Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (104th Issue, March 2015) – Incident in Focus

Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning (PSP) Toxins in Geoducks

Reported by Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In December 2014, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) received notification from Canadian authorities that Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning (PSP) toxins at 1.1 ppm were detected in three consignments of live geoduck from British Columbia (BC). The level exceeded the Canadian standard which is also the action level in Hong Kong (i.e. a maximum level of 0.8 ppm). Besides stopping the sale of the products and banning the import from the same harvest area in BC, the CFS immediately stepped up the import surveillance of geoducks from other parts of Canada. Subsequently, 16 samples of geoduck harvested from other areas of BC were found containing PSP toxins at levels exceeding 0.8 ppm. To protect public health, the CFS immediately informed the Canadian authorities of the test results and extended the import ban on geoducks to the whole BC.

PSP Toxins and their Occurrence in Food

PSP toxins, produced by certain microscopic algae, are a group of related naturally occurring toxins. Shellfish (such as geoducks, mussels, clams, oysters and scallops) filter water through their gills and eat food particles including algae. When the shellfish eat toxins-producing algae, the toxins will be concentrated in tissues of the shellfish, in particular the internal organs. In geoducks, the toxins are mainly found in the viscera ball.


Discard the visceral ball before consumption
Discard the visceral ball before consumption

It is normal and poses no problems when toxins-producing algae are present in marine water at very low concentrations. However, when the algae “bloom”, they become a greater food source for shellfish. The more algae the shellfish eat, the more PSP toxins they accumulate. After the number of toxins-producing algal cells in the water returns to normal low levels, the shellfish gradually flush the toxins from their bodies. However, according to literature, it can be several days to several months or longer before the shellfish are safe for consumption again.

Public Health Significance

PSP toxins are powerful nerve poisons with no known antidote. Early symptoms include tingling of the lips and tongue, which may appear from 30 to 60 minutes after eating the toxic shellfish. Symptoms may progress to loss of control of arms and legs followed by difficulty in breathing. Death can occur in severe cases.

Regulatory Control

The Codex Alimentarius Commission adopts a maximum level of 0.8 ppm for PSP toxins in bivalve shellfish (edible parts). Hong Kong adopts the same level for action.

Preventive Measures

The most effective control measure is the implementation of monitoring programmes in the harvest areas, as currently practised by many developed countries. Government agencies are responsible for monitoring water quality and toxin levels in shellfish in harvest areas. In addition to testing the commercial shellfish products, mussels may be used as sentinel species to monitor the presence of toxins in the harvest areas because mussels concentrate PSP toxins faster than other shellfish. Harvesting will be prohibited when bacteriological or toxin levels of the harvest areas are unsafe.

Toxic shellfish cannot be distinguished from non-toxic ones visually and cooking does not destroy PSP toxins. The public are hence advised to purchase shellfish from reliable retailers, discard all the internal organs of the shellfish before cooking and avoid overindulgence in shellfish consumption.

Key Points to Note

  • The most effective control measure is the implementation of monitoring programmes in harvest areas.
  • Toxic shellfish cannot be distinguished from non-toxic ones visually and cooking does not destroy PSP toxins.
  • PSP toxins, if present, are more likely to accumulate in the internal organs of shellfish.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Source geoducks from places where monitoring programmes for PSP toxins are established.
  2. Do not accept geoducks from dubious sources.

Advice to the Public

  1. Purchase geoducks from reliable sources.
  2. To reduce the health risk of poisoning by PSP toxins due to consumption of geoducks, remove and discard all internal organs of geoducks before consumption.
  3. Anyone who feels ill after eating geoducks should immediately seek medical attention.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-03-2015

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

回到主页 下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一五年三月第一百零四期)- 焦点个案

象拔蚌中的麻痹性贝类毒素

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任朱源强先生报告

二零一四年十二月,食物安全中心(中心)获加拿大当局通知,指有三批产自卑诗省的活象拔蚌被检出含百万分之1.1麻痹性贝类毒素,超出加拿大标准及香港的行动水平(即不得超过百万分之0.8)。中心除要求业界停售有问题食品及禁止卑诗省同一地点捕获的象拔蚌进口外,还加强抽取加拿大其他地区进口的象拔蚌进行检测。结果显示,有16个象拔蚌样本的麻痹性贝类毒素含量超过百万分之0.8。为保障市民健康,中心即时通知加拿大当局检测结果,并把暂停进口象拔蚌的范围扩大至整个卑诗省。

食物中的麻痹性贝类毒素

麻痹性贝类毒素由某些微藻类所产生,是一组相关的天然毒素。象拔蚌、青口、蚬、蚝和扇贝等贝类以鳃过滤海水的方式进食水中的食物微粒(包括藻类)。贝类在吃下产毒藻类后,毒素会积聚在贝类组织内,特别是在内脏部分。而象拔蚌体中的毒素多集中在内脏。

在食用象拔蚌前先把其内脏清除干净 在食用象拔蚌前先把其内脏清除干净

在正常情况下,产毒藻类在海水中的数量是很低的,不足为患。但当这些藻类暴发性地大量繁殖,便会成为贝类的主要食粮。贝类吃下的毒藻愈多,体内所积聚的麻痹性贝类毒素便愈多。当海水中产毒藻类的细胞数目回复到正常水平后,贝类自然会逐渐释出体内的毒素。但是,根据文献记载,要等几天至数月甚至更久,贝类才可再次安全食用。

对健康的影响

麻痹性贝类毒素属于神经毒素,毒性甚烈,现时并没有已知的解毒剂。麻痹性贝类中毒的症状通常在进食贝类后30至60分钟内出现。初期症状包括口舌刺痛,随后可能会出现四肢失控,继而呼吸困难,严重者甚至会致命。

规管情况

食品法典委员会采取的标准是双壳贝类可食用部分中的麻痹性贝类毒素不得超过百万分之0.8。香港亦以此为行动水平。

预防措施

在贝类捕捞区实施监察计划是最有效的控制措施,很多已发展国家已在实行,由政府部门负责监测捕捞区的水质和毒素水平。举例来说,除了检测贝类商品外,亦可利用青口作为前哨物种,监察捕捞区是否存在毒素,因为比起其他贝类,青口较快积聚麻痹性贝类毒素。负责监测的政府部门一旦监测到捕捞区的细菌或毒素数量达到不安全水平,便禁止捕捞。

有毒贝类和无毒贝类在外观上没有分别,而且麻痹性贝类毒素不能通过烹调清除。故市民应向可靠的零售商购买贝类,烹煮前先除去全部内脏,并避免进食过量。

注意要点

  • 在贝类捕捞区实施监察计划是最有效的控制措施。
  • 有毒贝类和无毒贝类在外观上没有分别,而且麻痹性贝类毒素不能通过烹调清除。
  • 麻痹性贝类毒素(如有的话)多积聚于贝类的内脏。

给业界的建议

  1. 向已建立麻痹性贝类毒素监察计划的地区采购象拔蚌。
  2. 切勿购买来源不明的象拔蚌。

给市民的建议

  1. 向可靠来源购买象拔蚌。
  2. 为免因进食含麻痹性贝类毒素的象拔蚌而中毒,在进食前应除去所有内脏。
  3. 进食象拔蚌后若感到不适,应立即求医。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 18-03-2015