control foodborne pathogens.

Principles of Microwave Cooking

Microwaves are a form of electromagnetic energy like radio waves and sunlight. They are generated by electricity and capable to pass through glass, paper, plastic, and similar materials. They are used to relay long distance telephone calls, send television communications, and treat muscle soreness. But microwaves are most familiar to us as an energy source for cooking.


Electromagnetic spectrum stretches from radio waves to gamma rays

When food is exposed to microwaves, the energy absorbed causes polar molecules (e.g. water molecules) and ionic compounds (e.g. dissolved salts) to rotate/ vibrate and produce heat to cook the food. Although heat is produced directly in the food, microwaves do not cook, as is commonly believed, from the “inside out”. Actually, microwaves penetrate foodstuffs to a depth of about 2.5 to 3.8 centimetres (or 1 to 1.5 inches). In thicker pieces of food, the outer layers are heated and cooked primarily by microwaves while the inside is cooked mainly by the heat conducted from the hot outer layers.

Safety Concerns Associated with Microwave Cooking

Microwave ovens provide a convenient and energy efficient way to thaw, cook and reheat food, and they are commonly used in meal preparation. However, the safety issues on the consumption of microwaved food have attracted public concerns.

Microbiological safety

Nearly all foods are contaminated by microorganisms to certain extent. These microorganisms will be destroyed during microwave cooking just as in other conventional methods, so food can be safely cooked in microwave ovens. However, “cold spot” can occur in microwaved food because of the uneven distribution of electromagnetic field in the oven and the irregular way the microwaves absorbed by the food (e.g. bone can shield the meat around it from thorough cooking). If food does not heat evenly and some parts are left undercooked, bacteria and other pathogens may survive and cause foodborne illness.

To minimise the microbiological risk associated with microwave cooking, a number of national food safety authorities have recommended proper food handling techniques and cooking practices for the use of microwave oven . For example, food for microwave heating should be covered to hold moisture where the steam will help destroy harmful bacteria and ensure safe, even cooking.

Chemical safety

Cooking processes are known to induce the production of potential carcinogens. There have been concerns that microwave cooking may also increase the production of carcinogens or mutagens in food. Currently, there is no tenable evidence that the production of any carcinogenic substances would be increased upon the application of microwave heating.

Nutritional quality

There is concern that microwave cooking will have effects on the nutritional quality of food. In fact, microwave cooking does not reduce the nutritional value of foods any more than other heating methods. Because of the shorter cooking times and less water used, microwave cooking tends to be less harsh on nutrients than conventional cooking methods. According to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), foods cooked in a microwave oven may keep more vitamins and minerals.

Radiological safety

Microwaves are nothing related to nuclear energy. They are generated by electricity and use a wavelength similar to television waves, electric shavers and radar. Microwave energy changes to heat as it is absorbed by food, it does not make food “radioactive” or “contaminated”.

For more information on the safety of microwaved food and the special cautions to prevent potential burns in heating certain specific food items (e.g. water and egg) with microwave ovens, please refer to our literature review on “Microwave Cooking and Food Safety”.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-02-2010

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零一零年二月第四十三期)-食物安全平台

微波煮食与食物安全

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任周淑敏女士报告

除了过去两期介绍的电离辐射外,微波是另一种常用于控制食源性病原体的辐射形式。

微波煮食的原理

微波是类似无线电波和阳光的一种电磁能,由电力产生,能穿过玻璃、纸张、塑胶和类似物料。微波可用来转送长途电话,发送电视讯号和治疗肌肉疼痛。不过,我们最为熟悉的用途,是作为煮食能量源。

电磁频谱(由无线电波至伽玛射线)

 

食物接触到微波时,所吸收的能量会导致极性分子(例如水分子)和离子合成物(例如已溶解的盐分)旋转/振动,从而产生煮食的热能。虽然热能直接在食物中产生,但微波并非如一般人所想,把食物“由内至外”烹煮。事实上,微波只能穿透食物达约2.5至3.8厘米(或1至1.5寸)深。就较厚的食物而言,食物的外层主要由微波加热和烹煮,而内部则主要透过滚烫的外层所传导的热能烹煮。

有关微波煮食的安全关注

使用微波炉解冻、烹煮和翻热食物既方便又节省能源,因此微波炉常用于配制膳食。不过,有关食用经微波处理的食物的安全问题备受公众关注。

微生物安全

几乎所有食物在某程度上都受到微生物的污染。一如其他传统煮食方法,微波煮食的过程同样会消灭这些微生物,因此微波炉可安全烹煮食物。不过,由于微波炉内的交流电磁场分布不均,以及食物没有规则地吸收微波(骨头会令四周的肉不能彻底煮熟),因此经微波处理的食物会出现“冷点”。如食物加热不均匀以及有些部分没有煮熟,细菌和其他病原体可能会继续生存,引起食源性疾病。

为尽量减低微波煮食的微生物风险,多个国家食物安全机构已就使用微波炉的正确食物处理方法及煮食习惯提出建议,举例说,应盖好使用微波加热的食物,以保存水分,因为蒸气有助消灭有害细菌,并确保安全、均匀地烹煮食物。

化学安全

烹煮食物的过程会产生可能致癌的物质。有人担心微波煮食也会增加食物的致癌或诱变物质。但目前并无有力证据证明利用微波加热食物会增加致癌物质。

营养价值

有人担心微波煮食会影响食物的营养价值。事实上,微波煮食所减低的营养含量不会高于其他加热方法。由于微波煮食的烹煮时间较短,所用的水分亦较少,因此对营养素的破坏往往比传统煮食方法少。美国食物及药物管理局指出,以微波炉烹煮的食物可能保存更多维他命和矿物质。

辐射安全

微波与核能毫无关系。微波由电力产生,使用的波长与电视波、电须刨及雷达相若。微波能量被食物吸收后会转化为热力,不会令食物带有“放射性”或受“污染”。如欲深入了解有关经微波处理食物的安全性以及使用微波炉加热某些食物时(例如水和蛋)为防灼伤而应特别注意的事项,请参考中心有关“微波煮食与食物安全”的文献研究。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17-02-2010