Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (119th Issue, June 2016) – Incident in Focus

Truthful Nutrition Labels Help Make Informed Food Choice

Reported by Mr. Nicky HO, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

Recently, certain products were found non-compliant with the nutrition labelling scheme. Since the nutrition labelling scheme came into force on 1 July 2010, the compliance rate of the nutrition labelling of prepackaged food is over 98%. Among the non-compliant products, most of them were found to contain incomplete nutrition label or were identified to have discrepancies between the nutrient contents and the declared value on their nutrition labels. This article talks about the public health importance of the nutrition labelling scheme and consumers’ right to make informed healthy choice.

Nutrition Labelling Scheme

To assist consumers in making informed food choices and encourage food manufacturers to apply sound nutrition principles in formulation of foods, a mandatory nutrition labelling scheme had been developed and came into force on 1 July 2010. This scheme defines the need for general prepackaged food to provide nutrition labels, with standardised format and content. Subject to statutory exemptions, information on energy and seven specified nutrients (i.e. “1+7”) are required on food labels.

The seven specified nutrients are protein, carbohydrates, total fat, saturated fat, trans fat, sodium and sugars. Protein, carbohydrates, and fats are the three main groups of macro-nutrients that provide energy and are the building blocks of human body. Saturated fat and trans fat are two sub-sets of total fat, excessive consumption of which may increase the risks of developing coronary heart disease and strokes. Sugars (sub-sets of carbohydrates) provide energy for the body, but excessive intake can lead to dental caries and obesity, which is a major risk factor for a number of chronic diseases, including diabetes, cardiovascular diseases (CVDs) and cancer. Sodium is a mineral required for nerve transmission and muscle contraction, but excessive intake can lead to hypertension, and possibly life-threatening CVDs.

Accurate and truthful nutrition labels help consumer choose food with lower saturated fat, trans fat, sodium and sugars contents, so as to prevent developing associated health problems (see Figure).

Nutrients in food and their associated health problems
Nutrients in food and their associated health problems

In order to regulate misleading or deceptive claims, the nutrition labelling scheme also stipulates specified conditions for nutrition claims. There are three main types of nutrition claims: nutrient content claim, nutrient comparative claim, and nutrient function claim.

Regulation for Formula Products and Foods for Infants and Young Children

To better protect the health of infants and young children, the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) (Amendment) (No. 2) Regulation 2014 (the Amendment Regulation) expanded its scope and came into force on 13 June 2016. The Amendment Regulation comprises requirements on nutritional composition of infant formula and nutrition labelling of infant formula, follow-up formula and prepackaged foods for infants and young children.

Accurate and Truthful Nutrition Label

The nutrition information of foods can be obtained by either direct chemical analysis of food samples or indirect nutrient analysis based on calculation. Sometimes, the nutrition information of foods may be obtained from manufacturers or suppliers.

If members of the trade choose to use indirect nutrient analysis to estimate the content of nutrients in the food products, they should be aware of the limitations of indirect nutrient analysis. The trade has the onus to ensure the accuracy and suitability of the data and the method used. Compliance with the regulation on nutrition labelling would be assessed by laboratory analysis. So, the trade is encouraged to engage laboratory testing to verify their nutrition label declarations.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Nutrition labelling scheme covers the whole range of food from infants to adults.
  2. Nutrition label provides nutrition information of food products and assists consumers in making informed food choices.
  3. Accurate and truthful nutrition labels help consumers choose food with lower saturated fat, trans fat, sodium and sugars contents, so as to prevent developing associated health problems.

Advice to Consumers

  • Use nutrition labels to choose prepackaged food with lower saturated fat, trans fat, sodium and sugars contents.
  • Nutrition claims are only quick reference. Consumers are encouraged to read the nutrition label to understand the overall nutritional property of the food product for making healthy food choices.

Advice to the Trade

  • Provide accurate information on food labels.
  • Ensure that the nutrition information obtained from manufacturers and suppliers is accurate and truthful.
  • Consider to engage laboratory testing to verify their nutrition label declarations.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-06-2016

多媒體資料庫>>刊物>>食物安全焦點 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦點橫額
回到主頁
下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一六年六月第一百一十九期)-焦點個案

準確的營養標籤:知情選購食物

食物安全中心
風險評估組
科學主任何國偉先生報告

最近市面上有食品被發現不符合營養資料標籤制度的規定。營養資料標籤制度自二零一零年七月一日實施以來,逾98%的預先包裝食物均符合規定。不符合規定的產品大都是營養標籤資料不全或實際營養素含量與營養標籤所示的含量有差異。本文將探討營養資料標籤制度對公眾健康的重要性及消費者選購食物的知情權。

營養資料標籤制度

為幫助消費者作出知情的食物選擇,並鼓勵食物製造商提供符合營養準則的食品,政府於二零一零年七月一日起實施營養資料標籤制度,強制規定一般預先包裝食物必須加上標準格式及內容的營養標籤。除法定豁免外,食物標籤上須提供有關能量及七種指定營養素(即所謂“1+7”)的資料。

七種指定營養素分別是蛋白質、碳水化合物、總脂肪、飽和脂肪、反式脂肪、鈉及糖。當中蛋白質、碳水化合物及脂肪屬於三大常量營養素,可提供能量和構成人體組織。飽和脂肪及反式脂肪屬於總脂肪項下的兩個細類,過量攝入會增加罹患冠心病和中風的風險。糖是碳水化合物項下的細類,可為身體提供能量,但過量攝入可引致蛀牙和肥胖症,而肥胖症是糖尿病、心血管疾病和癌症等多種慢性疾病的主要成因。鈉是人體必需的礦物質,是神經傳送和肌肉收縮的必需元素,但過量攝入可引致高血壓,甚至可致命的心血管疾病。

準確無誤的營養標籤有助消費者選擇飽和脂肪、反式脂肪、鈉和糖含量較低的食物,從而防止身體出現相關的健康問題(見圖)。

食物中的營養素及相關的健康問題
食物中的營養素及相關的健康問題

為規管具誤導性或具欺騙性的聲稱,營養資料標籤制度還規定營養聲稱必須符合一些特定條件。營養聲稱可分為三大類:營養素含量聲稱、營養素比較聲稱及營養素功能聲稱。

對嬰幼兒配方產品和食物的規管

為加強保障嬰幼兒的健康,擴大規管範圍的《2014年食物及藥物(成分組合及標籤)(修訂)(第2號)規例》已於二零一六年六月十三日起全面生效,涵蓋嬰兒配方產品的營養成分組合,以及嬰兒配方產品、較大嬰兒及幼兒配方產品及預先包裝嬰幼兒食物的營養標籤。

確保營養標籤準確無誤

業界可透過對食物樣本進行直接化學分析或通過計算方法進行間接營養素分析去取得食物的營養資料。有時食物的營養資料亦可從食物製造商或供應商方面得悉。

如業界選用間接營養素分析來估算食品的營養素含量,應首先對這種方法的局限有所了解。業界有責任採取恰當的分析方法,以確保營養標籤上的數據準確無誤。當局會根據化驗分析結果,評定營養標籤是否符合有關規例。因此,業界宜進行化驗分析來核證營養標籤上的數值。

注意要點:

  1. 營養資料標籤制度規管範圍廣泛,涵蓋嬰兒至成人階段的食品。
  2. 營養標籤提供食物的營養資料,讓消費者在選購食物時能作出知情的選擇。
  3. 準確無誤的營養標籤有助消費者選擇飽和脂肪、反式脂肪、鈉和糖含量較低的食物,從而防止身體出現相關的健康問題。

給消費者的建議

  • 善用營養標籤選擇飽和脂肪、反式脂肪、鈉和糖含量較低的預先包裝食物。
  • 營養聲稱只可作快速參考之用,消費者應查看營養標籤去了解食品的整體營養成分,從而選擇較健康的食物。

給業界的建議

  • 在食物標籤上提供準確的資料。
  • 確保食物製造商和供應商所提供的營養資料準確無誤。
  • 考慮進行化驗分析以驗證營養標籤上的資料是否準確。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 15-06-2016