Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (40th Issue, November 2009) – Incident in Focus

Bacillus cereus in “Poon Choi”

Reported by Dr. Ken CHONG, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

On 7 October 2009 , the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) released its Food Safety Report for August. A sample of “Poon Choi” and a sample of soup vermicelli with pork satay were found to contain the pathogen Bacillus cereus at excessive levels of 2.5 million per gram and 810 000 per gram respectively, while the relevant limit is 100 000 per gram. The CFS has taken follow-up samples and warned the food premises concerned. In this article, we would discuss why Bacillus cereus was found in “Poon Choi” and the characteristics of this bacterium.

Illustration: “Poon Choi”

Foodborne Pathogens in “Poon Choi”

High amounts of Bacillus cereus found in "Poon Choi" are not uncommon. From 2006 to 2008, 4 (5%) out of 80 "Poon Choi" samples tested for Bacillus cereus were found unsatisfactory. However, mixed dishes like “Poon Choi” contain many ingredients and involve manual handling processes, pathogenic bacteria that were found to exceed relevant limits are not confined to Bacillus cereus. Two of the “Poon Choi” samples mentioned above had also been found to contain Clostridium perfringens and Staphylococcus aureus respectively exceeding relevant limits. Furthermore, Vibrio parahaemolyticus had been identified as a possible cause in a food poisoning outbreak affecting 480 people caused by consuming “Poon Choi” in 2006.

Features of Bacillus cereus

Bacillus cereus is ubiquitous in the environment. It is readily isolated from soil, cereal crops, and vegetables, etc. It has been reported that soil can contain approximately 1 000 to 100 000 spores per gram. Hence, it is not uncommon to find this bacterium in food, especially in raw agricultural products such as raw fruits and vegetables, raw herbs. These foods usually contain less than 100 spores per gram, but higher amount may be found in some herbs and spices.

Bacillus cereus can form spores which are able to resist heat and survive the cooking temperature. It can grow in either the presence or absence of oxygen. The optimal growth temperature for Bacillus cereus is around 30°C to 37°C. At temperature below 10°C, Bacillus cereus is unable to produce toxin that causes vomiting. Therefore, controlling storage temperature of food is important to prevent foodborne disease caused by this bacterium.

Key Points to Note:
  1. Bacillus cereus is spore-forming and ubiquitous in the environment.
  2. It can cause two types of food poisoning known as emetic (cause vomiting) and diarrhoeal food poisoning.
  3. Pre-cooked food should be cooled and stored properly to avoid the multiplication of vegetative cells of Bacillus cereus to a high amount in food.

Bacillus cereus Food Poisoning

There are two types of food poisoning caused by different toxins produced by Bacillus cereus. Emetic (cause vomiting) intoxication is caused by a heat-stable toxin (can resist 126°C for 90 minutes) pre-formed in food. Symptoms including nausea and vomiting occur in the first few hours after ingestion of incriminated food, followed by diarrhoea in some cases. Another type of poisoning is diarrhoeal, which is characterised by watery diarrhoea associated with abdominal pain. This type resembles the illness caused by Clostridium perfringens in which the toxins are produced in the intestine by ingested spores or vegetative cells. The illnesses of these two types of food poisoning are generally mild and persist no longer than 24 hours.

Pre-cooked food may create a favourable environment for Bacillus cereus to grow. Some ingredients of “Poon Choi” may be pre-cooked and reheated before serve. The ingredients, especially those agricultural products may contain spores. Heat of cooking can activate the spores to germinate into vegetative cells and kill other bacteria competing to grow with Bacillus cereus. If the food is left at room temperature for too long, the vegetative cells can multiply and produce the heat-stable toxin. Reheating the food can kill vegetative cells, but cannot eliminate the heat-stable toxin. Hence, it is important to store food properly, i.e. not leaving food at room temperature for too long, to prevent the formation of toxins. This can also prevent formation of heat-stable toxin by Staphylococcus aureus.

Although Bacillus cereus found in foodstuffs is not uncommon, presence of a small amount of the spores is usually not a concern, provided that the spores are not allowed to germinate and grow to a large number. In general, the presence of more than 100 000 cells of Bacillus cereus per gram of food is required to cause disease.

Advice to Trade

  • Check the quality of food and food ingredients upon receipt.
  • Store food and food ingredients at safe temperatures e.g. perishable items including fresh rice noodles and vermicelli at 4°C or below.
  • Avoid preparing “Poon Choi” and its ingredients too far in advance.
  • For “Poon Choi” to be transported, keep hot “Poon Choi” above 60 ° C and chilled “Poon Choi” at 4 ° C or below.
  • Reduce the cooling time of cooked food, for example, by dividing into small portions, placing in shallow containers and/or placing in ice bath.

Advice to Consumers

  • Keep “Poon Choi” above 60 ° C if it is not consumed immediately.
  • Avoid prolonged storage of “Poon Choi” at room temperature. Discard if it has been held at room temperature for more than four hours.
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date :19-11-2009

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零零九年十一月第四十期)-焦点个案

盆菜中的蜡样芽孢杆菌

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任庄梓杰博士报告

今年十月七日,食物安全中心(中心)公布八月份食物安全报告,一个盆菜样本和一个沙嗲猪肉汤檬样本验出超过上限的蜡样芽孢杆菌,含量分别为每克250万个和每克81万个,而这种致病菌的上限是每克食物10万个。中心已抽取跟进样本,并向有关食肆发出警告。本文将会探讨盆菜中为何会有蜡样芽孢杆菌,以及这种细菌的特点。


插图:盆菜

盆菜中的食源性致病菌

在盆菜中发现大量蜡样芽孢杆菌并非不常见的事情。由二零零六至零八年,在检测蜡样芽孢杆菌的80个盆菜样本中,有4个(占5%)属于不合格样本。不过,盆菜等杂烩菜式的材料丰富,而且经过人手处理,在这类菜式中验出超逾有关上限的致病菌并不限于蜡样芽孢杆菌。上述4个盆菜样本中便有2个分别验出含有超逾有关上限的产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌和金黄葡萄球菌。此外,二零零六年曾发生由盆菜引致的食物中毒事故,有480人受影响,肇因可能是副溶血性弧菌。

蜡样芽孢杆菌的特点

蜡样芽孢杆菌在环境中无处不在,常见于泥土、谷物及蔬菜等。有报告指,每克泥土可含有约1 000至100 000个孢子,因此,在食物中发现这种细菌不足为奇,尤其是生的农产品(例如生的蔬果和香草)。这类食物通常含有每克少于100个孢子,但有些香草及香料可能含有较多孢子。

蜡样芽孢杆菌可产生孢子,这些孢子能抵受热力,承受烹煮温度。这种细菌亦可在有氧或无氧的环境下生长。蜡样芽孢杆菌的最佳生长温度约为摄氏30至37度。在低于摄氏10度的环境下,蜡样芽孢杆菌便不能产生可令人呕吐的毒素。因此,控制食物的贮存温度对预防由蜡样芽孢杆菌引起的食源性疾病至为重要。

注意要点:

  • 蜡样芽孢杆菌可产生孢子,在环境中无处不在。
  • 蜡样芽孢杆菌可引致两类食物中毒,即致吐型(令人呕吐)和致腹泻型食物中毒。
  • 预先煮熟的食物应妥善冷却和贮存,以免蜡样芽孢杆菌的繁殖细胞生长,令食物含有大量这种细菌 。

蜡样芽孢杆菌食物中毒

蜡样芽孢杆菌可产生不同的毒素,引致两类食物中毒。致吐型(引致呕吐)中毒是由在食物中预先形成的耐热毒素(能抵受摄氏126度长达90分钟)引起,患者会在进食有问题食物后数小时内出现恶心和呕吐等症状,部分随后更会有腹泻。至于另一类中毒,则属于致腹泻型,其症状是伴随腹痛的水状腹泻。致腹泻型食物中毒与由产气荚膜梭状芽孢杆菌引致的疾病类似,患者因吃下孢子或繁殖细胞而令毒素在肠道中产生。这两类食物中毒的病情一般轻微,不会持续超过24小时。

预先煮熟的食物可为蜡样芽孢杆菌提供有利的生长环境。部分盆菜材料可能会预先煮熟,然后在供应给顾客前才翻热。此外,这些材料(尤其是农产品)可能会含有孢子。烹煮的热力可诱发孢子发芽成为繁殖细胞,并杀死其他与蜡样芽孢杆菌竞争生长的细菌。如食物放置在室温下过久,繁殖细胞便会生长和产生耐热毒素。翻热食物可杀死繁殖细胞,但不能消除耐热毒素,因此必须要妥善贮存食物,即切勿把食物放在室温下过久,以免产生毒素。此外,此举亦可防止金黄葡萄球菌产生耐热的毒素。

虽然食物经常含有蜡样芽孢杆菌,但只要没有让孢子发芽和大量繁殖,小量的孢子通常不会引起问题。一般而言,每克食物需含有超过100 000个蜡样芽孢杆菌细胞才会令人患病。

给业界的建议

  • 在收货时检查食物和食物材料的质量。
  • 把食物和食物材料贮放在安全温度,例如把易变坏的食品(包括新鲜河粉和米粉)存放在摄氏4度或以下。
  • 避免过早配制盆菜及盆菜材料。
  • 如需运送盆菜,应把热盆菜保持在摄氏60度以上,而冷冻的盆菜则应保持在摄氏4度或以下。
  • 缩短已煮熟食物的冷却时间,例如将食物分成较小份;放在较浅的容器内;以及/或把有食物的容器“冰镇”(放在有冰块的水中)。

给消费者的建议

  • 如非即时进食盆菜,应把盆菜保持在摄氏60度以上。
  • 避免把盆菜放在室温下过久;如放置在室温下超过4小时,应弃掉盆菜。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 09-03-2015