Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (34th Issue, May 2009) – Incident in Focus

Review of Food Incidents in 2008

Reported by Dr. Benjamin FUNG, Medical Officer,
Risk Management Section, Centre for Food Safety

The rapid global distribution of food and the multinational nature of the modern food chain require effective communications and management systems for the effective control of food incidents which almost happen daily around the world. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) since its establishment in May 2006 has developed a Food Incident Surveillance system (FIS) to monitor food incidents around the world. The system is effective for the CFS to make prompt management decision in response to those incidents that would have local impact.

Food Incident Surveillance

The CFS conducts daily surveillance of the media and internet for information related to food safety. Once a food incident is identified, the CFS will prepare a risk profile of the identified hazard and assess its health risk. Based on the result of the risk assessment, the CFS will take appropriate actions to follow up the incident, which may include enquiring relevant authorities for further information of the affected products, alerting traders, conducting sales check, stepping up surveillance, and issuing press release as well as Food Alert.

Review of Food Incidents in 2008

General Trend

From January to December 2008, around 700 food incidents were identified by the CFS. The average monthly figure was 59. (Figure 1).

Figure 1

Origin of Food Incidents

Non-local food incidents reported in areas such as the Mainland and Taiwan , USA and European countries contributed to most (98%) of the food incidents identified. Local food incidents constituted about 2%.

Food Groups Involved

With regard to the food groups involved, food incidents related to vegetable, bean, cereal, fruit and their products were the commonest (24%). The other major food groups involved were meat and poultry (20%), aquatic products (11%) and snacks (9%) (Figure 2).

Figure 2

Hazards Identified

From Figure 3, it is obvious that among the three categories of food hazards, chemicals (e.g. preservatives, pesticides, colouring matters, sweeteners, heavy metals) were the commonest hazards identified (43%) followed by microbiological hazards (36%) (e.g. bacteria, virus). The proportion of physical hazards (e.g. metal pieces, glass fragments) was 8%.

Figure 3

N.B. Add-ups may not be equal to 100% due to rounding.

Actions Taken

Depending on the public health risk of the food incidents, the CFS had taken various follow-up actions. In 2008, about 190 alerts to traders (about 46% increase from 2007) and some 100 press releases (about 230% increase from 2007) were issued. The increase of alerts and press releases was mainly attributed to the incident related to melamine contamination of dairy products in the Mainland.

In 2008, the detection of melamine in infant formula and dairy products in the Mainland had caused major public concern. An expert group was swiftly set up by the Government to give advice on and provide support to various management actions. The CFS had taken prompt responses to step up surveillance of infant formula and dairy products available in the market and to inform the public of the results of analysis in a timely manner through various channels. A designated hotline was established to answer public enquiries related to the incident. In addition, the Harmful Substances in Food (Amendment) Regulation 2008 was also gazetted in September to set the legal limits of melamine in foods. Through these measures, the CFS was able to minimise the public health impact of this incident.

Conclusions

Most of the food incidents identified by our monitoring system involved places outside Hong Kong. As some 95% of our food are imported, traders should ensure their foods are sourced from reliable suppliers. Besides, traders should keep relevant transaction records to facilitate tracing and removal of the affected products from the market. The CFS will continue to make timely announcement to the public and the trade in case the food incidents identified have significant potential local impact. In addition to Government efforts, active participation of the food trade is also essential in managing food safety incidents in Hong Kong .

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :21-05-2009

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印

食物安全焦點(二零零九年五月第三十四期)- 焦點個案

二零零八年食物事故回顧

食物安全中心
風險管理組
馮永輝醫生報告

由於食物迅速分銷往世界各地和現代食物鏈具有跨國特性,我們必須設立有效的溝通及管理系統,才可有效監控幾乎每天在世界各地發生的食物事故。食物安全中心(中心)自二零零六年五月成立以來,已推行食物事故監察系統監察世界各地的食物事故。這個系統十分有效,讓中心可就會對本港有影響的食物事故作出果斷的管理決定。

食物事故監察

中心每天監察傳媒及互聯網,以取得有關食物安全的資訊。一旦發現食物事故,中心會就所發現的危害擬備風險簡介,評估其對健康造成的風險,並根據風險評估的結果,採取適當行動跟進事故。這些行動可能包括向有關當局索取更多有關問題食品的資料;向業界發出警報;了解食物有否在本港出售;加強監察;以及發出新聞公報和食物警報。

二零零八年食物事故回顧

一般趨勢

由二零零八年一月至十二月,中心一共發現約700宗食物事故,每月平均為59宗(見圖一)。

圖一

食物事故的源頭地

在發現的食物事故中,由非本港(如內地及台灣、美國和歐洲國家)報告的食物事故佔絕大部分(98%),本港食物事故則約為2%。

涉及的食物種類

以食物種類而言,食物事故最常涉及蔬菜、豆類、穀類、水果和其製品(24%),其他主要食物類別則有肉類和家禽(20%)、水產(11%)及零食(9%)(見圖二)。

圖二

 

發現的危害

我們從圖三中明顯看出,在三種食物危害中,最常見的是化學物(43%)(例如防腐劑、除害劑、染色料、甜味劑和重金屬),其次則為微生物危害(36%)(例如細菌和病毒)。至於物理危害(例如金屬和玻璃碎片),則佔8%。

圖三

註:由於分項數字採用四捨五入方法計算,故總和未必等於 100%。

中心採取的行動

 視乎食物事故對市民健康構成的風險,中心會採取不同的跟進行動。二零零八年,中心一共向業界發出約190則警報(較二零零七年上升約46%),又向公眾發出100多則新聞公報(較二零零七年上升約230%)。增發的警報和新聞公報主要是由於內地發生三聚氰胺污染奶製品的事故所致。

二零零八年,內地嬰兒配方奶粉及奶製品驗出含三聚氰胺,引起市民極大關注。政府旋即成立專家小組,以便小組成員就各項管理措施提供意見和支援。中心亦因應事故立即加強監察市面上的嬰兒配方奶粉及奶製品,又透過不同途徑向市民適時公布分析結果,更設立熱線專門解答市民對此事的查詢。此外,政府於九月在憲報刊登《2008年食物內有害物質(修訂)規例》,制定食物中三聚氰胺的法定上限。透過上述各項措施,中心已有效減低這次事故對市民健康造成的影響。

結語

經中心監察系統發現的食物事故,大部分都不是源於本港的。由於本港約95%食物是進口的,業界應確保其食物來自可靠的供應商。此外,業界應保留有關的交易記錄,以便追查並從市面上撤回問題食物。一旦發現食物事故可能對本港有重大影響,中心將繼續向市民和業界作出適時公布。除了政府的努力外,食物業的積極參與在處理本港食物安全事故的工作上亦至為重要。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 21-05-2009