Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly


Food Safety Focus (53rd Issue, December 2010) – Incident in Focus

Food Safety Responses in case of a Nuclear Event

Reported by Ms. Shuk-man CHOW, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

Although the chance of off-site emergency is remote at Daya Bay Power Station, which locates in neighbouring Shenzhen, the HKSAR Government is prudent to have established a comprehensive Daya Bay Contingency Plan (DBCP) to address any potential possibilities of such an event as emergency preparedness. The DBCP encompasses responses from all involved government departments and will be activated in response to defined mechanisms. In this article, we introduce the food safety responses in case of a nuclear incident affecting the areas far away from the site.

Food Safety Issues in a Nuclear Event

In the unlikely event of nuclear incident, there would be a chance of accidental discharge of radioactive materials to the environment from civil (e.g. nuclear power stations) nuclear operations. Where such releases occur, radioactive materials released from the source disperse into the atmosphere along the direction of the prevailing winds. The dispersion will be influenced by factors like distance, wind speed, rainfall, concentration of radioactivity in the release, etc. The radioactive substances will deposit on affected areas with the amount of deposition decreases with distance and time. Plants and animals in the open fields may carry surface contaminations. When absorbed and/or taken up by crops, livestock and marine organisms, the enhanced radioactivity may enter the food chain.

The objective of the Ingestion Pathway Counter-measures of the DBCP is to ensure that all food and produce are safe for human consumption. This means that the acute health effects will be totally averted and long term health effects in the population arising from consumption of foodstuff that might contain a low level of radioactive contamination will be minimised.

As a matter of fact, naturally occurring radioactivity is common in the environment. Our body metabolic processes can often repair any potential damage caused by low levels of radiation exposures. After a nuclear incident, any food and produce with radioactivity level exceeding the food control level will not be available for sale in the local market. Advice will be given to the public to ensure that any possible residual radioactive contamination will be further reduced by suitable food preparation, such as removal of the skin or outer layer of foodstuff, thorough washing and time delay to allow for decrease in radioactivity by natural radioactive decay. Acute health effect after consumption of foodstuffs on the market is therefore unlikely.

Man Kam To Food Control Office
Man Kam To Food Control Office


Monitoring radioactivity in food

Food Safety Control

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has been conducting a routine surveillance system to monitor the radioactivity in food. The results have always been satisfactory.

In the event of an accident leading to release of radioactivity affecting off-site locations, food produced within 50 km radius of the Power Plant will be monitored by Mainland authorities before exporting to Hong Kong. The CFS will also step up the monitoring of both imported and locally produced food. Those with unsatisfactory results will not be allowed for import or for sale and will be properly disposed.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Health effects resulted from the consumption of radioactively contaminated food are dose dependent.
  2. To safeguard public health, routine surveillance system is in place to monitor radioactivity in food.
  3. The Government has established the DBCP for responding to nuclear emergencies in relation to the Daya Bay Power Station.

Advice to Public

  • The public should pay close attention to government announcements and advice through mass media in case of a nuclear emergency.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 17-12-2010

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点横额

食物安全焦点(二零一零年十二月第五十三期) - 焦点个案

一 旦 核 事 故 发 生 时 有 关 食 物 安 全 的 应 变 措 施

食物安全中心风险评估组
科学主任周淑敏女士报告

虽然位于邻近深圳的大亚湾核电站发生站外紧急情况的机会微乎其微,香港特别行政区政府已审慎作好应急准备,制定了一套全面的大亚湾应变计划,以处理可能出现的有关情况。该计划详列所有有关政府部门的应变工作,并可按既定机制启动。本文将会简介一旦发生会影响远离现场地区的核事件时有关食物安全的应变措施。

核事故期间的食物安全问题

只有发生极其罕见核事件的情况下,民用核设施(如核电站)才会有机会意外把放射性物质外泄至四周环境。当发生这种泄漏事故时,由源头泄漏出的放射性物质会按当时风向于大气中扩散。扩散过程受距离、风速、雨量、外泄的放射性物质浓度等多项因素影响。放射性物质会沉积在受影响地区,沉积量会随距离和时间而减少。户外动植物的表层可能因而会受到污染。当放射性物质飘到农业区,便会被农作物、禽畜和水产吸收及/或摄入,过量辐射可能会进入食物链内。

大亚湾应变计划中有关饮食防护措施旨在确保所有食物和农产品可供人安全食用,即不会对市民健康造成急性影响,并尽量减低市民因进食可能含有小量辐射污染食品对健康造成的长期影响。

事实上,天然辐射经常存在于四周环境中。人体新陈代谢过程通常会自行修复由低水平辐照可能造成的损害。在发生核事件后,放射性超出规管水平的所有食物及农产品均不会在本港市面上出售。届时有关当局将会提供建议,确保市民可采取适当的食物处理方法,例如去除食品外皮或外叶、彻底冲洗和容许食物有时间自然发生放射性衰变以减低放射性,进一步减低食物中可能残留的辐射污染。因此,市民不会因进食市面上供应的食品而对健康造成急性影响。

文锦渡食品管制办事处
文锦渡食品管制办事处

监察食物中的放射性
监察食物中的放射性

 

食物安全监控工作

食物安全中心(中心)一直推行日常监察计划,以监察食物中的放射性。至今全部结果均合格。

一旦发生影响站外其他地区的辐射外泄事故,在核电厂方圆50公里内出产的食物均会经过内地有关当局的监察,然后才输往香港。此外,中心亦会加强监察内地进口和本港生产的食物。所有不合格的食物不得输入本港或供出售,并会进行妥善处置。

注意要点:

  1. 进食受辐射污染的食物对人体健康造成的影响与辐射剂量有关。

  2. 为保障公众健康,中心一向设有日常监察计划,以监察食物中的放射性。

  3. 政府已制定大亚湾应变计划,订明大亚湾核电站一旦发生核事故时须采取的应变措施。

给市民的建议

一旦发生核事故时,市民应密切留意政府透过传媒作出的公布和建议。

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17 -12-2010