Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (36th Issue, July 2009) – Incident in Focus

Benzene in Soft Drinks

Reported by Ms. Janny MA, Scientific Officer,
Risk Assessment Section,
Centre for Food Safety

          Recently, the media reported that a consumer organisation in Brazil has conducted a study assessing the level of benzene, which is a cancer-causing agent, in soft drinks available in the Brazilian market. Out of 24 samples, 7 were found to contain benzene. This article provides more information on benzene in soft drinks.

Illustration:Soft drinks that may have used benzoic acid as preservative

What is Benzene?

          Benzene is a colourless and highly flammable liquid with a characteristic aromatic odour. It is a natural part of crude oil.

          Benzene is present in the environment through human activities such as vehicle emissions and cigarette smoking. In addition, benzene is produced commercially to make other chemicals, dyes, detergents and some plastics. It may also, to a lesser extent, be released naturally from volcanoes and forest fires.

          Since benzene is present ubiquitously, it may contaminate our food and water supplies. The presence of benzene in food can also be attributed to other potential sources.

Why is Benzene Found in Some Soft Drinks?

          In the early 1990s, it was found that benzene could be formed in soft drinks containing both(1) benzoic acid or its salts and(2)ascorbic acid(vitamin C), especially in the presence of light and elevated temperatures.

Benzoic acid and its salts [INS 210-213] are preservatives which can be added to foods including soft drinks to prevent the growth of bacteria, yeasts and moulds. In Hong Kong , under the Preservatives in Food Regulation, benzoic acid and its salts are allowed to be used in specific foods such as soft drinks as preservative. They are also naturally present in some foods e.g. cranberries, prunes, plums and most berries.

Ascorbic acid [INS 300] can be used as an antioxidant. It is also naturally present in a variety of fruits and vegetables.

          However, it is important to note that the presence of benzoic acid or its salts and ascorbic acid in soft drinks does not necessarily result in the formation of benzene. Many factors e.g. pH, exposure to high temperature and UV light, presence of certain minerals and sweeteners etc. may affect the benzene formation.

Health Effects of Benzene

          Acute exposure to high concentrations of benzene primarily affects the central nervous system in humans. Benzene can cause chromosomal changes in humans. Long-term exposure to benzene can lead to cancer of the blood-forming organs. Based on available inhalation data in occupationally exposed workers and supported by evidence in animal studies, the International Agency for Research on Cancer considers benzene to be carcinogenic to human(Group1). The World Health Organization (WHO) has not established any tolerable intake level for benzene.

Benzene Levels in Soft Drinks

          Surveys conducted by various overseas food authorities showed that the levels of benzene found in soft drinks were generally less than the WHO guideline value of 10μg/L of benzene established for drinking water.

          In countries such as the U.K. and U.S where beverages containing benzene levels above the drinking water guidelines for benzene established by the WHO or benzene standards set by their own country, the trade have voluntarily withdrawn the products from markets and/or reformulated them to reduce the benzene level.

          Many food authorities such as the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, U.K. Food Standards Agency and Food Standards Australia New Zealand are of the view that exposure to low levels of benzene from soft drinks does not raise any public health concerns. In 2009, the Codex Committee on Contaminants in Foods also noted that benzene in soft drinks was not a major contributor to overall benzene exposure of the population and there were various trade guidance available, in particular the “Guidance Document to Mitigate the Potential for Benzene Formation in Beverages” developed by the International Council of Beverages Associations, to limit the formation of benzene in soft drinks.

Key Points to Note

  • Benzene may be formed in soft drinks containing both benzoic acid or its salts and ascorbic acid (vitamin C) .
  • Exposure to low levels of benzene from soft drinks does not raise any public health concerns.
  • Food only contributes minor amounts to a population’s daily benzene exposure.

Exposure to Benzene

          The principal route of daily exposure to benzene in the general population is through the inhalation of ambient air. Food only contributes minor amounts to a population’s daily benzene exposure, with the intake estimated to be less than 2% of that from inhalation. For smokers, it is likely that cigarettes contribute significantly to their total daily exposure of benzene. (Table 1)

Table 1. Estimated exposure to benzene through various sources
(European Commission Joint Research Centre, 2005)

Source of exposure

Estimated exposure μg/day

Food products

0.2-3.1

Air: Inhalation exposure

220

Cigarette smoking ( 20 cigarettes )

7900

Local Situation

          In the past three years, the Centre for Food Safety has taken some 20 samples of soft drinks for testing of benzene. All results were satisfactory.

Advice to Public

  • Maintain a balanced diet to avoid excessive exposure to contaminants from a small range of food items.

Advice to Trade

  • Ensure benzene levels in soft drinks as low as reasonably achievable by reviewing soft drinks formulations, testing them for benzene and reformulating any affected products where necessary. For details on ways to reduce the potential for benzene formation in soft drinks, please make reference to the industry guidance documents.

Illustration:Food label of drink containing both sodium benzoate and ascorbic acid as ingredients
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date :17-07-2009

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印


食物安全焦点(二零零九年七月第三十六期)-焦点个案

汽 水 中 的 苯

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任马嘉明女士报告

    传媒近日报道,巴西有消费者组织就当地出售的汽水中的苯含量进行研究,发现24个样本中有7个含有苯这种致癌物质。本文将会详细论述汽水中的苯。

插图:可能使用了苯甲酸作为防腐剂的汽水

苯是什么?

    苯是一种极度易燃的无色液体,具有独特的芳香气味,属于原油的天然成分。

    苯可透过汽车排放废气和吸烟等人类活动存在于环境中。苯亦可透过商业活动产生,再制成其他化学物、染料、清洁剂及一些塑胶制品。此外,火山和森林大火亦会天然释放出小量苯。

    苯无处不在,故此可能会污染我们的食物和水源。此外,食物内的苯也可能来自其他来源。

为什么部分汽水会含有苯?

    九十年代初,科学家发现,汽水如同时含有(1)苯甲酸或其盐类及(2)抗坏血酸(维他命C),可产生苯,尤其是在有光和高温的环境下。

苯甲酸及其盐类[国际编码系统编号210 213 ]是可在食物(包括汽水)中添加的防腐剂,以防止细菌、酵母菌和霉菌生长。在本港,根据《食物内防腐剂规例》,苯甲酸及其盐类可在汽水等指明食物中用作防腐剂。此外,这些物质亦会天然存在于一些食物中,例如越橘、梅子、布冧及大部分酱果。

抗坏血酸[国际编码系统编号300 ]可用作抗氧化剂,同时会天然存在于多种水果及蔬菜中。

    不过,必须注意的是,汽水同时含有苯甲酸或其盐类及抗坏血酸,并非必然会产生苯。多种因素,例如酸碱值、是否暴露于高温和紫外光下、是否含有某些矿物质和甜味剂等,亦可能会影响苯的产生。

苯对健康的影响

    在短时间内摄入大量苯主要会影响人的中枢神经系统。苯可引致人类的染色体改变。长期摄入苯可引致造血器官的癌症。根据有关工人从工作环境摄入苯的数据及动物研究的证据,国际癌症研究机构认为苯属于令人类患癌(即第1组)的物质。世界卫生组织(世卫)并没有就苯订出可容忍摄入量。

汽水中的苯含量

    多个海外食物当局进行的研究显示,汽水中的苯含量普遍低于世卫就饮用水所订的苯含量准则值,即每公升10微克。

    在发现饮料中苯含量高于世卫就饮用水所订准则或该国自行制定的标准的国家,如英国及美国,业界自愿从市面上撤回有关产品及/或重新配制产品以减低苯含量。

    美国食物及药物管理局、英国食物标准局和澳洲及新西兰食物标准局等不少食物当局认为,从汽水摄入小量苯不会引致公众健康问题。二零零九年,食品中污染物法典委员会亦指出,汽水中的苯并不是人们摄入苯的主要来源,同时目前已有多份业界指引,尤其是由国际饮料协会理事会拟制的有关《如何降低饮料中产生苯的潜在可能性》指导文件,以限制苯在汽水中产生。

注意要点

  • 汽水如同时含有苯甲酸或其盐类及抗坏血酸(维他命C),可能会产生苯。
  • 从汽水摄入小量苯不会引致公众健康问题。
  • 从食物摄入苯的分量只占人们每天摄入总量的很小比重。

苯的摄入途径

    一般人每天摄入的苯主要来自吸入周围空气这一途径。从食物摄入的苯分量只占每天摄入总量的很小比重,估计少于从吸入途径摄入分量的2%。至于吸烟者,他们每天摄入苯的总量可能有极大部分是来自香烟。(表1)

表1.从不同来源摄入苯的估计分量(欧洲委员会联合研究中心,2005

摄入来源

估计摄入量(微克/天)

食物

0.2-3.1

空气:透过吸入摄入

220

吸烟(20 支香烟)

7900

本港情况

    过去三年,食物安全中心抽取了20多个汽水样本进行苯测试,结果全部合格。

给市民的建议

  • 保持均衡饮食,以免因偏吃某几类食物而摄入过量污染物。

给业界的建议

  • 检讨汽水配方、对汽水进行苯测试,并在有需要时重新研配问题产品,以确保汽水中的苯含量尽量降至最低。有关如何降低汽水中产生苯的潜在可能性的详情,请参考业界指导文件。
插图:配料包含苯甲酸钠及抗坏血酸的饮料标签
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 17-07-2009