Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly

Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main page Next Article

Food Safety Focus (83rd Issue, June 2013) – Incident in Focus

Cadmium in Rice and Rice Products

Reported by Ms. Ho-yan CHUNG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Recently, certain rice and rice products collected by Guangdong authorities were found containing cadmium at levels which did not comply with the Mainland standard. Some people raised concerns over their impact on local food safety. This article discusses food safety issues of cadmium in rice and rice products.

Nature of Cadmium

Cadmium is a metallic element that occurs naturally in the Earth’s crust. It can be released to the environment by human activities. Cadmium has a number of industrial applications, for example electroplating, nickel-cadmium batteries and electronics, etc. Fertilisers produced from phosphate ores and industrial operations such as mining are important sources of environmental cadmium contamination. Cadmium does not break down in the environment.

Occurrence in Food

Plants, animals, fish and shellfish take up cadmium when it is in their growth environment (e.g. soil, air, water, etc). The use of cadmium-containing fertilisers and feeding stuffs may also lead to higher cadmium levels in food. Cadmium can go up the food chain when contaminated crops and plants are ingested by animals.

Figure:Cadmium, which originates from natural sources or from human activities such as mining, can enter rice plant through soil and water.
Cadmium, which originates from natural sources or from human activities such as mining, can enter rice plant through soil and water.

Health Effects of Cadmium

Acute toxicity of cadmium due to dietary exposure is very unlikely but prolonged intake of cadmium may have adverse effects on kidney. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) of the World Health Organization considered that there was sufficient evidence of carcinogenicity of cadmium and cadmium compounds in humans due to occupational exposure through inhalation, and classified them as “carcinogenic to human” (Group 1 agents). However, available evidence suggests that cadmium does not appear to have significant genotoxic and carcinogenic potential via the oral route.

Regulatory Standards of Cadmium in Rice

Mainland China and the European Union have set standards for cadmium in rice at 0.2 mg/kg. In Hong Kong, the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations Cap. 132 V stipulates that the maximum permitted concentration for cadmium in cereals is at 0.1 mg/kg.

Testing of Cadmium in Rice in Hong Kong

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has been conducting routine surveillance on cadmium in rice and rice products. From 2010 to 2012, a total of 128 rice and 24 rice noodle samples were tested for cadmium. All results for rice samples were satisfactory. Although there were two unsatisfactory results for rice noodles in 2011, with cadmium levels reaching 0.14 mg/kg and 0.24 mg/kg respectively, the cadmium levels detected were not high and risk assessment further confirmed that adverse health effects on consumers from consumption of the concerned rice noodles are unlikely.

Local Situation

The CFS has alerted relevant traders and contacted Mainland authorities for more information regarding the incident. Less than 10 per cent of rice imported to Hong Kong originated from Mainland China, of which those coming from Guangdong Province is limited. Guangdong authority has been closely monitoring the manufacturing process and conducting examination, including cadmium testing, of rice and rice product samples before they are allowed to be exported to Hong Kong. No rice or rice products detected with high levels of cadmium in Guangdong have been found exported to Hong Kong.

A risk assessment on dietary exposure to cadmium using the total diet study methodology was conducted. The results released earlier this year indicated that the general population was unlikely to experience major undesirable health effects of cadmium from dietary exposure.

Key Points to Note:

  • Cadmium may be present at higher levels in rice if the soil or the irrigation water is contaminated.
  • Less than 10 per cent of local rice originated from Mainland China.
  • Local data indicated that the general population is unlikely to experience major undesirable health effects of cadmium.

Advice to Consumers

  1. Take a balanced diet so as to avoid excessive exposure to certain chemicals or contaminants from a small range of food items.
  2. Since rice contains higher level of inorganic arsenic, consider complementing rice with other cereals, noodles, oatmeal and bread that contain lower levels of inorganic arsenic as part of the diet.
Advice to the Trade
  1. Observe Good Agricultural Practice to minimise cadmium contamination in food crops.
  2. Obtain food supplies from reliable sources.
  3. Ensure foods imported or for sale are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-06-2013

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

回到主頁 下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一三年六月第八十三期)- 焦點個案

大米和米製品中的鎘

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任鍾可欣女士報告

廣東省政府最近抽檢大米及米製品,其中部分批次驗出鎘含量不符合內地標準。有人關注事件對本港食物安全的影響。本文將淺談大米及米製品含鎘的食物安全問題。

鎘的特性

鎘是天然存在於地殼表面的金屬元素。人類活動亦會向環境釋出這種金屬污染物。鎘在工業上的用途很多,例如電鍍,以及製造鎳鎘電池和電子產品等。由磷礦生產的肥料,以及採礦等工業活動都是鎘污染環境的主要來源。鎘是不會在環境中分解的。

食物中的鎘

如植物、動物、魚類和貝類生長的環境(如土壤、空氣、水域等)受到污染,便會攝取到鎘。如農民施用含鎘的肥料及飼料,食物中的鎘含量亦可能較高。動物吃下受鎘污染的農作物及植物後,鎘便會在食物鏈中累積傳遞。

天然存在或人類活動(例如採礦)釋出的鎘可循土壤及水源進入稻株
天然存在或人類活動(例如採礦)釋出的鎘可循土壤及水源進入稻株

鎘對健康的影響

雖然從食物攝取鎘導致急性中毒的機會微乎其微,但長期攝取鎘會損害腎臟。世界衞生組織轄下的國際癌症研究機構認為有足夠證據證明,因職業關係吸入鎘和鎘化合物會令人患癌,因而將鎘列為“令人類患癌”(即第1組)的物質。然而,現有的證據顯示,從飲食中攝取鎘,似乎不具有明顯的基因毒性,亦不大可能令人患癌。

大米中鎘的規管標準

中國內地和歐盟對大米中鎘的限量標準是每公斤0.2毫克。本港《食物攙雜(金屬雜質含量)規例》(第132V章)指明鎘在穀類中的最高准許濃度是每公斤0.1毫克。

抽檢本港大米中的鎘

食物安全中心(中心)一直有監察大米及米製品中的鎘含量。二零一零至一二年期間,中心一共檢測了128個大米及24個米粉/米線樣本中的鎘,大米樣本全部及格。雖然二零一一年有兩個米粉/米線樣本的檢測結果不合格,鎘含量分別為每公斤0.14毫克及0.24毫克,但這個分量其實不算高。風險評估的結論是,以這個水平的鎘,食用有關食品不會對健康造成不良影響。

本港情況

中心已把廣東省大米鎘超標事件通知有關食物業界,並聯絡內地當局了解情況。本港由中國內地進口的大米不足一成,其中來自廣東省的更為有限。輸港大米及米製品的生產過程一向受到廣東省政府嚴密監督,輸港前須接受檢查,包括檢測鎘含量。廣東省檢出鎘超標的大米及米製品並無輸港。

中心運用總膳食研究方法對本港人口從膳食中攝入鎘的情況作風險評估,今年年初發布的研究結果顯示,一般市民從膳食攝入鎘的分量對健康造成嚴重不良影響的機會不大。

注意要點:

  • 如土壤或灌溉水受污染,大米中的鎘含量可能會較高。
  • 本港只有不足一成的大米是來自中國內地。
  • 本港數據顯示,一般市民從膳食攝入鎘的分量對健康造成嚴重不良影響的機會不大。
給消費者的建議
  1. 保持均衡飲食,以免因偏食某幾類食物而過量攝取某些化學物或污染物。
  2. 由於大米的無機砷含量較高,市民可考慮在日常膳食中多選擇無機砷含量較低的其他穀物,如麵條、燕麥片及麵包等。

給業界的建議

  1. 奉行優良務農規範以減少食用農作物和動物受到鎘污染。
  2. 向可靠的供應商選購食物。
  3. 確保所出售或進口的食物適宜供人食用,並符合法定標準。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 19-06-2013