What's New >> Print Friendly

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is melamine?
Melamine (also known as tripolycyanamide) is an industrial chemical used for the production of melamine resins, which are used in laminates, glues, adhesives, molding compounds, coatings, paper, textiles, flame retardants or superplastisizer for concrete.

2. How did melamine get into infant formula?
The adulterant melamine was added to milk to cause a false increase in the measurement of protein for dairy products. It is not allowed to be added to food in any quantity.

3. What is the toxicity of melamine?
Melamine has low oral acute toxicity. However, excessive exposure to melamine has been found to cause urinary stones in experimental animals. Laboratory studies showed that melamine did not damage genetic materials in cells. There was also inadequate evidence to show that melamine can cause human cancers.

4. How were infants being affected by melamine containing infant formula?
Recently, tens of thousands of infants in the Mainland who have consumed Sanlu infant formula are suffering from renal disease, including urinary stones, conditions of which are rare in infants. Infants are more susceptible to urinary stones formation because milk is their major food, the amount of melamine intake per body weight is much higher than that of adult who consumes a variety of foods. Also, it was found that Sanlu infant formula contained especially high level of melamine (up to 2563 mg/kg) that may affect the elimination of the chemical from the body.

5. What are the clinical presentations of the development of urinary stone after the consumption of melamine containing infant formula in infants?
The clinical presentations included irritability, blood in urine, little or no urine, stone in urine, pain and difficulty in urination, and high blood pressure etc.

6. How are adults being affected by the consumption of melamine containing milk?
Based on Mainland’s situation, over 99% of victims affected by consumption of melamine containing milk were below three years old. As the sensitivity towards melamine is lower and milk is not a major food source of adults, the health risk of adults in consuming melamine containing milk is lower.

7. What are the health effects of melamine to pregnant women and fetus?
Based on Mainland’s situation, over 99% of victims affected by consumption of melamine containing milk were below three years old. There is currently no human data available on the health effects to pregnant women and fetus. Available animal studies did not show evidence that it would produce defects in developing fetus.

8. What are the health effects of melamine to elderly?
Based on Mainland’s situation, over 99% of victims affected by consumption of melamine containing milk were below three years old. There is currently no human data available on the health effects of melamine to elderly. However, milk only constitutes a part of the total food consumed by the adult population and the risk is relatively low.

9. What are the health effects for consumption of food containing melamine for a long period of time?
There is currently no human data available regarding consumption of food containing melamine for a long period of time. Information based on data from animal studies showed that melamine is rapidly cleared from the body. However, based on Mainland’s information, over 99% of victims affected by consumption of melamine containing milk were below three years old; majority of them was affected three to six months after the consumption of contaminated milk.

10. What products were found to contain melamine in the Mainland?
The list of products that were found to contain melamine and their manufacturers is posted on the website of the General Administration of Quality Supervision Inspection and Quarantine of People’s Republic of China. Consumers can check with the official website for updated information.

11. Are those melamine contaminated infant formula including the Sanlu formula and those formula tested with melamine by the Mainland available in Hong Kong ?
No, they are not found to be available in Hong Kong . People who have purchased the product outside Hong Kong should stop consuming the product immediately.

12. Has melamine been found in any infant formula, other dairy products or food products available locally?
Since mid-September 2008, the CFS has taken from the local market samples of infant formula and other milk-made products, such as fresh milk, ice-cream, ice-cream bars, yogurt, baby food, nutrition supplements for hospital use, instant drink mixes, biscuits, cakes, bread, chocolate and candies etc. for tests. The CFS has, on the recommendation of the Expert Group on Melamine Incident, expanded the food sampling plan to include food raw materials (e.g. eggs), meat and vegetables in the second phase of testing. Upon the conclusion of the second phase of testing on 16 November 2008 , the CFS has entered into the third phase since 17 November 2008 , in which samples of food types found unsatisfactory in the previous two phases have been retaken for testing. As at 23 December 2008 , a total of 40 samples of 18 brands of food products were found to contain unsatisfactory amount of melamine ranging from 1.4ppm to 68ppm. The sample results are available in the web site of CFS, www.cfs.gov.hk. The highest level of melamine was detected in one biscuit sample. All the affected products have been off shelves and withdrawn from the market. CFS will continue to monitor the situation closely.

13. How much of the food that exceeded the legal limits for melamine one has to consume before the safety reference value is exceeded?
According to the information of US Food and Drug Administration (USFDA) in September 2008, the tolerable daily intake (TDI), i.e. the safety reference value for melamine is 0.63 mg per kg of body weight per day. Since children under three are more sensitive to melamine, safety reference value is set at 0.32 mg per kg of body weight per day for children under three by CFS. For the details on the amount of food a person has to consume daily before the safety reference value is exceeded, you may click onto the link. As the susceptibility to melamine differs between young children and adults, we have included two sets of limits (a three-year-old child with 10 kg body weight and an adult with 60 kg body weight) as examples. However, transient excursion above the safety reference value of melamine would have no health consequences provided that the average intake over a long period has not exceeded the safety reference value.

Subsequently, the World Health Organisation (WHO) announced on 5 December 2008 that the TDI for melamine was established at 0.2mg per kg of body weight per day.

14. What is the advice to consumers?
Caregivers should not feed infant formula or other milk products that were contaminated with melamine to infants and young children. Individuals should seek medical advice if they have urinary symptoms including the development of urinary stone and with history of exposure to melamine containing dairy products.

15. How can the public get information on food products contaminated with melamine?
Public can call CFS's telephone hotline at 2381 6096 (Monday to Friday: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm ) for enquiry. There will be no service on Saturday, Sunday and public holiday. Public can also refer to CFS's website for the updated test results of the food product samples.

16. What is the legal limit for melamine in food in Hong Kong ?
Under the amended Harmful Substances in Food Regulation (Cap. 132 AF), milk, any food intended to be consumed principally by children under the age of 36 months and any food intended to be consumed principally by pregnant or lactating women shall not contain melamine exceeding 1 mg/kg. For other food, melamine level shall not exceed 2.5 mg/kg.

17. Can the enforcement limits of melamine in food protect public health?
WHO announced on 5 December 2008 that the limits for melamine in infant formula (1mg/kg) and in other food (2.5mg/kg), same as the limits that we adopted, provide a sufficient margin of safety as compared to the TDI. The health of children and adults will not be affected upon consuming foods that comply with the enforcement limits. For melamine intake, occasional excursion above the safety reference value would have no health consequences provided that the average intake over a long period does not exceed the value.

18. How about limits for melamine set by other food safety authorities?
As of 10 December 2008 , Mainland China and many food safety authorities of developed countries have established limits for melamine in food :

The Ministry of Health of the Mainland has established interim limits for melamine in infant formula and follow-up formula at 1 mg/kg; liquid milk (including raw milk), milk powder and other formula at 2.5 mg/kg; and other food containing more than 15% of milk at 2.5 mg/kg.

The European Commission requires that any products originating in or consigned from China containing milk,or milk products, soya or soya products should be subject to documentary, identity and physical checks, including laboratory analysis, to determine that any levels of melamine present in the product do not exceed 2.5 mg/kg.

The Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) considers that a maximum level of 1 mg/kg for melamine in infant formula and a maximum level of 2.5 mg/kg for melamine in dairy-based foods and foods containing dairy-based ingredients are appropriate.

The New Zealand Food Safety Authority (NZFSA) sets the limit of 2.5 mg/kg for most foods (final form) before regulatory action is considered. For infant formula, this level is set to the level of test detection of 1 mg/kg.

Health Canada sets a maximum level of 0.5 mg/kg for melamine in infant formula and sole source nutrition products, including meal replacement products and a maximum level of 2.5 mg/kg in other food products containing milk and milk-derived ingredients.

The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) indicates that food, other than infant formula, with levels of melamine and melamine-related compounds below 2.5 mg/kg do not raise public health concerns. For infant formula, levels of melamine below 1.0 mg/kg also do not raise public health concerns.

19. Why doesn't CFS report the melamine levels of the satisfactory products?
Currently, food products including milk, food intended to be consumed principally by children under the age of 36 months, pregnant or lactating women containing melamine at levels below 1 mg/kg and other food containing melamine at levels below 2.5 mg/kg are considered satisfactory. Food products containing melamine below these levels should present no health risk to the public. Quantifying and reporting the melamine levels of these satisfactory food products require additional resources and take longer laboratory testing time. The Expert Group on Melamine Incident set up by the Government in end September 2008 opined that at that juncture, resources should be utilized to examine more high risk foods rather than on checking levels below the regulatory limit of 1 mg/kg. The public is assured that consumption of food products meeting the regulatory limits would not put their health at risk. Both children and adults are well protected by the local enforcement limits.

20. Will there be any risk if all the foods we consume everyday contain melamine at the levels just below the legal limits?
When the regulatory standards were set, we have taken into consideration the scenario that all the foods we consume everyday contain melamine at the levels just below the legal limits. A margin of safety has also been built in. The legal limits for melamine are 1 mg/kg for milk, any food intended to be consumed principally by children under the age of 36 months and any food intended to be consumed principally by pregnant or lactating women and 2.5 mg/kg for other food. Based on the best available science and results of risk assessment, there is no risk to public health even if all the foods we consume everyday contain melamine at the levels just below the legal limits.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 24-12-2008

1. 什麼是三聚氰胺?

    三聚氰胺(Melamine)是工業用化學品,用於製造三聚氰胺樹脂,以製造膠板、膠水、黏膠、模塑料、塗料、紙品、紡織品、防火溶液或混凝土高效減水劑。

  2. 三聚氰胺如何摻入嬰兒奶粉中?

    在牛奶內加入三聚氰胺摻雜物質,可產生奶類製品蛋白質含量增加的假象。任何分量的三聚氰胺均不可加入食物內。

  3. 三聚氰胺的毒性如何?

    三聚氰胺的急性口服毒性甚低。但實驗已證實,動物攝入過量三聚氰胺會出現泌尿系統結石。實驗研究顯示,三聚氰胺不會破壞細胞的基因物質。另外,也沒有足夠證據顯示三聚氰胺會令人患癌。

  4. 嬰兒奶粉含三聚氰胺對嬰兒有何影響?

    最近,內地數以萬計飲用 "三鹿牌" 奶粉的嬰兒患上腎病,包括出現泌尿系統結石,而嬰兒很少患上這些病症。由於奶是嬰兒的主要食糧,他們按體重計所攝入的三聚氰胺分量遠高於進食不同種類食物的成人,因此他們較容易出現泌尿系統結石。此外, "三鹿牌" 嬰兒奶粉檢出的三聚氰胺含量特別高(達每公斤2563毫克) ,以致可能難於排出體外。

  5. 嬰幼兒食用含三聚氰胺奶粉導致泌尿系統結石後可能會出現哪些症狀 ?

    症狀包括不明原因哭鬧、血尿、少尿或無尿、尿中排出結石、尿痛、排尿困難及高血壓等。

  6. 成人食用問題的奶對健康影響有多大?

    根據內地的情況,超過 99% 受三聚氰胺奶粉影響的受害者均為三歲以下的兒童。由於成人對三聚氰胺的敏感度較低,而且並不是以奶為主要食物來源,所以成人食用含三聚氰胺的奶對健康風險較低。

  7. 食物中三聚氰胺對孕婦及胎兒的健康有甚麼影響?

    根據內地的情況,超過99%受三聚氰胺奶粉影響的受害者均為三歲以下的兒童。現時並沒有三聚氰胺對孕婦及胎兒健康影響的數據,動物實驗並沒有顯示三聚氰胺有導致胎兒畸形。

  8. 食物中三聚氰胺對老年人的健康有甚麼影響?

    根據內地的情況,超過99%受三聚氰胺奶粉影響的受害者均為三歲以下的兒童。現時並沒有三聚氰胺對老年人健康影響的數據,然而,奶類食品只佔成人整體食物來源的一部分,因此成人食用含三聚氰胺的奶粉對健康風險較低。

  9. 長期食用含三聚氰胺的食物對健康有甚麼影響?

    現時並沒有長期食用三聚氰胺對人體健康影響的數據,動物實驗數據顯示三聚氰胺能迅速排出體外。但根據內地的數據顯示,超過99%受三聚氰胺奶粉影響的受害者均為三歲以下的兒童,而且大多數是在食用受汚染奶粉的3至6個月後出現泌尿系統疾病。

  10. 內地哪些產品檢出含三聚氰胺 ?

    檢出含三聚氰胺乳粉和企業的名單現載於國家質量監督檢驗檢疫總局的網站。消費者可於該 官方網站 取得最新資料。

  11. 受三聚氰胺污染的嬰兒奶粉 ( 包括 " 三鹿牌 " 奶粉 ) 和內地當局檢出含三聚氰胺的奶粉有否在香港出售?

    有問題的奶粉並未發現在香港出售。在香港以外地方購買有關產品的人士應立即停止飲用有關產品。

  12. 本港市面出售的嬰兒奶粉、其他奶類產品或其他食品有否檢出三聚氰胺?

    食物安全中心自2008年9月中開始已在本港市面抽取嬰兒奶粉和其他以牛奶製造的產品樣本,包括鮮奶、雪糕、雪條、酸乳酪、嬰兒食品、醫療用營養補充劑、即沖飲品、餅乾、蛋糕、麵包、朱古力及糖果等進行檢測。中心已參照三聚氰胺專家小組的建議,在第二階段的食物抽樣工作擴及食物原材料(如雞蛋 )、肉類和蔬菜,並已於2008年11月16日完成。中心亦已於2008年11月17日展開第三階段的檢測,當中會再抽驗在先前兩個階段被驗出不合格的食物種類。直至2008年12月23日共有來自18個品牌的40個樣本檢出三聚氰胺水平不合格,含量由百萬分之一點四至百萬分之六十八不等。檢測結果已上載到中心的網站 (www.cfs.gov.hk) 。三聚氰胺含量最高的樣本為一款餅乾樣本。所有有問題的產品現已下架及於市面回收。中心會繼續密切監察有關情況。

  13. 每人要食用了多少三聚氰胺含量超過法例標準的食物,才會超過安全參考值 ?

    根據美國食物及藥物管理局於2008年9月的資料,三聚氰胺的安全參考值(即每日可容忍攝入量)為每日每公斤體重0.63毫克。由於三歲或以下的兒童對三聚氰胺較敏感,食物安全中心把他們的安全參考值定為每日每公斤體重0.32毫克。你可點擊 連結 ,去了解每天要食用多少在香港發現三聚氰胺含量超出法例標準的食物的詳情。由於幼童和成人對三聚氰胺的反應有所不同,因此我們提供兩組資料(體重10公斤的三歲幼童和體重 60 公斤的成年人)作為例子。無論如何,只要長期平均的攝入量不超出安全參考值,偶爾超出這個參考值並不會影響健康。

    其後,世界衞生組織於2008年12月5日公布三聚氰胺的每日可容忍攝入量為每日每公斤體重0.2毫克。

  14. 有什麼建議給消費者 ?

    家長及照顧嬰兒的人士不應讓嬰兒飲用受三聚氰胺污染的嬰兒奶粉。個別人士如有不正常的排尿症狀(包括出現泌尿系統結石) ,以及曾進食含三聚氰胺的奶類產品,應就醫診治。

  15. 公眾如何查詢有關含三聚氰胺食物產品的資料?

    市民可在星期一至五早上9時至下午6時致電中心電話熱線 2381 6096查詢。星期六、星期日及公眾假期休息。市民亦可瀏覽 中心網頁 以獲取最新的食物產品測試結果。

  16. 香港食物中三聚氰胺含量的法定上限為何?

    根據經修訂的《食物內有害物質規例》 (第132AF章) ,奶類、擬主要供36個月以下幼兒食用的任何食物,以及擬主要供懷孕或授乳的女性食用的任何食物,其三聚氰胺含量均不得超過每公斤1毫克。至於其他食物,三聚氰胺含量不得超過每公斤2.5毫克。

  17. 食物中三聚氰胺含量的法定限值能否保障公眾健康?

    世界衞生組織於2008年12月5日公布,與每日可容忍攝入量比較,嬰兒奶粉的三聚氰胺含量限值(每公斤1毫克)及其他食物的三聚氰胺含量限值(每公斤2.5毫克)(與我們定的限量一致)已提供足夠安全容差。倘食用的食物符合法定限值,兒童及成人的健康便不會受到影響。至於三聚氰胺攝入量,只要長期平均的攝入量不超出安全參考值,偶爾超出這個參考值並不會影響健康。

  18. 其他食物安全機構訂定的三聚氰胺含量的限量值為何 ?

    截至2008年12月10日止,中國內地和多個已發展國家的食物安全機構已制定了食物中三聚氰胺含量的限量值:

    中國衛生部為嬰幼兒配方奶粉中三聚氰胺制訂的臨時管理限量值是每公斤1毫克;液態奶(包括原料奶)、奶粉、其他配方奶粉中三聚氰胺的臨時管理限量值是每公斤2.5毫克;含乳15%以上的其他食品中三聚氰胺的臨時管理限量值是每公斤2.5毫克。

    歐盟委員會要求所有來自中國或從中國託運的以奶或奶製品、大豆或豆製品作配料的產品,均須接受書面、出產證明及實品查驗,包括化驗分析,以確定該產品之三聚氰胺值不超過每公斤2.5毫克。

    澳洲及新西蘭食物標準局認為把嬰兒配方奶粉的限量值定為每公斤1毫克和把以乳為主的食物和含乳配料的食物的限量值定為每公斤2.5毫克是適當的。

    新西蘭食物安全局把大部分食物(最終製成品)的限量值定為每公斤2.5毫克,若每公斤食物含三聚氰胺值超過2.5毫克,該局會考慮採取執法行動。嬰兒配方奶粉的限量值則定為檢測限量值,即每公斤1毫克。

    加拿大衛生部制定嬰兒配方奶粉和專賣營養品,包括代餐產品之三聚氰胺限量值為每公斤0.5毫克。其他含奶或奶源配料的產品之三聚氰胺限量值為每公斤2.5毫克。

    美國食品及藥物管理局表示,除嬰兒配方奶粉之外的其他食品,若其三聚氰胺和三聚氰胺相關化合物值低於每公斤2.5毫克,則不會對公眾健康構成風險。至於嬰兒奶粉,若其三聚氰胺值低於每公斤1.0毫克,亦不會對公眾健康構成風險。

  19. 為甚麼食物安全中心不公布合格樣本的三聚氰胺含量?

    現時,食物,包括奶類、擬主要供36個月以下幼兒食用的任何食物,以及擬主要供懷孕或授乳的女性食用的任何食物,其三聚氰胺含量少於每公斤1毫克及其他食物的三聚氰胺含量少於每公斤2.5毫克,是為合格。三聚氰胺含量低於這些水平的食物不會對公眾健康構成風險。量化並報告那些合格食物的三聚氰胺含量需要額外的資源及更長的化驗檢測時間。政府成立的三聚氰胺事件專家小組於2008年9月底表示在重要關頭,資源應用於檢測更多高風險食物,而非檢驗低於法定限值(每公斤1毫克) 的水平。進食符合法定水平的食物不會對公眾健康構成風險。本地法定的限值能充份保障兒童及成人的健康。

  20. 如果每日所吃的食物都含有三聚氰胺,而其含量剛好低於法定上限,會對健康構成風險嗎?

    我們在制定規管標準法例時,已經考慮到每日所吃的食物都含有三聚氰胺,而其含量剛好低於法定上限這個情况。標準已涵蓋安全容差。就奶類、擬主要供36個月以下幼兒食用的任何食物,以及擬主要供懷孕或授乳的女性食用的任何食物而言,三聚氰胺的法定上限是每公斤1毫克。至於其他食物,則是每公斤2.5毫克。根據現有最新的科學證據及風險評估的結果,即使所有食物都含有三聚氰胺,而含量剛好低於法定上限,每日進食亦不會對公眾健康構成風險。