Programme Areas >> Risk Assessment in Food Safety Print Friendly

Malachite Green in Foods

Introduction

1. There are concerns over the presence of the potential carcinogenic chemical malachite green (MG) in various freshwater fish and their products. This brief gives an account of this substance and the risk to public health in light of available scientific information and the recent food surveillance findings.

Malachite Green

1. Malachite green (MG) is a synthetic dye used to colour different materials such as silk, wool, cotton and paper.

2. MG has been used commonly worldwide in aquaculture as early as the 1930s and is considered by many in the fish farming industry as an effective antifungal and antiprotozoal agent. It has been used for the treatment of parasitic, fungal and protozoan diseases in fish and applied as a topical antiseptic.

3. When fish is treated with MG, this substance will be absorbed and metabolised in tissues of fish. It has been reported that one of its major metabolites, namely, leucomalachite green (LMG), would persist in fish tissues for a long period of time. It was also more recently reported to be detected in low levels in wild fish (including those fish that lives downstream from the effluents of treated sewage), which suggest MG can exist as background contaminants in fish that are not intentionally treated with MG.

Public Health Significance

1. The international food safety authority Joint FAO/WHO Expert Committee on Food Additives (JECFA) had evaluated MG in 2009.  The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) has not evaluated the carcinogenicity of MG.

2. In some research studies in experimental animals, MG was found to be toxic to the liver, and abnormalities in the thyroid, and affect the foetal development of the experimental animals.

3. Animal studies also suggest that MG may cause thyroid gland follicular cell adenoma and carcinoma in rats and liver cancer in mice. However, there is yet no evidence of carcinogenicity for MG in humans.

4. As for genotoxicity (ability to cause damage to genes), there are some evidences that a genotoxic mechanism may be possible in certain high dose LMG animal experiments.

5. Due to its ability to cause cancer in experimental animals, it is not appropriate to use MG in food fish. Given the toxicological information available, extensive abuse of MG in aquaculture may result in excessive exposure to MG by the consumers resulting in adverse health consequences.

6. As MG and LMG are possibly both genotoxic and carcinogenic, the margin of exposure approach has been used by JECFA for risk assessment, based on the pivotal effect of induction of hepatocellular adenomas or carcinomas in female mice treated with LMG.  The MOE values can be used to compare the level of concerns among different exposure levels.

Regulation

1. Codex has not established food safety standards for MG in food. However, Codex has established a recommended risk management measures on MG in 2014, stating that “In view of the JECFA conclusions on the available scientific information, there is no safe level of residues of malachite green or its metabolites in food that represents an acceptable risk to consumers. For this reason, competent authorities should prevent residues of malachite green in food. This can be accomplished by not using malachite green in food producing animals.”

2. The US, the EU (including the UK), Canada, and the Mainland do not permit the use of MG as a veterinary drug on food animals, aquaculture or fish for human consumption. At the same time, the EU has also established a level of 2 μg/kg for MG and LMG residues in aquatic products, which acts as an action limit for internationally traded food consignments in EU, below which food consignments with MG and LMG levels will not be rejected.

3. In Hong Kong, MG has been included in the Harmful Substances in Food Regulations since 2005 to prohibit the presence of MG in all food sold in Hong Kong. This legislative amendment makes it an offence to import or sell for human consumption any food containing MG. Offenders will be prosecuted and upon conviction will be liable to a fine of $50,000 and to imprisonment for 6 months.

Advice to the Trade

1. Do not use MG on food fish from culture to retail levels. Operate all food fish-related businesses under good agriculture practices.

2. Buy fish from reputable suppliers or importers. Avoid buying fish from dubious sources. In case of doubt, ask for and check documents and certificates accompanying the consignment to ensure the supply is MG free.

Advice to Consumers

1. Buy food fish from reputable sources. Do not patronise illegal hawkers selling food fish and their products.

2. Maintain a balanced diet with a wide variety of food.

Risk Assessment Section
March 2016

Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 24-03-2016

引 言

  1. 淡水魚或其製品中可能存有致癌物孔雀石綠一事備受關注。本簡訊根據現有的科學資料和最近的食物監察結果,介紹孔雀石綠和這物質對公眾健康的風險。

孔雀石綠

  1. 孔雀石綠本身是一種合成染料,用於為絲、羊毛、棉及紙等不同物料染色。
  2. 不過,早在上世紀三十年代,世界各地已廣泛使用孔雀石綠養殖水產。養魚業普遍視孔雀石綠為有效的抗真菌劑和抗原蟲劑,一直用以治療魚類的寄生蟲、真菌和原蟲疾病,並作外用抗感染藥使用。
  3. 以孔雀石綠治療魚類,這物質會被魚體組織吸收,產生代謝物。有報告指出,孔雀石綠其中一種主要代謝物"無色孔雀石綠",會長時間留在魚體組織內。近期也有報道,指在野生魚類(包括在經處理污水排放範圍下游生長的魚類)體內檢出低量孔雀石綠,意味沒有特別接受孔雀石綠治療的魚類,也可經由背景污染而沾染這種化學物。

對公眾健康的影響

  1. 屬於國際食物安全組織的聯合國糧食及農業組織∕世界衞生組織聯合食物添加劑專家委員會(專家委員會)在2009年曾對孔雀石綠進行評估,而國際癌症研究機構未有評估孔雀石綠的致癌性。
  2. 一些動物實驗研究結果顯示,孔雀石綠可毒害實驗動物的肝臟,引致甲狀腺異常,並影響胎兒成長。
  3. 亦有一些動物研究發現,孔雀石綠會使大鼠的甲狀腺出現濾泡狀腺瘤和癌,令小鼠的肝臟形成腫瘤,但目前未有證據證實孔雀石綠可令人類患癌。
  4. 在基因毒性(對基因造成的破壞力)方面,有證據顯示,在一些高劑量無色孔雀石綠的動物實驗中,發現基因毒性機制可能存在。
  5. 由於孔雀石綠可令實驗動物患癌,故不宜用於食用魚類。根據現有的毒理學資料,如在養殖水產時濫用孔雀石綠,可能令食用人士過量攝入這種物質,引致健康受損。
  6. 由於孔雀石綠和無色孔雀石綠均可能帶有基因毒性和引致癌症,專家委員會因應無色孔雀石綠可誘發雌性小鼠身上出現肝臟細胞腺瘤或癌症的特性,以暴露限值的方式對孔雀石綠進行風險評估。有關的暴露限值可用以比較不同暴露程度對健康的影響是否值得關注。

規管

  1. 食品法典委員會不曾就食物中使用孔雀石綠制訂食物安全標準,但該委員會在2014年就對於孔雀石綠的風險管理措施作出建議,內容指"專家委員會基於現有的科學資料,認為沒有一個安全的孔雀石綠或其代謝物的殘餘水平能夠顯示一個可接受的食用風險。因此,主管當局應防止食物含有殘餘孔雀石綠,而這可以從禁止對食用動物施加孔雀石綠達致。"
  2. 美國、歐盟(包括英國)、加拿大和內地均禁止以孔雀石綠為獸藥,用於供人食用的動物、水產養殖或魚類身上。與此同時,歐盟以水產中含有每公斤2微克的孔雀石綠和無色孔雀石綠殘餘含量水平,以此作決定歐盟國家在國際食品貿易中所採取的行動。這代表如果孔雀石綠和無色孔雀石綠含量低於這個水平,有關食物輸入歐盟時不會受到禁制。
  3. 香港自2005年起把孔雀石綠列入《食物內有害物質規例》的監管範圍,即禁止所有在港出售的食物含有孔雀石綠。這項法例修訂列明任何人如輸入或售賣含有孔雀石綠而供人食用的食物,即屬犯罪。違者會被檢控,一經定罪,可處罰款5萬元及監禁6個月。

給業界的建議

  1. 由養殖至零售各階段,切勿在食用魚使用孔雀石綠。業界在經營所有與食用魚有關的行業,均應奉行優良務農規範。
  2. 向信譽良好的供應商或進口商購魚。避免買入來歷不明的魚類。如有疑問,應要求查閱付運文件和證明書,確保來貨不含孔雀石綠。

給消費者的建議

  1. 向信譽良好的店鋪 ∕ 攤檔購買食用魚。切勿向無牌小販購買食用魚及魚類製品。
  2. 保持飲食均衡,進食不同種類的食物。

風險評估組
2016年3月