Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety F°Cus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (39th Issue, October 2009) – Incident in Focus

Ethyl Carbamate and Alcohol

Reported by Dr. Anna S.P. TANG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Communication Section, Centre for Food Safety

      Last month, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) released the results of a study which examined the level of ethyl carbamate (EC) in local fermented foods and beverages. The study found that EC was present in varying amounts in different local fermented food and beverage items. In some alcoholic beverages such as yellow wine, sake and plum wine, relatively higher levels of EC were found. As a group, “alcoholic beverages” was identified as the main dietary source of EC for alcohol drinkers. In this article, we will talk more about alcohol in relation to EC.

What is EC?

      Ethyl carbamate also known as urethane, is a contaminant naturally formed in fermented foods and alcoholic beverages during the fermentation process or during storage. EC has also been used as human medicine which is now banned due to toxicological concerns and lack of effi cacy. Variable levels of EC have been found in different alcoholic beverages (Figure 1). For example, spirits, particularly those made from stone-fruits such as cherries, apricots or plums, usually contain higher amount of EC while beers contain low levels. EC levels can differ greatly between different types of alcoholic beverages e.g. the mean EC contents in fruit brandy in some reports were over 600 times that of beer.

Figure 1. Ethyl carbamate (EC) levels in various types of alcoholic beverages

#
Levels of EC drawn from a limited number of samples tested in the risk assessment study on Ethyl Carbamate in Local Fermented Foods conducted by the CFS
*
Levels of EC reported overseas (WHO Food and Nutrition Paper 82, 2006; EFSA, 2007)
@
Distilled spirits excluding fruit brandy

 

Formation of EC in Alcoholic Beverages

      Ethyl carbamate can be formed from various substances present in alcoholic beverages and their break-down products as a result of the fermentation process. These precursor substances, e.g. urea, cyanate and citrulline, react with ethanol to form EC in alcoholic beverages. The amount of EC formed depends on the key factors of light exposure and elevated temperature.

Health Effects of EC

      Public concerns regarding EC in foods are related to its potential to cause cancer in human. EC has been observed to cause various types of cancer in experimental animals. In 2007, the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) up-graded the classification of EC to Group 2A “probably carcinogenic to humans”.

      The Joint Food and Agriculture Organization/World Health Organization Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) evaluated EC in 2005. It concluded that intake of EC from foods excluding alcoholic beverages would be of low concern. However, dietary exposure to EC from both food and alcoholic beverage was of concern and measures to reduce concentrations of EC in some alcoholic beverages were recommended.

Key Points to Note

  • Public concerns regarding EC in foods are related to its potential to cause cancer in human.
  • Formation of EC in alcoholic beverages can be reduced significantly by keeping them at low light conditions and at lower temperatures e.g. at or below 20°C.
  • Members of the public should take a balanced diet and avoid overindulgence of alcoholic beverages.

Local Dietary Exposure to EC

      A risk assessment was conducted by the CFS based on the EC levels measured in our study and the preliminary consumption data of the Population based Food Consumption Survey 2005 - 2007. It was found that for the general population, dietary exposure to EC from consumption of fermented foods and beverages is unlikely to pose health concerns. However, health risk of EC cannot be ruled out for high consumers of alcoholic beverages, e.g. distilled spirits (>270mL/day), plum wine (>76mL/day), grape wine (>250mL/day) on a regular basis.

Reduce EC Levels in Alcoholic Beverages

      Formation of EC can be reduced significantly when alcoholic beverages are kept at low light conditions and at lower temperatures. During transport and storage, care should be taken to maintain the correct cold chain preferably at or below 20°C and critically not above 38°C. At the temperatures at which most wine cellars are maintained to keep the sensory properties and qualities of grape wine (i.e. below 20°C ), less increment in EC content is expected.

      The CFS has worked closely with the trade to devise the Guidelines on reducing the level of ethyl carbamate in alcoholic beverages during storage and transport which are applicable to importers, distributors, wholesalers and retailers of alcoholic beverages. Members of the trade should make efforts to reduce the level of EC in alcoholic beverages.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Manufacturers should follow Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP). Develop mitigation measures to reduce the levels of EC in alcoholic beverages, e.g. identifying and reducing the amount of precursors.
  2. Use proper containers to protect alcoholic beverages from light exposure.
  3. Importers, distributors, wholesalers and retailers should minimise heat and light exposure during transportation and storage of alcoholic beverages. Special care should be taken to maintain the correct cold chain preferably at or below 20°C, and critically not above 38°C.
  4. Obtain alcoholic beverages from reliable suppliers.
  5. Keep stock according to the first-in-first-out principle.

Advice to the Public

  1. Maintain a balanced diet. Avoid overindulgence of alcoholic beverages.
  2. Store alcoholic beverages in a cool place under low light conditions.
  3. Avoid stocking up excessive alcoholic beverages to minimise the duration of storage.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :23-10-2009

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零零九年十月第三十九期)-焦點個案

氨基甲酸乙酯與酒類

食物安全中心風險傳達組
科學主任鄧紹平博士報告

  食物安全中心(中心)在上個月公佈有關本地發酵食物和飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯檢測含量的研究結果。該項研究發現,不同的本地發酵食物和飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯含量不一,某些酒精飲品(如黃酒、日本清酒和梅酒)的氨基甲酸乙酯含量相對較高。此外,在研究涵蓋的各種類別中,“酒精飲品”是飲酒人士從膳食攝入氨基甲酸乙酯的主要來源。本文將會詳述酒類的氨基甲酸乙酯情況。

什麼是氨基甲酸乙酯?

  氨基甲酸乙酯又名尿烷,是發酵食物和酒精飲品在發酵或貯存過程中天然產生的污染物。氨基甲酸乙酯過去曾用於人類醫藥用途,但因為含有毒性且療效欠佳,現已禁用。不同的酒精飲品檢出的氨基甲酸乙酯含量不一(見圖1),例如烈酒(特別是由櫻桃、杏和梅等核果製造的烈酒)的含量一般較高,而啤酒的含量則偏低。不同種類的酒精飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯含量差異很大,例如過往研究報告中的水果拔蘭地氨基甲酸乙酯含量平均值達啤酒的600倍以上。

圖 1 各類酒精飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯含量

#   上述氨基甲酸乙酯含量數字來自中心進行的有關本地發酵食物含氨基甲酸乙酯的情况的風險評估研究所測試的有限樣本數目
*   其他國家的報告所載的氨基甲酸乙酯含量
@   蒸餾烈酒(不包括水果拔蘭地)

 

酒精飲品中氨基甲酸乙酯的產生

  酒精飲品中的各種物質及其分解物經發酵過程後均可產生氨基甲酸乙酯。這些前體物質(如尿素、氰酸酯和瓜氨酸)與乙醇發生化學作用,在酒精飲品中產生氨基甲酸乙酯,而產生的數量取決於光線和高溫兩大要素。

氨基甲酸乙酯對健康的影響

  食物內的氨基甲酸乙酯可能令人類患癌因而引起公眾的關注。實驗顯示,氨基甲酸乙酯可令實驗動物患上各類癌症。二零零七年,國際癌症研究機構把氨基甲酸乙酯重新分類為第 2A組(“可能令人類患癌的物質”)。

  聯合國糧食及農業組織/世界衞生組織聯合食品添加劑專家委員會(專家委員會)曾在二零零五年進行有關氨基甲酸乙酯的評估,認為經食物(不包括酒精飲品)攝入的氨基甲酸乙酯分量,對健康的影響不大,但經食物和酒精飲品攝入的氨基甲酸乙酯總量,則可能對健康構成潛在風險。專家委員會建議採取措施,減少一些酒精飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯含量。

注意要點

  • 食物內的氨基甲酸乙酯可能令人類患癌因而引起公眾的關注。
  • 把酒精飲品貯存在較暗和較低溫(如在攝氏20度或以下)的地方,可大大減低酒內產生氨基甲酸乙酯的分量。
  • 市民應保持均衡飲食,避免飲用過量酒精飲品。

本港市民從膳食攝入氨基甲酸乙酯的分量

  中心根據研究檢測到的氨基甲酸乙酯含量及二零零五至二零零七年香港市民食物消費量調查初步所得的消費量數據,進行一項風險評估。結果發現,一般市民從本地發酵食物和飲品攝入的氨基甲酸乙酯的分量對健康構成的風險不大。不過,對於長期飲用大量酒精飲品的消費者(如經常喝蒸餾烈酒[每日超過270毫升]、梅酒[每日超過76毫升]、葡萄酒[每日超過250毫升]的消費者),則不能排除因攝入較高分量的氨基甲酸乙酯而可能對健康構成風險。

減少酒精飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯含量

  把酒精飲品貯存在較暗和較低溫的地方,可大大減低氨基甲酸乙酯含量。業界在運送及貯存酒精飲品期間,應注意保持正確的低溫環境,盡量維持溫度於攝氏20度或以下,切勿超過攝氏38度。為保持葡萄酒的感官特質和品質,大部分酒窖的溫度都保持在攝氏20度以下,這個溫度應可減低酒內產生氨基甲酸乙酯的幅度。

  中心與業界緊密合作,一同制訂了有關在貯存及運送期間減少酒精飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯含量的指引。該指引適用於酒精飲品的進口商、分銷商、批發商和零售商。業界應努力減少酒精飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯含量。

給業界的建議

  1. 製造商應遵守優良製造規範。制定緩解措施,以減少酒精飲品的氨基甲酸乙酯含量,例如確定和減少氨基甲酸乙酯前體的分量。
  2. 使用合適的容器貯存酒精飲品,避免光線照射。
  3. 進口商、分銷商、批發商及零售商在運送和貯存酒精飲品時,應盡量避免飲品暴露在高溫和強光下,注意保持正確的低溫環境,盡量維持溫度於攝氏20度或以下,切勿超過攝氏38度。
  4. 向可靠的供應商採購酒精飲品。
  5. 以先入先出的原則處理存貨。

給市民的建議

  1. 保持均衡飲食,切勿偏食,避免飲用過量酒精飲品。
  2. 把酒精飲品貯存在陰涼及較暗的地方。
  3. 避免積存過多酒精飲品,盡量縮短貯存時間。
    上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
     
    最近修訂日期 : 23 -10-2009