Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (15th Issue, October 2007) – Incident in Focus

Preservatives in Dried Fruits and Pickled Vegetables

Reported by Ms. Joey KWOK, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

Background

As revealed by routine food surveillance carried out by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS), excessive levels of preservatives have been detected occasionally in dried fruits and pickled vegetables. To get a better understanding of the situation, the CFS has recently conducted a targeted food surveillance on the use of preservatives (including sulphur dioxide, benzoic acid and sorbic acid) in preserved fruits and vegetables, the results of which were released on 27 September 2007. Some 460 samples were tested, 40 samples (9 per cent) were unsatisfactory. The vast majority of unsatisfactory samples were related to the presence of excessive levels of preservatives whereas a very small fraction was related to the use of preservatives that are not permitted to be applied in the respective food items. The CFS has taken appropriate follow-up actions, and advised the food trade to comply with legal requirements when using preservatives.

Illustration: Examples of Chinese-style preserved vegetables: mustard greens (left); cabbage-leaf mustard (middle); rakkyo (shallots) (right).


Illustration: Examples of dried fruits: apricots (left); raisins (right).

What is Food Preservation?

Food is a perishable commodity. The primary objective of food preservation is to prevent or slow down the growth of micro-organisms including moulds, yeasts and bacteria as the growth of these micro-organisms causes spoilage of food.

An array of preservation techniques have been developed which operate through those factors that most effectively control microbial growth and survival. These may include drying, curing, acidification, fermentation, heat treatment, refrigeration, vacuum and modified-atmosphere packaging, use of preservatives, etc. A combination of these preservation techniques are often applied together so as to achieve higher product safety, quality and acceptability.

How are Dried Fruits and Pickled Vegetables Typically Preserved?

Drying is one of the oldest methods of food preservation, and is the principal preservation technique applied in the preparation of dried fruits. Through sun drying or the use of other artificial drying equipment, a significant proportion of water is removed from the fruits so that the growth of micro-organisms is inhibited. Preservatives, particularly sulphur dioxide, may also be added so as to preserve the colour of some fruits such as apricots and raisins.

As regards pickled vegetables, the processing steps could be diverse. Salt is often added, although its quantities may vary considerably. Fermentation is often included in the preparation of pickled vegetables (e.g. sauerkraut, kimchi) but not all. Acid is formed during fermentation which in turn prevents the growth of undesirable micro-organisms. For non-fermented pickled vegetables, they are sometimes preserved simply by adding large quantities of salt so as to create an environment so salty that it is unsuitable for microbial growth. Vinegar may also be used to pickle vegetables. Sorbic acid and benzoic acid are two of the preservatives more frequently used in the preparation of pickled vegetables. Sorbic acid is effective at retarding the growth of many food spoilage organisms whereas benzoic acid is particularly effective in preventing the growth of yeasts and moulds.

What are the General Principles as Regards the Use of Preservatives?

The use of food additives including preservatives is justified only when such use has an advantage or serves particular technological function(s). Most importantly it should not present an appreciable health risk to consumers, and should not be used to mislead consumers. Preservatives should be used under conditions of Good Manufacturing Practice, in which the quantity added to food should be limited to the lowest possible level necessary to accomplish the desired technological effect.

Preservatives are regulated by maximum use levels which are specific for various food groups to ensure that the intake of preservatives from all their uses does not exceed their respective safety reference values (estimated amounts of preservatives that can be ingested over a lifetime without appreciable risk). The maximum use levels may vary between countries, so do the types of preservative that are permitted to be used in various food groups. Food manufacturers, therefore, should be aware of their relevant local regulations as well as the regulations in the country/region of sale.

What do the Targeted Surveillance Results Tell Us?

Among some 460 samples tested, approximately 290 were fruit samples and 170 were vegetable samples. Of them, 15 fruit samples and 25 vegetable samples were found unsatisfactory, giving rise to unsatisfactory rates of 5 per cent and 15 per cent for dried fruits and pickled vegetables, respectively. The reasons for failure in these unsatisfactory samples are summarised in Figure 1.

Excessive levels of sulphur dioxide gave rise to the vast majority of unsatisfactory samples in dried fruits, especially in raisins and apricots. As regards pickled vegetables, excessive levels of sorbic acid, benzoic acid and/or sulphur dioxide were detected in various samples including a wide variety of Chinese-style preserved vegetables. The problem was most prominent in rakkyo samples where excessive levels of benzoic acid were detected in 8 out of 12 samples tested.

Sulphur dioxide, benzoic acid and sorbic acid all have long history of safe use. They are generally of low acute and chronic toxic effects, and should not pose significant health effect to consumers upon normal consumption of the preserved fruits and vegetables concerned.

How are Preservatives Regulated in Hong Kong ?

Preservatives are regulated under the Preservatives in Food Regulations, Cap.132 BD. The Regulations are currently under review with a view to reflecting the latest development in food science and technology, and to keeping abreast of international standards. Details of the legislative review are available from the CFS website .

Advice to the Trade

  1. Comply with the legal requirements and choose the suitable type for the specific food when using preservatives.

  2. Adhere to the Good Manufacturing Practice in a way that only the minimum amount is added to achieve the desired technological effect.

  3. Source food and ingredients from reliable sources.

Advice to Consumers

  1. Buy food from reliable suppliers.

  2. Maintain a balanced diet to avoid excessive exposure to additives including preservatives from a small range of food items.

  3. People with history of allergy should read food labels of pre-packaged foods to avoid certain preservatives as appropriate (e.g. avoidance of sulphur dioxide in asthmatic patients who are allergic to sulphur dioxide).

Further Information

Further information about preservatives can be obtained from the following webpages:

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :08-01-2008

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印




食物安全焦点(二零零七年十月第十五期)-焦点个案

干果和腌菜中的防腐剂

 食物安全中心风险传达组
科学主任郭丽仪女士报告

背景

食物安全中心(中心)的恒常食物监察计划显示,干果和腌菜偶然会有防腐剂超标问题。为更深入了解有关情况,中心近日就腌制水果和蔬菜中的防腐剂(包括二氧化硫、苯甲酸及山梨酸)使用情况,进行专项食品调查,有关结果已于九月二十七日公布。在测试的 460 多个样本中,有 40 个(即 9%)不合格,其中绝大多数涉及防腐剂超标问题,极少数则因有关食品使用了法例不容许的防腐剂。中心已采取适当的跟进措施,并呼吁业界在使用防腐剂时遵从相关的法例规定。

插图:中式腌菜的例子 : 梅菜 ( 左 ); 咸菜 ( 中 ); 藠头 ( 右 )

插图:干果的例子 : 杏脯 ( 左 ); 提子干 ( 右 )

何谓保存食物?

食物是会变坏的物品。保存食物的首要目的,是防止或减慢霉菌、酵母菌和细菌生长,因为这些微生物的生长会令食物腐坏。

现时,我们有多种保存食物技术,利用最有效控制微生物生长和生存的方式运作,当中包括制干、腌熏、酸化、发酵、加热处理、冷藏、真空或气调包装和使用防腐剂等。这些保存食物技术往往会混合使用,令食物更安全、更优质和更易为消费者接受。

干果和腌菜通常会如何保存?

制干属于最古老的保存食物方法之一,是配制干果时使用的主要技术。透过晒干或利用其他人工烘干设备,可除去水果内的大部分水分,从而抑制微生物的生长。此外,亦可能会在食物中加入防腐剂,尤其是二氧化硫,以保存杏脯和提子干等干果的颜色。

至于腌菜,则有各式各样的配制方法。盐经常会添加在腌菜中,但使用的分量可能差异极大。配制德国酸菜和韩国泡菜等腌菜通常会经过发酵,但这过程并非应用于所有腌菜。发酵过程中产生的酸可防止有害的微生物生长。至于不经发酵的腌菜,有时只须加入大量的盐来配制,令细菌无法在高盐分的环境中生长,此外,醋亦会用于腌菜。山梨酸和苯甲酸是配制腌菜时较常使用的两种防腐剂。前者能有效减慢多种可令食物变坏的细菌生长,而后者在防止酵母菌和霉菌生长方面的效用尤佳。

使用防腐剂的一般原则为何?

食物添加剂(包括防腐剂)的使用必须是有利的或能发挥特定的技术用途。此外,最重要的是其使用不应对消费者的健康带来可见风险,亦不得误导消费者。业界应按照《优良制造规范》内的规定使用防腐剂,所添加的分量只限于在食物中发挥预期技术用途所需的最低分量。

防腐剂的规管途径是透过制订在各类指明食物中的最高使用量,以确保人们从所有含防腐剂的食物摄取到的防腐剂总量不会超出相关安全参考值(即人在一生中摄入防腐剂而不致对健康带来可见风险的估计分量)。各国就防腐剂所订的最高使用量或会不同,而各类食物获准使用的防腐剂种类亦有异。因此,食物制造商须留意本港和食物销售国的有关规例。

专项食品调查结果如何?

在测试的 460 多个样本中,约有 290 个属于水果样本,170 个属于蔬菜样本,当中 15 个水果样本和 25 个蔬菜样本不合格,即干果和腌菜的不合格比率分别为 5% 和 15% 。有关食物样本的不合格原因见图一。

不合格的干果样本(尤其是提子干和杏脯)绝大多数涉及二氧化硫超标问题。至于腌菜方面,我们在不同样本(包括多种中式腌菜)发现山梨酸、苯甲酸及/或二氧化硫超标情况,其中以藠头问题最严重,在测试的 12 个样本中有 8 个发现苯甲酸超标。

二氧化硫、苯甲酸和山梨酸已安全使用多年,三者的急性和慢性毒性影响均属低水平。在一般食用的情况下,有关腌制水果和蔬菜不会对消费者的健康造成明显的影响。

本港对防腐剂有何规管?

防腐剂是受《食物中的防腐剂规例》(第 132BD 章) 所规管。有关规例现正进行检讨,以配合食物科学和技术的最新发展,以及与国际标准看齐。有关法例修订的详情,请浏览 中心网页

给业界的建议

  1. 在使用防腐剂时,遵从法例规定和根据食物类别选用适合的防腐剂。

  2. 奉行《优良制造规范》,只在食物中添加能发挥预期技术用途所需的最低分量。

  3. 向可靠的供应商采购食物和配料。

给消费者的建议

  1. 向可靠的店铺购买食物。

  2. 保持均衡饮食,以免因偏吃少种类食物而过量摄入食物添加剂 ( 包括防腐剂 ) 。

  3. 患有敏感的人应参阅预先包装食物的标签,以免摄入某些可致敏的防腐剂,例如对二氧化硫敏感的哮喘病人应避免摄入二氧化硫。

更多资料

如需更多有关防腐剂的资料,请浏览下列网页:

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 08-01-2008