Multimedia library >> Publications >> Food Safety Focus Facebook Share Print Friendly
Food Safety Focus Banner
To the main page
Next Article

Food Safety Focus (127th Issue, February 2017) – Incident in Focus

The Authenticity of Alleged "Fake" Rice

Ms. Constance LAI, Research Officer,
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety

Last month, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) received complaints about suspected “fake” rice used by two local restaurants. Some video clips on social media showed that the “fake” rice could be elongated upon rolling. In response, the Customs and Excise Department and the CFS collected remnants of the incriminated “fake” rice and additional rice samples from the restaurants for testing. Results showed that all samples were rice and passed chemical analyses.

In recent years, reports in the media have alleged that plastic rice, probably coming from China, was exported to some Southeast Asian and African countries. However, none of the national authorities from these places substantiated these allegations. On the other hand, the Ministry of Commerce of Mainland China remarked earlier that the alleged “fake” rice had no relationship with Chinese rice exporters.

Rice is a Staple Food in Hong Kong

Rice is a main source of energy in our diet. According to the First Hong Kong Population-based Food Consumption Survey, on average, about 300 grams of cooked rice were eaten by a Hong Kong adult each day which accounted for over 60% of all cereal foods consumed. The Trade and Industry Department’s data showed that about 90% of imported rice in 2016 was Fragrant rice from Thailand and Vietnam.

Why Some Cooked Rice Can Be “Rolled Without Cracking” But Some Can’t?

Rice contains 90% starch. Rice starch consists of two forms, linear molecule (amylose) and branched molecule (amylopectin). The cooking and eating quality of rice is greatly affected by the amylose-to-amylopectin ratio and their fine structures. Generally speaking, long-grain rice has higher amylose content and gives firm and fluffy texture with rice grains separate after cooking while short-grain rice has low amylose content and is soft and sticky with rice grains cling together after cooking. However, this relationship is becoming blurred especially in Asian rice varieties due to the continuous improvement of rice quality from producers. (See Figures 1 and 2).

Figure 1: General range of amylose content of some common rice varieties (According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations,amylose content of rice can be classified as: waxy 0-5%, very low 5.1-12.0%, low 12.1-20.0%, intermediate 20.1-25.0%, high >25.0%).
Figure 1: General range of amylose content of some common rice varieties (According to the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations,amylose content of rice can be classified as: waxy 0-5%, very low 5.1-12.0%, low 12.1-20.0%, intermediate 20.1-25.0%, high >25.0%).

Figure 2: Raw (left) and cooked (right) rice of a. Basmati, b. Jasmine, c, Pearl, d. Glutinous. The number on the ruler represents one centimetre(cm).
Figure 2: Raw (left) and cooked (right) rice of a. Basmati, b. Jasmine, c, Pearl, d. Glutinous. The number on the ruler represents one centimetre(cm).

Despite the diversity in varieties and textures, most cooked rice can be rolled and elongated because they all have certain degree of flexibility and elasticity. Glutinous rice has the highest elasticity (think about the texture of Mochi and Chinese New Year pudding) while rice with high amylose content has lower elasticity.

Rice that have been refrigerated or kept overnight after cooking may crack more readily upon rolling. It is because when cooked rice is cooled for a period of time, the starch inside the grain undergoes a process called “retrogradation” when amylose and linear parts of amylopectin molecules rearrange themselves to form a firmer and less flexible structure that makes the rice brittle.

Testing the Authenticity of Rice

The Government Laboratory tested remnants of the incriminated rice and additional samples of cooked and raw rice. All samples were confirmed to be rice—rice specific marker was identified in DNA test. Other food safety parameters, such as plasticisers, aflatoxins and metallic contaminants, were also tested. All the samples have passed the tests.

Routine Rice Surveillance

The CFS has all along been taking rice samples at import, wholesale and retail levels for testing as part of food surveillance. In 2016, the CFS took more than 650 rice samples for testing of food safety parameter including pesticide residues, colouring matters and metallic contaminants. Except for one black rice sample from Thailand detected with cadmium level exceeded legal limit, the test results of other samples were all satisfactory.

Key Points to Note:

  1. Members of the public are advised to be aware of the physical properties of rice.
  2. Various factors, such as the properties of starch and cooking methods, affect the physical properties of cooked rice.
  3. As revealed by laboratory testing results, rice tested is genuine in Hong Kong.

Advice to Public

  • Not to believe in hearsay too easily.
  • Make reference to official websites, e.g. CFS website, as reliable sources of information.
  • There is no cause for concern as test results showed that all samples were rice and passed chemical analyses.

Advice to Trade

  • Obtain rice from reliable suppliers. Maintain a good recording system for tracing if needed.
  • Ensure the rice they sell or import is fit for human consumption and comply with legal standards.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 15-02-2017

多媒体资料库>>刊物>>食物安全焦点 Facebook 分享 友善列印
食物安全焦点横额
回到主页
下一篇文章

食物安全焦点(二零一七年二月第一百二十七期) - 焦点个案

怀疑“假米”的真伪

食物安全中心
风险评估组
研究主任黎础程女士报告物安全中心

上月,食物安全中心(中心)接获怀疑两间本地食肆使用“假米”的投诉。社交媒体更有一些短片展示揉搓“假米”可令米粒变长。为此,香港海关及中心检取涉事剩余食物样本及从有关食肆另外抽取米样本进行检测。结果显示所有样本皆为大米及通过化学检测。

近年,也曾有传媒报道声称有塑胶米可能从中国出口到一些东南亚及非洲国家。不过,没有一个国家确认有关指称属实。早前中国内地商务部亦曾就此申明,传闻中的“假米”与中国大米出口商毫无关系。

大米在香港是主要食粮

大米是膳食中的主要热量来源。根据全港首个食物消费量调查,香港成人每日平均进食约300克饭,占所有谷类食物超过60%。工业贸易署的数据显示,二零一六年约有90%进口大米是来自泰国及越南的香米。

为何一些饭粒可以“在揉搓后不会断裂”但另一些却不能?

大米含90%淀粉。米淀粉分为直链分子(直链淀粉)及支链分子(支链淀粉)两类。大米的直链淀粉与支链淀粉比例及两者的微结构对其烹调及食用品质大有影响。一般而言,长粒米的直链淀粉含量较高,煮熟后质感硬而蓬松,饭粒颗颗分明;而短粒米的直链淀粉含量较低,在煮熟后会变得软而黏,饭粒黏结在一起。然而,由于生产商不断改善大米品质,故大米(特别是亚洲品种的大米)长度与直链淀粉含量的关系愈见模糊(见图一及二)。

图一:一些常见大米品种的直链淀粉含量幅度(根据联合国粮食及农业组织,大米的直链淀粉含量可分为:糯性0-5%、非常低5.1-12.0%、低12.1-20.0%、中20.1-25.0%、高>25.0%)。
图一:一些常见大米品种的直链淀粉含量幅度(根据联合国粮食及农业组织,大米的直链淀粉含量可分为:糯性0-5%、非常低5.1-12.0%、低12.1-20.0%、中20.1-25.0%、高>25.0%)。

图二:a.印度香米、b.泰国茉莉香米、c.珍珠米、d.糯米的米粒(左)及饭粒 (右)。尺上所示的数字是指一厘米。
图二:a.印度香米、b.泰国茉莉香米、c.珍珠米、d.糯米的米粒(左)及饭粒 (右)。尺上所示的数字是指一厘米。

尽管大米的品种及质感很多元化,但饭粒本身具有一定程度的柔韧性及弹性,故大部分均能揉搓变长。糯米最具弹性(试想想麻糬及年糕的口感),而直链淀粉含量高的米粒则弹性较低。

在揉搓期间较易断裂的饭粒可能是煮熟后经过冷藏的饭或隔夜饭。饭粒在冷却一段时间后,其淀粉会进行称为「回凝」的过程,即直链淀粉及支链淀粉分子的直链部分自行重新组合,变成较硬及柔韧度较低的结构,令饭粒易碎。

检测大米的真伪

政府化验所检测了涉事剩余食物样本和另外抽取的米及饭样本,确定所有样本皆为大米—在DNA基因测试中识别出大米的遗传标记。此外,政府化验所亦进行了其他食物安全指标的检测,检测项目包括塑化剂、黄曲霉毒素及金属杂质,测试结果显示全部样本合格。

恒常大米监察工作

中心一直有在进口、批发及零售层面抽取大米样本作测试,作为其中一项恒常食物监察工作。中心在二零一六年共抽取超过650个米样本作食物安全指标的检测,检测项目包括除害剂残余、染色料及金属杂质。除了一个来自泰国的黑米样本被检出镉含量超出法定上限外,其他样本全部合格。

注意要点 :

  1. 市民可多了解大米的物理特性。
  2. 多项因素(例如大米淀粉的特性及烹煮方法)均会影响米饭的物理特性。
  3. 有关化验结果显示,在港检测的米样本皆为大米。

给市民的建议

  • 不要轻信传言。
  • 参考官方网站 (例如中心的网站 )等可靠资料来源。
  • 由于检测结果显示所有米样本皆为大米,并通过化学检测,故市民无需忧虑。

给业界的建议

  • 从可靠的供应商采购大米,并妥为备存记录,以备查。
  • 确保出售或进口的大米适宜供人食用和符合法律标准。

 

上 一 页   返 回 页 首
 
最近修订日期 : 16-02-2017