Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Banner

Purchasing high-risk foods online or bring them from other places into Hong Kong

Recently, there have been growing concerns about the safety of foods that have been imported through e-trade or brought into Hong Kong by travellers from other places. The Centre for Food Safety reminds the trade and the public that food safety principles should be applied to importing high-risk foods, regardless of their types and sources.

Identifying high-risk foods and the risks

Milk, gravy, any foods containing eggs, meat, poultry, seafood as ingredients (such as sandwiches, ham, sushi, custard, dairy-based desserts, etc.), and prepared fruits and vegetables (such as salads) are high-risk foods because they provide a place for bacteria to grow and multiply quickly and are ready-to-eat foods (i.e. foods that don't need any further cooking). Under suitable temperature (i.e. from 4°C to 60°C, regarded as temperature danger zone), bacteria can multiply very quickly on high-risk foods; their number can double every 10 to 20 minutes. When some pathogenic bacteria multiply to a certain amount, they can cause food poisoning. Temperature control is especially important for high-risk foods. People who purchase high-risk foods online or bring them from other places into Hong Kong need to make sure the products can be kept in safe temperature during the transportation as instructed by the food sellers or suppliers.

How to keep high-risk foods safe for consumption ?

High-risk foods must be

  • Protected from contamination with pathogens; and
  • Stored at refrigerated (i.e. at or below 4°C) temperature or frozen (at or below -18°C) temperature along the whole food production/ supply chain.

Advice to the Trade

  • The importers should verify that their overseas suppliers have proper controls (e.g. implementing HACCP food safety management system) in place to ensure that the imported high-risk foods are fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards.
  • The importers should ensure that high-risk foods are stored at appropriate temperature throughout the whole supply chain .

Advice to the public

  • Patronise reliable food premises especially for high-risk foods.
  • When bringing or order high-risk foods from other places into Hong Kong, keep them within the temperatures stated on the instruction, check and observe the use-by dates on food products .
  • Throw out any high-risk foods that have been left in the temperature danger zone for more than four hours.
   
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 25-08-2015

风险传达>>主题项目>>食物安全专页 友善列印

横额

网上购买或从外地携带高风险食品到香港

最近,网购食品 及旅客从外地带返香港的食品的安全性日益受到关注。食物安全中心提醒业界和市民,进口高风险食品,不论是什么类型或来源,均应紧记食物安全原则。

识别高风险食品及其风险

牛奶、肉汁、以蛋、肉、家禽、海鲜为配料的食物如三文治、火腿、寿司、奶黄、奶类甜点等)及预先准备好的水果和蔬菜(如沙律)都属于高风险食品,因为这些食物为细菌提供了生长和繁殖的环境,并且不需要烹煮便可立即食用。在合适的温度(即从4℃到60℃的危险温度范围),细菌可以在高风险食品内迅速繁殖,数量每10至20分钟便增加一倍。当一些致病细菌繁殖至一定的数量,便能引起食物中毒。温度控制对高风险食品尤为重要。从网上购买或从外地携带高风险食品返港,须要确保产品能够在运输过程中按食品销售商或供应商的指示,保存在安全的温度。

如何保证高风险食品可安全食用?

高风险食品必须

  • 免受病原体污染;以及
  • 在整个食品生产/供应链贮存在冷冻温度即4℃或以下)或冷藏温度即-18℃或以下)。

给业界的建议

  • 进口商应确保其海外供应商有适当的控制措施(如实施食物安全重点控制(HACCP)管理系统),以确保所进口的高风险食物适宜供人食用,并符合法定标准。
  • 进口商应确保高风险食品在整个供应链均存放于适当的温度。
给市民的建议
  • 购买食物,尤其是高风险食品时应光顾可靠的店铺。
  • 从外地携带或订购高风险食品进入香港时,应将食品存放于产品指示的温度范围,并检查及遵守食用期限。
  • 弃掉任何已留在危险温度四个小时或以上的高风险食品。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 25-08-2015