Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (15th Issue, October 2007) – Food Safety Platform

Lead Exposure in Our Everyday Life

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

From time to time, there are safety concerns over our exposure to lead, be it through dietary or other routes. The more recent episode has been the series of toy recall in relation to lead-containing paint. The following article, being the second in this series on “Metallic Contaminants in Food”, will focus on the various sources from which people are exposed to lead in their everyday life, as well as the ways that people may reduce their exposure to this particular metal.

What is Lead? Where does it Come from?

Lead is a metal that exists naturally in the Earth's crust and is ubiquitous in the environment. Lead has many industrial uses such as production of petrol, batteries, paints and ceramic glazes, and is used in solder applied to water distribution pipes and to seam of food cans, and in crystal glassware, although some of its usages have already been or are in the process of phasing out due to tighter regulatory control or advances in technology.

How are People Exposed to Lead?

Lead can enter the human body via ingestion, inhalation and skin absorption. For those people who are involved in occupations such as painting and decorating, plumbing, construction work, and car repair, they are exposed to higher levels of lead from their work environment. For tobacco smokers, smoking is another source of lead exposure. As lead can exist as an airborne contaminant, all people are exposed to certain amounts of lead through breathing. In places where lead may still be used in the plumbing systems e.g. lead pipes and fittings, drinking water can be a source of exposure as lead may leach or dissolve from the plumbing system. In Hong Kong, lead pipes and fittings are not used in the plumbing systems, therefore drinking water is not a significant source of lead in the territory.

For ordinary adults, diet is the main source of lead exposure whereas diet, air and dust or soil are the main exposure sources for children. Young children frequently put their fingers and other objects into their mouths, and thus are more prone to ingestion of lead paint chips and house dust or soil that may contain lead particles.

As a result of global efforts to reduce human exposure to lead in the past two to three decades, which may include measures in regard to environmental control (e.g. banning the use of leaded petrol in some countries) and food processing (e.g. better canning methods), both total and dietary exposures to lead are generally on a declining trend.

How does Lead Enter Our Food?

Lead present in soil may be taken up into plants (e.g. cereals and vegetables), or lead particles in air may deposit on the surfaces of their leaves and stems. Aquatic food animals, especially shellfish, may accumulate lead from contaminated waters and sediments.

Illustration: Examples of sources of dietary lead: leafy vegetables (top); lime-preserved eggs (middle); shellfish (bottom).



Lead is sometimes added to food intentionally as an additive, for example, in the traditional way of manufacturing lime-preserved eggs (also known as thousand-year-old eggs), although alternative methods using copper or zinc compounds are now available. On the other hand, lead may be inadvertently transferred to food from lead-containing utensils such as food cans, ceramic ware and crystal glassware.

What are the Effects of Lead on Health?

Lead has no essential function in man, but has a number of adverse effects. Short term exposure to high levels of lead can cause abdominal pain, vomiting and anaemia, whereas chronic low-level exposure can cause retarded cognitive and intellectual development in children. Infant, young children and foetus are more sensitive to toxic effects of lead, especially in regard to the damages to their central nervous system.

The Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) has established a provisional tolerable weekly intake (PTWI) of 25μg/kg body weight/week for lead. A study conducted earlier revealed that dietary exposures to lead among local secondary school students were well below the PTWI, meaning that their dietary exposure to lead was unlikely to cause harmful effects.

Advice to Consumers

  1. Soak and wash vegetables, particularly leafy vegetables, thoroughly in water before cooking as this can remove a significant portion of lead-contaminated dust and soil that may have been deposited on the surfaces of the vegetables.

  2. Maintain a balanced diet and consume food items that may have high lead contents (e.g. lime-preserved eggs and shellfish) only in moderation.

  3. Use containers that are designed for food use as oppose to ornamental purposes for handling food.

Advice to the Trade

Observe good agricultural and manufacturing practices to minimise lead contamination in food.

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :08-01-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年十月第十五期)-食物安全平台

从日常生活中摄取铅的情况

 食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

人们不时会关注从食物或其他途径摄取铅的安全问题,而最新例子就是由铅漆引起的一连串玩具回收事件。今期我们将会继续上期推出的《食物中的金属污染物》系列,集中探讨日常生活中摄取铅的途径,以及减少摄入铅的方法。

铅是什么?铅来自何处?

铅是自然蕴藏于地壳的一种金属,在环境中无处不在。铅的工业用途广泛,例如用于生产汽油、电池、漆油和陶器釉面。此外,亦会用于配水管和食物金属罐接缝上的焊料,以及水晶玻璃餐具。不过,随着各地规管日趋严格和科技不进断进步,上述一些用途已日渐淘汰 。

人们如何摄入铅?

铅可透过进食、吸入和皮肤吸收进入人体。从事油漆及装饰工程、水管工程、建筑工程和汽车维修的人会从工作环境中摄取较多铅。至于吸烟者,吸烟是他们摄取铅的另一途径。由于铅是空气中的污染物,所有人都会透过呼吸摄取一定分量的铅。在水管系统仍然使用铅(例如铅制水管和配件)的地方,水管系统可能会释出或渗出铅,因此食水可能是人们摄取铅的来源。本港的水管系统并没有使用铅制水管和配件,因此食水不是本港市民摄取铅的主要来源。

一般成年人主要从饮食摄取铅,而儿童的摄入途径主要是饮食、空气和尘垢或泥土。幼童经常把手指和其他物件放进口中,因而较易吃下含铅漆的碎片,以及可能含有铅粒子的家居尘垢或泥土。

过去二三十年间,世界各地致力减低人们的铅摄取量,其中包括推行环境规管措施(例如有些国家禁止使用含铅汽油),以及规管食物加工程序(例如使用更安全的装罐方法),导致人们的整体铅摄取量和从食物摄取铅的分量逐步下降。

铅如何进入食物?

泥土中的铅可能会被植物(例如谷类和蔬菜)吸收,而空气中的铅粒子亦可能会积聚在植物叶子和茎干的表面。食用水产( 尤其是贝类)会从受污染的水和沉积物而积聚铅。

插图:从食物摄取铅的来源例子 : 叶菜 ( 上 ); 皮蛋 ( 中 ); 贝类 ( 下 )。



此外,铅有时亦会在食物中刻意用作添加剂,例如用于传统腌制皮蛋的方法。不过,近年已出现其他采用铜或锌化合物的腌制方法,以取代铅的使用。另一方面,铅亦会透过含铅食具 ( 例如食物金属罐、陶器餐具和水晶玻璃餐具 ) 渗进食物。

铅对健康有何影响?

铅对人体并无重要功能,反之却会产生多种不良影响。短期摄取大量的铅可造成腹痛、呕吐和贫血,而长期摄取小量的铅则可令儿童的认知和智力发展迟缓。婴儿、幼童和胎儿较容易受到铅毒的影响,特别是导致他们的中枢神经系统受损。

粮食及农业组织/世界卫生组织联合食物添加剂专家委员会已订定,铅的暂定每周可容忍摄入量,按每公斤体重计算是 25 微克。较早前进行的一项研究显示,本港中学生从食物摄取铅的分量远低于暂定每周可容忍摄入量,换言之,他们从食物中摄取铅而导致健康受损的机会不大。

给消费者的建议

  1. 在烹煮前彻底浸洗蔬菜,尤其是叶菜,因为此举能大幅减少可能积聚在蔬菜表面上含铅的尘垢和泥土。

  2. 保持均衡饮食,只吃小量含铅量可能偏高的食物,例如皮蛋和贝类水产。

  3. 使用专供盛载食物的器皿,而不应以装饰器皿来处理食物。

给业界的建议

遵守优良的农业和制造守则,尽量减低食物受铅污染的机会。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 08-01-2008