Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly


Food Safety Focus (52nd Issue, November 2010) – Incident in Focus

Clonorchis sinensis in Raw Freshwater Fish

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Local media reported in early September the high prevalence of Clonorchis sinensis infection in Shenzhen, notably associated with consumption of raw or undercooked freshwater fish. Clonorchis sinensis, also known as Chinese or oriental liver fluke, is a type of foodborne parasites that were discussed earlier in this journal. Here we go further to look at this fluke more closely.

Transmission and Human Infection

Transmission of the fluke relies on the presence of snails and fish in freshwater ponds. Eggs excreted from humans or other infected mammals, e.g. pigs, are ingested by snails and developed into the free-swimming form (i.e., cercariae). The cercariae in the pond will get into contact with the fish skin and changed into an encysted form called metacercariae. When humans eat the infected fish, the metacercariae will come out from the cyst while in the duodenum and migrate to the biliary duct in the liver. They will get mature in the biliary duct and start to form eggs that can pass with bile into faeces and continue the transmission cycle.

Light infections by the fluke cause mild or no symptoms, while large numbers can cause intense infection for long duration and result in loss of appetite, diarrhoea, and fever. The fluke can also cause obstruction of the bile duct and liver cirrhosis. In severe cases, the infection can result in chronic jaundice and eventually the higher occurrence of cholangiocarcinoma (cancer arising from bile duct cells). Clonorchis sinensis is recently classified as “carcinogenic to humans" (Group 1) .

Epidemiology

Infection of Clonorchis sinensis is endemic in Mainland China , Taiwan , Korea and some other countries and areas in Southeast Asia . It is roughly estimated that Clonorchis sinensis contributes to more than 80% of local human cases of enteric parasites. People are infected by consuming raw or undercooked freshwater fish containing metacercariae. More than 100 species of freshwater fish, mainly carp, e.g. grass carp and big head carp, can be affected by the fluke. High prevalence rate, up to more than 80%, was reported in grass carp in certain endemic regions. Dishes with freshwater fish eaten raw, undercooked, salted, pickled, or smoked may contribute to endemicity. One can hardly distinguish the affected fish or identify the infective metacercariae as they are too small for naked eyes. On the other hand, some freshwater shrimps can serve as second intermediate hosts for this fluke, but there is lack of epidemiological evidence on their association with human infections.

Apart from humans, cats, dogs, pigs and several other fish eating mammals are also susceptible to the infection. Dead freshwater fish may be used to feed animals in some regions and the metacercariae present can then be transmitted to these animals. Faeces from humans or animalscan help to disperse the eggs in the environment and water bodies, e.g. when the faeces are used as fertiliser or when toilets are built over fishponds in some rural aquaculture areas.

Prevention

Do not eat raw or undercooked freshwater fish. The ancient practice of eating Chinese Yu Sang (i.e. freshwater fish intended for raw consumption) has been prohibited for sale in Hong Kong for more than 30 years. One should also avoid such dish while travelling. Wine, vinegar, wasabi, mustard and spices cannot destroy parasites including the fluke. In particular, freshwater fish may be undercooked in some cases, such as during hotpot and congee cooking, or when the fish slices are too thick.


Freshwater fish, such as grass carp (above) and big head carp (below), should be cooked thoroughly before consumption.


Key Points to Note:


  1. Liver fluke, Clonorchis sinensis , is a known hazard associated with freshwater fish.
  2. Clonorchis sinensis can cause obstruction, inflammation and cancer of the biliary ducts in the liver.
  3. Eating raw or undercooked freshwater fish, especially carp, is the main cause of infection.

Advice to Consumers

  • Do not consume raw or undercooked freshwater fish.
  • Ensure freshwater fish is adequately cooked, especially during hotpot or congee cooking.
  • Always use separate utensils for handling raw food and ready-to-ea t food to avoid cross contamination.

Advice to the Trade

  • Chinese Yu Sang (raw freshwater fish) is prohibited for sale in Hong Kong . Do not supply Chinese Yu Sang for consumers.
  • Use separate utensils to handle raw food and ready-to-eat food to prevent cross-contamination.
  • Cut raw freshwater fish into thin slices to facilitate thorough cooking during hotpot and congee cooking.
  • Fish farmers should adopt Good Aquaculture Practice and do not use waterway that is contaminated by domestic or livestock sewage . Apply Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) system to control the risk of contamination of fish culture by parasites.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 19-11-2010

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點橫額

食物安全焦點(二零一零年十一月第五十二期) - 焦點個案

淡 水 魚 生 中 的 中 華 肝 吸 蟲

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任莊梓傑博士報告

本港傳媒在九月初報道過,在深圳與吃生或未經徹底煮熟的淡水魚有關的中華肝吸蟲感染率偏高一事。中華肝吸蟲是一種食源性寄生蟲,繼本刊早前探討這類寄生蟲後,現再作深入論述這種蟲。

傳播途徑與人類感染

中華肝吸蟲靠淡水池塘內的螺和魚傳播。人類或豬等其他受感染的哺乳類動物排出的蟲卵被淡水螺吃下,然後在其體內發育成為自由浮游形態(即尾動幼蟲)。尾動幼蟲在池塘內與魚皮接觸後會成為包囊形態,稱為囊狀幼蟲。人們吃下受感染的淡水魚後,囊狀幼蟲會在十二指腸破囊而出,遷移到肝臟內的膽管。囊狀幼蟲會在膽管內發育成蟲,然後產下蟲卵,蟲卵可隨膽汁進入糞便,繼續傳播周期。

感染小量中華肝吸蟲可全無症狀或只出現輕微症狀,但感染大量中華肝吸蟲則會令患者受到長期嚴重感染,引致食慾不振、腹瀉和發燒。此外,中華肝吸蟲亦會造成膽管梗阻和肝硬化,嚴重者可造成慢性黃疸,繼而較容易出現膽管癌(由膽管細胞引致的癌症)。國際癌症研究機構最近把中華肝吸蟲列為 "會令人患癌"(第一組)。

流行情況

中華肝吸蟲感染盛行於內地、台灣、韓國及東南亞國家和地區。根據粗略估計,本港的腸道寄生蟲感染個案超逾八成是由中華肝吸蟲所致。吃下含有囊狀幼蟲的生或未經徹底煮熟的淡水魚會令人感染中華肝吸蟲。超過100種淡水魚可感染到中華肝吸蟲,當中主要為鯉科魚類,例如鯇魚(草魚)及大頭(花鰱或鱅魚)。有報告指,個別流行地區的感染率偏高(逾八成)是由鯇魚所致。進食含有生、未經徹底煮熟、鹽漬、醃製或煙燻淡水魚的菜式可能會引致這種風土疾病。我們難以分辨出淡水魚是否感染了中華肝吸蟲,亦無法用肉眼看見可傳播中華肝吸蟲的細小囊狀幼蟲。另一方面,有些淡水蝦亦會是這種吸蟲的第二中間宿主,但目前並無流行病學證據證明牠們會令人感染中華肝吸蟲。

除了人類外,貓、狗、豬及數種以魚類為食物的哺乳類動物亦會感染中華肝吸蟲。有些地區可能會以死去的淡水魚來餵飼動物,其體內的囊狀幼蟲便會因而傳播給這些動物。人或動物的糞便可令蟲卵散播到環境和水中, 例如,用作肥料,又或如部分鄉村水產養殖區等把廁所建於魚塘上。

預防之道

切勿吃生或未經徹底煮熟的淡水魚。在本港傳統中式魚生(即供生吃的淡水魚)已被禁售超過30年,但是大家緊記在外遊時亦不應進食生的淡水魚。酒、醋、日式芥辣、黃芥辣及香料均不能殺死包括中華肝吸蟲在內的寄生蟲。如用作火鍋及粥品等食物配料時,又或魚片切得太厚時,雖特別注意淡水魚會否煮不熟。

鯇魚 ( 上 ) 及大頭(下)
鯇魚 ( 上 ) 及大頭(下)等淡水魚應徹底煮熟才進食。

 

注意要點:

 

  1. 中華肝吸蟲是淡水魚的已知風險因素。
  2. 中華肝吸蟲可令肝臟的膽管梗阻、發炎和出現癌症。
  3. 進食生或未經徹底煮熟的淡水魚,尤其是鯉科魚類,是感染中華肝吸蟲的主因。

給消費者的建議

  • 不應吃生或未經徹底煮熟的淡水魚。
  • 消費者應確保淡水魚徹底煮熟,特別是火鍋或粥品中的淡水魚。
  • 使用專門用具分開處理生的食物和即食食物,以防交叉感染。

給業界的建議

  • 本港禁售中式魚生(淡水魚魚生),業界不得向消費者供應中式魚生。
  • 使用專門用具分開處理生的食物和即食食物,以防交叉感染。
  • 把生的淡水魚切成薄片,以便徹底煮熟火鍋和粥品中的魚片。
  • 養魚戶應奉行良好水產養殖管理方案,切勿使用受家居或禽畜廢水污染的水道,並採用食物安全重點控制系統控制水產養殖活動受寄生蟲污染的風險。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 19-11-2010