Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (6th Issue, January 2007) – Food Safety Platform

Preservatives in Food

Reported by Mr. Johnny CHU, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Food is a perishable commodity. If not kept properly, it may support growth of a variety of microorganisms such as bacteria, yeasts and moulds. The growth of these microorganisms causes spoilage of food. Occasionally, pathogenic microorganisms and/or their toxic secretions may also be present in food, consumption of which may lead to harmful effects on human health.

Preserving techniques to keep food fresh or palatable have a very long history. Since ancient times, it has been necessary to keep supplies of harvested food edible over unfavourable periods such as winter, rainy periods and drought. As such, a number of preserving methods had been invented to cope with the need. These include boiling, drying, smoking, salting and the use of preservatives.

What are Preservatives?

Preservatives serve as antimicrobials which prevent or slow down the growth of moulds, yeasts and bacteria. In Middle Ages, saltpetre was used to preserve meat. Nowadays, nitrite, the active ingredient in saltpetre, is used for curing bacon and ham. Benzoic acid, sulphur dioxide, sorbic acid and propionic acid are other examples of preservatives. Some of these chemicals are natural. For example, benzoic acid is a natural constituent in plums, cranberries and cloves and propionic acid occurs naturally in some cheeses.

Table 1: Some common preservatives, their primary functions and applications

Preservatives

Target Organism(s)

Examples of Application(s) in Food

Sulphite

Yeasts and bacteria

Dehydrated fruits and vegetables, sausages

Nitrite

Bacteria

Bacon

Propionic acid

Moulds

Bread

Sorbic acid

Moulds

Cheeses, wines

Benzoic acid

Yeasts and moulds

Soft drinks, ketchup

By preventing the growth of moulds, yeasts and bacteria, preservatives can improve the safety of food as well as prevent the wastage of seasonal surplus by making it last longer on the shelf or in the fridge.

Are Preservatives Safe?

All preservatives must go through rigorous safety assessment and approval procedures. They are permitted for food use only when they are proved to present no hazard to the health at the level of use proposed.

Although many allergic reactions to foods are caused by natural food ingredients such as milk, fish and peanuts, some are caused by food additives such as sulphur dioxide. Sulphur dioxide is used as preservative in a wide range of foods, in particular soft drinks, sausages, dried fruits and vegetables.

Nitrite is mainly used in sausages, ham, bacon and pickled meat to inhibit the growth of Clostridium botulinum. Accidental intake of large amount of nitrite can cause a kind of blood disorder called methaemoglobinaemia. Ingested nitrite, in the presence of protein substances in the stomach, may form N-nitroso compounds, which have been shown to be probable human carcinogen and may increase the risk of stomach cancer. Nitrite also occurs naturally in food like cereals and vegetables.

If consumers have balanced diets, exposure to a specific chemical will be lowered and so is the risk.

Some consumers are still concerned about the safety of some preservatives such as nitrite and sulphur dioxide. To address their concern and enable those who may be allergic to specific preservatives to identify and avoid them, the presence of food additives (i.e. including preservatives) in prepackaged food available in Hong Kong must be identified by their names or identification numbers on the label of the food after July 2007.

How are Preservatives Regulated in Hong Kong ?

The Preservatives in Food Regulations, Cap. 132BD (the Regulations) stipulate which preservatives are permitted for food use and their maximum levels in specified foods . At present, there are a total of 12 permitted preservatives and 91 specified foods in the Regulations.

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) is currently reviewing the Regulations and has issued a consultation paper on the subject. The consultation paper and details of public consultation forums are available at the CFS website .

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date :08-04-2008

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦點 友善列印




食物安全焦點(二零零七年一月第六期)-食物安全平台

食物中的防腐劑

食物安全中心風險評估組
科學主任朱源强先生報告

食物是容易腐爛的物品,如果沒有妥善保存,可能會助長細菌、酵母菌和霉菌等不同微生物滋長,繼而令食物腐壞。此外,致病微生物及/或其有毒分泌物偶爾亦可能會存在於食物中,人們吃下這些東西可能會對健康有害。

使用防腐技術保持食物新鮮美味已有長久的歷史。自遠古以來,人類需要保存食物在天氣欠佳時 ( 例如冬季、雨天和乾旱的日子 ) 仍可食用,多種防腐方法因此應運而生。這些方法包括烹煮、風乾、煙薰、醃製和使用防腐劑。

何謂防腐劑?

防腐劑屬於抗菌劑,旨在防止或減慢霉菌、酵母菌和細菌滋長。人們在中世紀已利用硝石保存肉類,時至今日,則使用硝石中的活性成分亞硝酸鹽加工處理煙肉和火腿。至於其他防腐劑例子,還有苯甲酸、二氧化硫、山梨酸和丙酸,當中有些天然存在於某些食物中,例如苯甲酸是布冧、越橘和丁香中的天然成分,而丙酸則自然存在於部分芝士中。

表一﹕ 常見防腐劑、其主要作用及應用

防腐劑

針對生物

應用於食物的例子

亞硫酸鹽

酵母菌和細菌

脫水蔬果、香腸

亞硝酸鹽

細菌

煙肉

丙酸

霉菌

麵包

山梨酸

霉菌

芝士、酒

苯甲酸

酵母菌和霉菌

汽水、茄汁

防腐劑防止霉菌、酵母菌和細菌滋長,能夠提高食物的安全,並讓食物可在貨架上或雪櫃內存放更久,從而避免浪費剩餘的季節性食物。

防腐劑安全嗎?

所有防腐劑均須通過嚴格的安全評估和審批程序。只有在證明建議使用量不會危害消費者健康的情況下,當局才會准許在食物使用防腐劑。

雖然許多由食物引起的過敏反應都是由奶類、魚類和花生等天然食物配料所致,但有時亦會由二氧化硫等食物添加劑引起。二氧化硫在多種食物( 尤其是汽水、香腸、乾果和菜乾 )中用作防腐劑。

亞硝酸鹽主要用於香腸、火腿、煙肉和醃肉,以抑制肉毒桿菌滋長。意外攝取大量亞硝酸鹽可引致一種名為 “ 正鐵血紅蛋白血症 ” 的血液病症。攝入的亞硝酸鹽結合胃部中的蛋白物質,可能會形成 N- 亞硝基化合物。研究顯示,這種化合物屬於可能令人類患癌的物質,並可能增加患胃癌的風險。此外,亞硝酸鹽亦自然存在於穀類和蔬菜等食物中。

如消費者保持均衡飲食,便可以降低因偏食少種類食物引致過量攝入個別化學物的機會及其引致的風險。

有些消費者仍然關注亞硝酸鹽和二氧化硫等防腐劑的安全。為回應這些關注,以及使可能對某些防腐劑敏感的消費者能夠識別和迴避這些物質,由二零零七年七月起,本港市面上的預先包裝食物必須在標籤上 標示 當中的食物添加劑( 包括防腐劑 )名稱或識別編號

本港如何規管防腐劑?

在《食物內防腐劑規例》( 第 132BD 章 )列明 那些防腐劑獲准在食物使用及其在指明食物中的最高含量 。目前,該規例一共載列了 12 種准許防腐劑和 91 種指明食物。

食物安全中心( 中心 )現正檢討該規例,並已就此事發表諮詢文件。有關文件及公眾諮詢會詳情見 中心網頁

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 08-04-2008