Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (18th Issue, January 2008) – Food Safety Platform

Mercury and Food Safety

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

The following article, being the fifth and last in this series on “Metallic Contaminants in Food”, will focus on mercury. The various sources from which people are exposed to mercury, as well as the measures that people may take to reduce their exposure to this particular metal will be discussed.

What is Mercury? Where does it Come from?

Mercury is a metallic element found at low concentrations in the earth's crust. Pure mercury is shiny, silver-white and liquid at room temperature. Traditionally it has been used to make products like thermometers, electrical switches, and some light bulbs. Mercury exists in three forms, namely metallic (elemental), inorganic and organic. Methylmercury, which is the most prevalent form of organic mercury, is the most hazardous form.

Mercury can be released into the air and water as a result of volcanic eruptions or weathering of rocks, as well as human activities such as combustion of fossil fuels (especially coal), gold and mercury mining, electroplating, waste incineration, etc.

How are People Exposed to Mercury?

People can be exposed to mercury in their occupational environment. In addition, dental amalgam fillings, Traditional Chinese Medicines and cosmetics are also possible sources of exposure to mercury. Diet, however, is by far the most important source of exposure in most general public.

Mercury in fish

In streams, lakes and oceans, mercury can be transformed by bacteria into methylmercury, the most hazardous form. Methylmercury is readily taken up by living organisms and is passed along the microscopic plants and animals to larger organisms via the food chain. It can accumulate in fish and bind tightly to the protein in fish tissues, thus large predatory fish such as swordfish, shark and marlin would have a greater tendency to accumulate higher amount of the chemical (Table 1). Fish is the major dietary source of mercury exposure in humans. Cooking cannot reduce the concentration of mercury in fish effectively.

Table 1: Fish that can contain higher levels of mercury

  • Swordfish
  • Shark
  • Marlin
  • Alfonsino
  • Certain types of tuna, e.g. bluefin, bigeye

Illustration: Swordfish fillet

Illustration: A kind of alfonsino: Beryx splendens

What are the Effects of Mercury on Health?

Mercury and its compounds have no known physiological functions in animals. Acute toxicity is often a result of occupational exposure, but that from dietary exposure is rare. Exposure to high level of mercury can cause adverse effect to the nervous system, especially the developing brain. Hence, developing foetuses, infants and young children are more sensitive to such toxic effects.

The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) has established Provisional Tolerable Weekly Intakes (PTWIs) of 5 μg/ kg bw/week for total mercury and 1.6 μg/ kg bw/week for methylmercury, respectively. A local study conducted in 2004 revealed that dietary exposures to total mercury and methylmercury among secondary school students were below their respective PTWIs, meaning that their dietary exposures to these chemicals were unlikely to cause harmful effects. The food group "fish" was identified as the main contributor (59% for both total mercury and methylmercury), followed by the food group "seafood other than fish" (14% of total mercury and 18% methylmercury). Swordfish was found to have the highest concentrations of both total mercury and methylmercury.

Advice to Consumers

  1. Susceptible groups such as young children, pregnant women and women planning pregnancy should be careful in their selection of food, in particular, they are advised to avoid eating large predatory fish.
  2. Moderate consumption of fish is recommended as fish is a good source of high-quality protein and omega-3 fatty acids.
  3. Maintain a balanced diet and avoid overindulgence of food items that may have high mercury contents (e.g. fish and shellfish).

Advice to the Trade

Obtain food supplies from reliable sources, and do not obtain fish and shellfish from contaminated areas.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :17-01-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零八年一月第十八期)-食物安全平台

汞与食物安全

食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

《食物中的金属污染物》系列已在本栏连载了四期,本文是此系列的末篇,将会集中探讨汞(水银),包括人们摄取汞的途径和减少摄入汞的方法。

汞是什么?汞来自何处?

汞是金属元素,地壳中蕴藏了小量这种矿物。纯汞是银白色的,闪闪发亮,在室温下呈液态,多年来一直用作制造温度计、电路开关和部分灯泡等产品。汞以三种形态存在,即汞金属(元素)、无机汞和有机汞。甲基汞是有机汞最常见的形态,其毒性最强。

火山爆发、岩石风化和人类活动(例如燃烧化石燃料,特别是煤;开采金矿和汞矿;电镀和焚烧垃圾等),均会令汞进入空气或水中。

人们如何摄取到汞?

人们可从工作环境中摄取到汞。此外,汞合金补牙物、传统中药和化妆品也可能是摄取汞的来源。不过,食物明显地是一般人摄取汞的最主要来源。

鱼类中的汞

在河流、湖泊和海洋里,细菌可以把汞转化为甲基汞。这种毒性最强的形态会被水中生物摄入体内,沿着食物链由微生物(包括动物及植物)转送至体型较大的生物内。甲基汞可在鱼类体内累积,并与鱼类组织中的蛋白质紧密结合,因此剑鱼、鲨鱼和旗鱼等体型较大的捕猎鱼类通常会累积较多这种化学物(表一)。鱼类是人们摄取汞的主要食物来源,而烹煮不能有效减低鱼类中的汞含量。

表一:汞含量较高的鱼类

  • 剑鱼
  • 鲨鱼
  • 旗 鱼
  • 金眼鲷 (金目鲷 )
  • 某些金枪鱼 (吞拿鱼 ),例如蓝鳍、大眼

插图:剑鱼柳

插图:金眼鲷的一种:红金眼鲷

汞对健康有何影响?

汞及其化合物对动物并没有任何已知的生理作用。急性汞中毒通常是因工作以致过量摄取汞,因进食含汞的食物而导致急性中毒的情况罕见。摄入大量的汞可损害神经系统,特别是发育中的脑组织,因此发育中的胎儿、婴儿及幼童最易受到汞的毒性影响。

粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会为总汞和甲基汞订定暂定每周可容忍摄入量 ,按每公斤体重计算,可容忍摄入量分别是每周5微克和1.6微克。根据二零零四年进行的一项 本港研究 显示,中学生从食物摄取总汞和甲基汞的分量均低于暂定每周可容忍摄入量,换言之,他们从食物中摄取这两种化学物而导致健康受损的机会不大。“鱼类”是中学生摄取总汞和甲基汞的主要食物来源(占总汞和甲基汞的摄入量的 59%),其次是“鱼类以外的海产”(分别占总汞和甲基汞的摄入量的14%和18%)。测试结果显示剑鱼的总汞和甲基汞的含量最高。

给消费者的建议

  1. 幼童、孕妇和计划怀孕的妇女等容易受汞影响的羣组,在选择食物时应加倍小心,宜避免进食体型较大的捕猎鱼类 。
  2. 鱼类含有丰富的优质蛋白质和奥米加 -3脂肪酸,宜适量食用。
  3. 保持均衡饮食,避免过量进食汞含量可能偏高的食物,例如鱼类和贝类。

给业界的建议

可靠的供应商采购食物,切勿购入来自受污染地区的鱼类和贝类。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17-01-2008