Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus ( 95th Issue, June 2014 ) – Incident in Focus

Heavy Metals in Dried Vegetables

Reported by Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

In May 2014, the local media reported the results of a survey on heavy metals in vegetables including dried mushrooms and dried bamboo fungi available in the local market. According to the report, the cadmium levels in two dried mushrooms and one dried bamboo fungus exceeded the legal limits. The presence of heavy metals in food often arouses public concern. On the other hand, some people cast doubts on whether the detected levels of heavy metals in the dried vegetable samples can be compared with the legal limits directly.

What are the International Practices in Interpreting Maximum Permitted Concentrations for Heavy Metals in Dried Food?

Heavy metals are environmental contaminants, from both natural sources and human activities such as farming, industrial activities or car exhausts. Hence, they can occur as residues in food. Although the total amounts of heavy metals in food do not change upon drying, their levels will be concentrated.

Example

The Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) has recommended that “in general...maximum levels should preferably be set for primary agricultural products and may be applied to processed, derived and multi-ingredient food by using appropriate conversion factors” to take into account the effect of processing. This approach has been adopted by many countries such as Australia and EU member states when interpreting laboratory results.

In line with the Codex’s recommendation and international practice, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has been applying the concept of “conversion factors” when assessing whether the levels of heavy metals in a food have exceeded the legal limits.

How are the Levels Determined in a Processed Food?

The “original” level of a heavy metal in a dried processed food can be determined using the following formula:

Formula

If the “laboratory-reported” level of cadmium in a dried shiitake mushroom is 0.2 mg/kg, the “original” level of cadmium in its fresh state should be 0.02 mg/kg after applying a conversion factor of 0.1. In other words, the level of cadmium in the dried mushroom is lower than the legal limit (i.e. 0.1 mg/kg).

Formula

Examples of conversion factors for some dried foods

Can the Above Approach Ensure the Supply of Safe Food in Hong Kong?

Some people may confuse legal limits with the respective safety reference values such as the Tolerable Weekly Intake (TWI) established by the Joint Food and Agriculture Organization/World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA). The law states the amounts of chemicals allowed in different foods for enforcement and maintenance of food standards. Consuming food products with chemicals exceeding the legal standards does not imply that the consumer’s health is at risk. When assessing the overall safety of the sample and the associated health effects of the heavy metals detected, both the level of the contaminant in the food and the quantity of the food consumed should be taken into account.

To ensure that food on sale in the market is safe and fit for human consumption, the CFS monitors food contaminants, including heavy metals, at import, wholesale and retail levels through the Food Surveillance Programme. In 2013, 768 vegetable samples were taken for heavy metals analysis, and only three samples were detected with levels exceeding the legal limits.

Key Points to Note

  • Heavy metals are ubiquitous in the environment and may be present as residues in our food.
  • While the total amount of a heavy metal in a food may not change upon drying, its level may be concentrated.
  • To take into account the effect of processing, an appropriate conversion factor has to be applied when calculating the “ original” level of a heavy metal present in a processed food.

Advice to the Public

  • Vegetables are an important part of a healthy diet. Consumers are advised to take a balanced diet and eat a variety of vegetables.

Advice to the Trade

  • The trade should ensure that the foods they sell or import are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 18-06-2014

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一四年六月第九十五期)-焦點個案

乾製蔬菜中的重金屬

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任朱源强先生報告

二零一四年五月,本港傳媒報道一項關於本港街市所售蔬菜,包括乾冬菇和乾竹笙等的重金屬含量調查,據報有兩個乾冬菇及一個乾竹笙樣本的鎘含量超過法定上限。食物含重金屬的情況一向備受關注。另一方面,有人對這些乾製蔬菜樣本中驗出的重金屬含量可否直接與法定上限作比較產生疑問。

國際間如何解讀乾製食品中重金屬的最高准許濃度?

重金屬是一種環境污染物,既天然存在於大自然中,也會經由農耕、工業或汽車廢氣等人類活動產生。因此,食物中難免存有重金屬殘餘。雖然食物中重金屬的總分量經過加工(例如乾製)後不會改變,但其濃度會有所增加。

舉例

食品法典委員會曾就加工過程的影響提出以下建議:“一般來說……最高上限最好是針對初級農產品而制定。若將最高上限應用於加工食物、衍生食物和以多種配料製成的食物時,應該採用適當的轉換系數”。澳洲和歐洲聯盟成員國等多個國家均採用這種方法解讀化驗結果。

食物安全中心(中心)在評估乾製食品中的重金屬含量有否超逾法定上限時,一向遵從食品法典委員會的上述建議和國際做法,應用轉換系數作出評估。

如何判斷加工食品的重金屬含量?

乾製的加工食品中某種重金屬的“原本”含量,可按以下公式計算出來:

公式計算

假設一枚乾冬菇的鎘含量化驗結果是每公斤0.2毫克,用轉換系數(0.1)加以運算後,該枚乾冬菇在新鮮狀態時的“原本”鎘含量應為每公斤0.02毫克。換言之,該枚乾冬菇的鎘含量低於法定上限(每公斤0.1毫克)。

公式計算

部分乾製食品的轉換系數

上述方法可確保在本港供應的食物安全嗎?

有人可能把法例所訂的上限與各項相關的安全參考值(例如由聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織聯合食物添加劑專家委員會制定的每周可容忍攝入量)混為一談。法例訂明不同食物中的化學物准許含量,目的是為了執法和確保食物的質素。吃下的食品如含有超逾法定標準的化學物,並不一定表示對健康有害。在評估食物樣本的整體安全和所驗出的重金屬對健康造成的影響時,應考慮有關污染物在食物中的含量及有關食物的平均食用量。

中心一直透過恆常的食物監察計劃,在進口、批發及零售層面監察食物中的污染物,包括重金屬等,以確保在市面出售的食物是安全及適宜供人食用的。二零一三年,中心抽取了768個蔬菜樣本作重金屬測試,其中只有三個超出法定上限。

注意要點

  • 重金屬在環境中無處不在,很可能會殘留在食物中。
  • 雖然食物中重金屬的總分量經乾製後不會改變,但其濃度會有所增加。
  • 為反映加工過程對重金屬含量的影響,加工食物在計算“原本”的重金屬含量時,必須採用適當的轉換系數。

給市民的建議

  • 蔬菜是健康飲食不可或缺的一部分。消費者應保持均衡飲食,進食多種蔬菜。

給業界的建議

  • 業界應確保所出售或進口的食物適宜供人食用,並符合法定標準。
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期:18-06-2014