Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Previous ArticleNext Article

Food Safety Focus (130th Issue, May 2017) – Food Safety Platform

Bacteria in Raw Meat vs Cooked Meat

Reported by Dr. Fiona FONG, Research Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Recently, bacterial contamination of meat has attracted public attention. According to the World Health Organization, contamination of food by microbiological agents is a worldwide public health concern; and most countries have documented significant increases over the past few decades in the incidence of diseases caused by microorganisms in food. In this article, we will introduce some factors that determine the growth of bacteria in food, and discuss the different food safety considerations for bacteria in raw meat and cooked meat and the measures to reduce risks of food poisoning caused by bacteria.

Factors Determining the Growth of Bacteria in Food
Bacteria grow best when intrinsic and extrinsic properties are optimal for their growth. Intrinsic properties are the properties that are inherent parts of the food, such as pH and water activity, while extrinsic properties are the properties of the environment in which the food is stored, such as temperature. Water activity is not the same as the moisture content of the food but is a measure, ranging from 0 to 1, of the availability of water in food which determines the growth and survival of bacteria. By controlling these factors (e.g. controlling the storage temperature of the food), bacterial overgrowth can be prevented.

Bacteria in Raw Meat
Fresh meat is a highly nutritious substrate with water activity of about 0.99, meaning that it is suitable for the growth of most microorganisms. Raw meat in general contains bacteria, including pathogenic and spoilage ones. As warm-blooded animals naturally carry bacteria such as Salmonella spp. in their intestines, raw meat may be contaminated with bacteria during the slaughtering process such as evisceration and dressing procedures. In addition, the equipment and tools used in the processes, the hands and clothing of personnel as well as the environment may also contaminate the meat with bacteria.

Raw meat should be cooked thoroughly before consumption.
Raw meat should be cooked thoroughly before consumption.

Meat has potential to carry foodborne pathogens that can cause illness and lead to food safety problems. These pathogenic bacteria are able to invade our bodies or produce toxins to cause illness. They cannot be seen or smelled on the meat, but can generally be killed by normal cooking conditions (i.e. cooking to a core temperature of at least 75°C instantaneously or other effective time/ temperature combinations).

Pathogenic bacteria may need to compete with other bacterial flora (e.g. spoilage bacteria) for growth on the meat. Certain pathogenic bacteria such as Staphylococcus aureus are relatively poor competitors and may be outgrown by other flora. Spoilage bacteria will cause food to deteriorate or lose quality by developing a bad odour or feeling sticky on the outside of the meat, signs that consumers would normally notice. These spoilage bacteria are normally not harmful, however, when consumed in very large numbers, they can cause gastrointestinal disturbance. Consumers should throw away the meat that shows any signs of food spoilage.

Bacteria in Cooked Meat
As mentioned above, thorough cooking can generally destroy most bacteria on raw meat, including pathogenic ones. Nevertheless, if there are subsequent lapses in food safety practices, food poisoning may still occur. To start with, raw meat may be contaminated with spores of certain pathogenic bacteria (e.g. Clostridium perfringens) and spores are not readily destroyed by normal cooking temperature. Heat of cooking can rather activate the spores to germinate and develop into vegetative cells which can multiply rapidly in foods that are placed at ambient temperature for a long period. Consuming foods that contain high levels of Clostridium perfringens vegetative cells may lead to foodborne illness.

In addition, pathogenic bacteria may be introduced into the ready-to-eat cooked meat through cross-contamination and multiply to larger amount as a result of time and temperature abuse of the food, causing foodborne illness in consumers.

Measures to Reduce Risks of Food Poisoning Caused by Bacteria
To prevent food poisoning, raw meat should be cooked thoroughly before consumption. The ready-to-eat cooked meat should be discarded if it has been held at room temperature for more than 4 hours. If the cooked meat is held at room temperature for less than 2 hours, it can be refrigerated for final use later or used before the 4 hours limit is up.

Moreover, good hygienic practices should be observed. Hands, cutting boards, knives, and other utensils should be washed thoroughly after touching raw meat. Measures should be adopted to the prevention of cross contamination between raw meat and ready-to-eat foods including cooked meat, e.g. using one cutting board for ready-to-eat foods and a separate one for raw meat.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-05-2017

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
上一篇文章下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一七年五月第一百三十期)- 食物安全平台

生肉與熟肉中的細菌

食物安全中心
風險評估組
研究主任方朗茵博士報告

近日,肉類受細菌污染的問題備受市民關注。根據世界衞生組織表示,食物受微生物污染是全球關注的公共衞生議題,大部分國家均有記錄顯示,在過去數十年,由食物中的微生物所引致的疾病事故大幅增加。我們將會在本文介紹一些令食物滋生細菌的因素,並探討生肉及熟肉中的細菌所涉及的不同食物安全考慮,以及就降低由細菌引致食物中毒風險所採取的措施。

令食物滋生細菌的因素
當內在及外在特性有利細菌滋生,細菌的生長情況便最理想。內在特性是指食物固有部分的特性(例如酸鹼度及水活性),而外在特性是指貯存食物的環境特性(例如溫度)。水活性與食物的水分含量並不相同。水活性是用作量度食物中的自由水分子(數值由0至1不等),以決定細菌的生長及生存狀況。透過控制這些因素(例如控制食物的貯存溫度)便能防止細菌在食物中大量繁殖。

生肉中的細菌
鮮肉營養豐富,其水活性為約0.99,適合大部分微生物生長。生肉一般含有細菌,包括致病細菌及腐敗細菌。由於細菌(例如沙門氏菌)可存在於溫血動物的腸道內,在屠宰過程(例如去臟及處理屠體程序)中,生肉或會受細菌污染。此外,在屠宰過程中所使用的儀器及工具、處理人員的雙手及衣物,以及環境亦可能令肉類被細菌污染。

生肉應徹底烹煮後才進食
生肉應徹底烹煮後才進食

肉類有機會帶有食源性致病菌,可令人患病,並引致食物安全問題。這些致病細菌可以入侵人體,或產生毒素因而令人患病。這些細菌在肉類上無色無臭,但正常的烹煮情況(即食物中心部分的溫度至少達到攝氏75度,或其他有效的時間與溫度組合來烹煮)一般能殺死細菌。

肉類上,致病細菌或需與其他菌群(例如腐敗細菌)競爭生長。部分致病細菌(例如金黃葡萄球菌)的競爭力較弱,生長情況或會遠遜於其他菌群。腐敗細菌可令肉類變壞或品質變差,肉類會產生異味或表面出現黏膩感等特徵,易被消費者察覺。腐敗細菌通常無害,但若大量攝入,也會令人腸胃不適。消費者一旦發現肉類有任何腐壞特徵,便應棄掉。

熟肉中的細菌
一如上文所述,通過徹底烹煮一般能消滅生肉中的大部分細菌,包括致病細菌。然而,若其後的食物安全措施稍有不足,仍有機會發生食物中毒。首先,生肉或會被某些致病細菌(例如產氣莢膜梭狀芽孢桿菌)的孢子污染,而該些孢子在一般烹煮溫度下不會輕易被消滅。烹煮的熱力反而誘發孢子發芽,成為繁殖細胞,在長時間放置在室溫下的食物中迅速繁殖。進食產氣莢膜梭狀芽孢桿菌繁殖細胞含量高的食物可導致食源性疾病。

此外,即食熟肉或會透過交叉污染被致病細菌污染。若貯存熟肉的溫度及時間不當,細菌便可大量繁殖,消費者進食後可能會患上食源性疾病。

減低食物中毒風險應採取的措施
為防止食物中毒,生肉應徹底煮熟後才進食。若即食熟肉放置於室溫下超過四小時,便應棄掉。若熟肉放置於室溫下少於兩小時,可放入雪櫃待用或在總時限四小時內食用。

此外,必須遵從優良的衞生規範。接觸生肉後,應徹底清潔雙手、砧板、刀及其他用具。人們亦應採取措施慎防生肉與即食食品(包括熟肉)交叉污染(例如使用一塊砧板處理即食食品,另一塊砧板處理生肉)。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 17-05-2017