Programme Areas >> Food Consumption Survey Print Friendly

FOOD CONSUMPTION SURVEY

Introduction

The Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) has conducted Hong Kong's largest scale and most comprehensive food consumption survey for collecting information on food consumption patterns of the general public. Such information provides data for the evaluation of risks associated with food. In the past, only small scale studies for collecting food consumption data had been conducted in Hong Kong. As there were no previous surveys to collect territory-wide food consumption data for the purpose of food safety risk assessment, it is crucial for FEHD to conduct a population-based food consumption survey to establish a comprehensive database for food safety risk assessment. The survey also enhances the department's risk assessment capacity.

What is a food consumption survey?

  • A food consumption survey is a survey to collect food consumption data of the population, such as (1) types of food intake, (2) amounts of food intake and (3) dietary practices.

How will the results be used?

  • We will use the food consumption data to find out if the public is exposed to any potential dietary risks such as those from contaminants and food additives, and also to understand the size of the risk and which population groups may be most at risk. In the past, we did not have comprehensive data to conduct these in-depth risk assessments.
  • Such information is vital for the Government in formulating public policies and education strategies to promote food safety in Hong Kong.

Which groups of people is this survey targeted at?

  • This survey aims to cover the Hong Kong population aged 20 to 84 years. Around 5000 qualified people all over the territory have been selected through an anonymous and scientific household address sampling procedure.

What information has been collected in this survey?

  • Food consumption data has been collected by three face-to-face and telephone interviews with each participant. Other information such as the participant's dietary practices, weight and height, general health, as well as demographic information have also been collected.

Survey Result

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 30-04-2010

工作項目 >> 食物消費量調查 友善列印

食 物 消 費 量 調 查

食物環境衞生署(食環署)進行了全港最大規模和最全面的食物消費量調查,以掌握市民的食物消費模式資料,進行有關食物風險的評估。本港過往只曾進行較小規模的研究來收集食物消費量的資料,並沒有進行過全港性評估食物安全風險的食物消費量調查。因此,進行這項全港市民食物消費量調查,對建立完整資料庫以評估食物安全的風險,至為重要;這調查亦可提高食環署評估風險的能力。

什麼是食物消費量調查 ?

  • 食物消費量調查收集本港人口食物消費量的資料,包括:(1)進食食物的種類;(2)進食食物的份量;以及(3)飲食習慣。

調查結果有什麼用途 ?

  • 有了食物消費量的資料,我們可以知道市民在飲食方面面對源自污染物及食物添加劑等危害的潛在風險,以及了解這些風險的高低和哪個人口組別的風險最高。政府以往沒有全面的資料可以進行深入的風險評估。
  • 有關資料對政府制訂提高香港食物安全的公共政策和教育策略,至為重要。

調查以哪組別的人為對象 ?

  • 調查對象是年齡由20至84歲在香港居住的人士。我們以不記名和科學化的方法抽取住戶地址樣本,在全港選出約5000名合乎要求的人士接受訪問。

調查收集了什麼資料 ?

  • 我們以面談及電話訪問形式,與每位受訪者共進行三次訪問,收集食物消費量的資料。我們也收集了其他資料,例如受訪者的飲食習慣、體重及身高、一般健康狀況,以及與人口有關的資料。

調查結果

上 一 頁   返 回 首 頁
 
最近修訂日期 : 30-04-2010