Reduction of Dietary Sodium and Sugars

Background

The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends that adults should consume less than 5 g of salt (2,000 mg sodium) daily for the reduction of blood pressure and risk of cardiovascular disease and stroke. The WHO also sets a global target of 30% relative reduction in mean population intake of salt/sodium intake by 2025.

In Hong Kong, the Report of Population Health Survey 2014/2015 published by the Department of Health revealed that persons aged 15-84 had a daily salt intake of 8.8g per day (~3,520 mg sodium). The vast majority (86.3%) of persons aged 15-84 had dietary salt intake above the WHO recommended daily limit. In addition, a target of a 30% relative reduction in mean population intake of salt/sodium intake by 2025 was set in the Non-Communicable Diseases Strategy and Action Plan launched by the Government.

Voluntary Sodium Reduction Targets

The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) sets “voluntary sodium reduction targets” to facilitate the members of food trade to reduce the sodium content in food through product reformulation, so as to reduce the sodium intake of the Hong Kong people to the level recommended by the WHO (less than 5g salt daily, which equivalent to 2000mg sodium).

By making reference from the recommendations of the WHO and overseas experiences, the CFS sets voluntary sodium reduction targets (average and maximum) for food using the results of the CFS' studies as the baseline, so as to facilitate the product reformulation work from the members of the food trade. After discussion with the members of trade, the CFS first sets voluntary sodium reduction targets for prepackaged white bread and wholemeal bread (with nutrition labels).

Voluntary sodium reduction targets for prepackaged white bread and wholemeal bread (with nutrition labels) (September 2019)

Prepackaged
bread type
(with nutrition labels)
Voluntary sodium reduction targets – mg sodium /100g
Average
(One-year target)
Maximum
(One-year target)
White bread 380 490
Wholemeal bread 380 470

Salt Reduction Scheme

The CFS cordially invites members of trade to participate in the Salt Reduction Scheme (Scheme), so as strive to (i) reduce salt contents in food through product reformulation, (ii) reduce sodium contents in food in accordance to the voluntary sodium reduction targets, and (iii) reduce the salt intake of the Hong Kong people to the level recommended by the World Health Organization. For participation of the Scheme, please download and complete the application form and send it the Risk Communication Section of the CFS by facsimile (fax number: 2803 0534), by email (rc@fehd.gov.hk) or by mail to 1/F, 4 Hospital Road, Sai Ying Pun, Hong Kong.

Participated Organisation (According to alphabetical order)

  1. A-1 Bakery Co.,(HK) Ltd.
  2. King Bakery Holdings Limited
  3. Maria's Bakery
  4. PARKnSHOP(HK) Limited
  5. Saint Honore Cake Shop Ltd.
  6. Tai Pan Bread & Cakes Co. Ltd.
  7. The Garden Company Limited

降低膳食中的鈉和糖

背景

世界衞生組織(世衞)建議一般成年人每日的鈉攝取量應少於2,000毫克(約5克食鹽),以減低患上高血壓、心血管疾病及中風的風險,並建議到二零二五年鹽/鈉的攝取量目標應相對減少30%。

根據衞生署發布之<<二零一四至二零一五年度人口健康調查報告書>>發現,15-84歲本地人士平均每日攝取8.8克鹽(約3520毫克鈉),每日鹽攝取量超出世衞建議的人口比例有86.3%。此外,政府推行《邁向2025:香港非傳染病防控策略及行動計劃》,當中訂立了在二零二五年或之前把人均鹽/鈉攝取量相對減少30%的目標。

自願減鈉目標

食物安全中心(中心)制訂“自願減鈉目標”,目的是協助食物業界改良食物配方以減低食物的鈉含量,以減低香港市民的鈉攝取量,達致世衞建議的水平(每日少於5克鹽,即2000毫克鈉)。

中心參考世界衞生組織的建議及外國的經驗,並以中心的研究作為基數,為食物制訂自願減鈉目標(平均值及上限),以便利業界進行改良食物配方的工作。在與業界商討後,中心首先為附有營養標籤的預先包裝白方包及麥方包制定自願減鈉目標,

預先包裝 (附有營養標籤) 白方包及麥方包自願減鈉目標 (2019年9月)

預先包裝
(附有營養標籤)
麵包種類

自願減鈉目標 – 每100克鈉含量 (毫克)
平均
 
上限
 
白方包 380 490
麥方包 380 470

減鹽計劃

中心誠邀食物業界參與減鹽計劃(計劃),致力:(i) 改良食物配方以減低食物的鹽含量;(ii) 按照自願減鈉目標減低食物的鈉含量;及(iii)減低香港市民的鹽攝取量,以達致世界衞生組織建議的水平。如欲參與計劃,請下載及填妥報名表格,以傳真(傳真號碼:2803 0534) 、電郵(rc@fehd.gov.hk)或郵寄交回香港西營盤醫院道4號1樓食物安全中心風險傳達組。

參與機構 (按英文字母順序排列)

  1. 英王麵包(香港)有限公司
  2. 蛋撻王控股有限公司
  3. 超羣餅店
  4. 百佳超級市場(香港)有限公司
  5. 聖安娜餅屋有限公司
  6. 大班麵包西餅有限公司
  7. 嘉頓有限公司