Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Print Friendly



Food Safety Focus (33rd Issue, April 2009) – Incident in Focus

Melamine-ware and Food Safety

Reported by Dr. Anna S. P. TANG, Scientific Officer
Risk Assessment Section, Centre for Food Safety

On 19 February 2009 , the Customs and Excise Department advised the public to watch out for one model of melamine ladle with excessive level of formaldehyde migration following safety test conducted on melamine tableware obtained from the market. In this article, we will talk about food safety issues in relation to melamine tableware.

What is Melamine-ware?

Tableware made of melamine-formaldehyde resins intended for repeated use is commonly known as melamine-ware. It is economical and widely used around the world due to its durability, and good chemical stability and heat resistance. Since melamine-ware does not easily break, it is commonly used as tableware for children.

Illustration: Melamine-ware
Melamine-ware Melamine-ware

Is Melamine-ware Safe to Use?

Melamine-ware is generally safe to use for serving food so long as it is used for the purposes specified by the manufacturer. Most manufacturers specify a temperature of -30oC to +120oC while some specify a temperature of up to +140oC. Hence, it should not be used for cooking or to be heated in microwave or conventional oven.

Melamine and formaldehyde are the chemical building blocks of the material used in melamine-ware. Residues of these chemicals can be left in the finished product and can migrate into food. Occasionally, excessive migration of chemicals had been found in melamine-ware. Safety concerns of melamine-ware in these cases are usually related to the possible migration of formaldehyde into foodstuffs.

Migration of Chemical Substances

Migration of substances from tableware to foodstuffs is influenced by many factors including the material of the tableware, the type (aqueous, acidic, alcoholic or fatty) and nature (solid or liquid) of the food, temperature, duration and area of contact.

There is currently no specific international limit regarding the migration of chemicals from melamine-ware. Specific migration limits have been established in some countries such as the European Union and Mainland China to regulate melamine-ware for food use.

Overseas surveys conducted by United Kingdom Food Standards Agency (UKFSA) in 2004 and 2008 reported only a few melamine-ware had formaldehyde migration exceeding limits under experimental conditions simulating the worst case scenario, while melamine migration was well below limits. Recent survey conducted by the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine (AQSIQ) in December 2008 found all melamine-ware tested that were produced by certified manufacturers in the Mainland were satisfactory.

Health Concerns of Melamine and Formaldehyde in Foods

Melamine is known for its low acute toxicity. International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) classified it as “not classifiable according to its carcinogenicity to humans” (Group 3) due to inadequate evidence in humans. In 2008, significant concerns were raised worldwide following reports of renal stones in infants and children who had consumed milk tainted with high levels of melamine in the Mainland. Subsequently, the World Health Organization (WHO) established a tolerable daily intake for melamine at 0.2 mg/kg body weight.

Although formaldehyde is not permitted to be used in foods, it is a metabolic intermediate which can be found naturally in food up to levels of 300 – 400 mg/kg, including fruits and vegetables, meat, fish, crustaceans etc. Ingestion of a small amount of formaldehyde is unlikely to cause any acute effect. However, ingestion of a large amount can result in acute toxicity causing severe abdominal pain, vomiting, coma, renal injury and possible death. But such an exposure is unlikely from formaldehyde migration to food from melamine-ware. WHO considered that formaldehyde was not carcinogenic upon ingestion.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Migration of a small amount of melamine and formaldehyde from properly made melamine-ware into foods is not expected to cause adverse health effects.
  2. Melamine-ware is safe for food use when used according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
  3. Melamine-ware should not be used for cooking or heating in microwave or conventional oven, holding hot oil, deep-fried foods, or storing highly acidic foods.

 

Control on food-containing utensils in Hong Kong

Food containers, as a kind of consumer goods, which are ordinarily supplied for private use or consumption in Hong Kong are controlled under the Consumer Goods Safety Ordinance, Cap. 456. Section 6 of Food Business Regulation Cap. 132X stipulated that every person who carries on any food business shall at all times ensure that all furniture, articles, equipment and utensils used or liable to be used are kept clean and free from noxious matters and in proper repair and free from cracks or chipping.

Advice to Consumers

  1. Use melamine-ware according to product instructions.
  2. Do not use melamine-ware that is broken or damaged on its surface.
  3. Do not heat or cook foods in melamine-ware.
  4. Do not use melamine-ware in microwave oven or conventional oven.
  5. Do not use melamine-ware to hold hot oil, deep-fried foods, or store highly acidic foods.
  6. For cleaning, do not use abrasive detergent and cleaning tools or strong chemicals which will damage the surface.

Advice to the Trade

  1. Manufacturers should adopt good manufacturing practices in making melamine-ware for food use.
  2. Manufacturers are advised to provide instructions on its intended use.
  3. Restaurants and food businesses should use melamine-ware of suitable quality to serve food according to the product specifications.
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date :15-04-2009

多媒体资料库 >> 刊物 >> 食物安全焦点 友善列印

食物安全焦点(二零零九年四月第三十三期)- 焦点个案

仿瓷餐具与食物安全

食物安全中心
风险评估组
科学主任邓绍平博士报告

香港海关就市面上的仿瓷餐具进行安全测试后,于今年二月十九日呼吁市民留意一款甲醛超逾迁移上限的仿瓷汤匙。本文将会探讨与仿瓷餐具有关的食物安全事宜。

仿瓷餐具是什么?

由三聚氰胺–甲醛树脂制成以供多次使用的餐具俗称为仿瓷餐具。这些餐具经济耐用,又具有良好的耐热性及化学稳定性,故在世界各地广为使用。仿瓷餐具由于不易摔破,因此常用作儿童餐具。

插图: 仿瓷餐具  
仿瓷餐具 仿瓷餐具

仿瓷餐具可否供安全使用?

仿瓷餐具只要根据制造商的指定用途使用,一般可供安全盛载食物。大部分制造商列明餐具适用于摄氏–30度至120度,而有些则注明最高可达摄氏140度。因此,仿瓷餐具不应放进微波炉或传统焗炉内作烹煮或加热食物之用。

三聚氰胺和甲醛是仿瓷餐具制造原料的主要化学成分。这些化学物的残余物可残留在最终制成品中,并迁移至食物。仿瓷餐具偶尔会出现化学物过量迁移的情况。仿瓷餐具在这些情况下的安全问题通常与甲醛可能迁移至食物有关。

化学物质的迁移

物质由餐具迁移至食物受多项因素影响,包括餐具原料;食物类别(水性、酸性、酒精类或脂肪类)及性质(固体或液体);温度;盛载时间以及接触面。

目前,国际间并没有就仿瓷餐具迁移出的化学物订出特定上限。部分国家如欧洲联盟及中国内地则有订出特定迁移上限,以规管用作盛载食物的仿瓷餐具。

英国食物标准局在二零零四年及二零零八年进行的海外研究(只有英文版)指,只有少数仿瓷餐具在实验环境中模拟最差情况下迁移出的甲醛会超逾上限,而迁移出的三聚氰胺则远低于上限。至于最近国家质量监督检验检疫总局在二零零八年十二月进行的抽查检验,则显示由获得许可证的内地制造商制造的所有受检验仿瓷餐具均符合国家标准规定。

食物中的三聚氰胺和甲醛对健康的影响

三聚氰胺的急性毒性偏低。国际癌症研究机构由于没有有关人类的足够证据,故把三聚氰胺列为第3组(在会否令人类患癌方面未能分类)。二零零八年,在有关内地婴儿和儿童因饮用受大量三聚氰胺污染的奶粉而患上肾结石的报道后,世界各地均十分关注这种物质。其后,世界卫生组织(世卫)制定三聚氰胺的每日可容忍摄入量为每公斤体重0.2毫克。

虽然甲醛不得用于食物中,但它是一种代谢中间物,可天然存在于水果及蔬菜、肉类、鱼类及甲壳类动物等食物中,含量可达每公斤300至400毫克。吃下小量甲醛不会造成急性中毒,但吃下大量甲醛则可造成急性中毒,引致严重腹痛、呕吐、昏迷、肾脏受损或死亡。不过,由仿瓷餐具迁移至食物的甲醛导致这种摄入情况的机会不大。世卫认为,透过进食而摄入的甲醛不会致癌。

注意重点:

  1. 由适当制造的仿瓷餐具迁移至食物的小量三聚氰胺和甲醛,相信不会损害人体健康。
  2. 如按照制造商的指示使用,仿瓷餐具可供安全盛载食物。
  3. 切勿把仿瓷餐具放进微波炉或传统焗炉内作烹煮或加热食物之用,又或用来盛载热油、油炸食物或强酸食物。

本港对盛载食物的用具的规管

盛载食物的容器属于一种消费品,一般供应予私人使用或耗用,须受《消费品安全条例》(第456章)规管。《食物业规例》(第132X 章)第6条订明,所有经营食物业的人,须时刻确保所使用或可能使用的一切家具、物品、设备及用具保持清洁,不受有害物质沾染,维修妥善及无裂缝或缺口。

给消费者的建议

  1. 按照产品说明使用仿瓷餐具。
  2. 切勿使用已破裂或表面受损的仿瓷餐具。
  3. 切勿使用仿瓷餐具烹煮或加热食物。
  4. 切勿把仿瓷餐具放进微波炉或传统焗炉内使用。
  5. 切勿以仿瓷餐具盛载热油、油炸食物或强酸食物。
  6. 切勿使用含砂质的清洁剂、可造成刮花的清洁用具或强力化学物清洁仿瓷餐具,因为会损害其表面。

给业界的建议

  1. 制造商在制造供盛载食物的仿瓷餐具时,应奉行优良制造规范。
  2. 制造商宜就仿瓷餐具的指定用途提供说明。
  3. 食肆及食物业应按照产品说明使用合适品质的仿瓷餐具盛载食物。
上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 15 -04-2009