Radiation and Health (Q 1.1 - 1.5) Radiation and Food Safety (Q 2.1 - 2.11) Import Surveillance and Control (Q 3.1 - 3.6)  Iodine Prophylaxis and Health Concern (Q 4.1 - 4.10) Radiological Standard for Bottled/Packaged Waters under Routine Condition (Q5.1-5.5)

Import Surveillance and Control  

3.1 What are the new import restrictions on Japanese foods? Under the new import restrictions, what measures would the Centre for Food Safety take to ensure food safety?

The new import restrictions on Japanese foods come into effect on 24 July 2018. In summary, vegetables, fruits, milk, milk beverages and dried milk from the four prefectures (namely Ibaraki, Tochigi, Chiba and Gunma) are allowed to be imported with the conditions that they are accompanied by both a radiation certificate and an exporter certificate issued by the Japanese authority.

Two levels of gatekeeping are involved under the new arrangement, i.e. the Japanese Government’s gatekeeping work at the places of export and CFS’ gatekeeping work at the import level. At export level, the Japanese authority which issue the radiation certificates and exporter certificates must ensure that each consignment of those products do not come from Fukushima and attest that the radiation levels of the food products do not exceed the Codex levels as well as the more stringent Japanese levels. At the import level, the CFS will continue to conduct radiation tests on every consignment of food products imported from Japan. Food products can only enter the local market after radiation testing has been conducted. The CFS will strengthen inspection and testing on vegetables, fruits and milk products from the four prefectures. The radiation test results will continue to be updated on the CFS’s website every working day for public access.

Other import restrictions on food from Japan remain unchanged. Hong Kong bans all vegetables and fruit, milk, milk beverages and dried milk from Fukushima. Moreover, all chilled or frozen game, meat and poultry, poultry eggs and live, chilled or frozen aquatic products from those five prefectures may be imported into Hong Kong only if accompanied by a certificate issued by competent authority of Japan certifying that the radiation levels do not exceed the Codex Guideline Levels.

CFS's situation update of radiation tests on food imported from Japan

3.2 What are the factors that the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has taken into account when updating the import control on Japanese foods?

In response to the Fukushima nuclear incident, the CFS has immediately stepped up surveillance on radiation levels of food products imported from Japan to safeguard food safety. The CFS has been reviewing the risk management measures on food products imported from Japan in the light of the latest situation. Ensuring food safety is the Government’s prime consideration. Other factors taken into account include local surveillance results, assessments made by international expert organisations, surveillance results of the Japanese Government, the latest position of import control on Japanese food by other economies, consistency of the control measures with the World Trade Organization’s requirements1 and public concern, etc..

1 World Trade Organization’s Sanitary and Phytosanitary Agreement stipulates that when establishing or maintaining sanitary or phytosanitary measures to achieve the appropriate level of sanitary or phytosanitary protection, Members shall ensure that such measures are not more trade restrictive than required to achieve their appropriate level of sanitary or phytosanitary protection, taking into account scientific evidence, relevant inspection, sampling and testing methods, technical and economic feasibility, etc..

3.3 What is the measurement for radioactive substances in foodstuffs?

The level of radionuclides in foodstuffs is presented as activity per unit volume or per unit mass. The activity is the number of disintegrations per unit time taking place in a radioactive material. The unit of measurement is Becquerel (Bq) in which one Becquerel equal to one radioactive disintegration per second.

For example, the guideline level established by Codex Alimentarius Commission for caesium-137 in infant foods is 1000 Bq/kg.*

*For multiple radionuclides, the activity concentrations of each radionuclide within the same group should be added together.

3.4 What is the testing procedure?

Consignments will be initially screened by the CFS staff using Hand-held survey meters .Sample will then be taken for screening using the Contamination Monitoring System (CMS). Sample with reading beyond the limits will be sent to Government Laboratory (GL) for further quantitative analysis of Iodine-131, Caesium -134 and Caesium -137. Besides, additional samples will also be sent to GL for test.

3.5 What are the criteria adopted at present in testing the level of radioactive contamination in Japanese food products, and the measures to be adopted when some food products are found to have a level of radioactive contamination exceeding the normal standard?

CFS currently adopts the standards laid down by the Codex Alimentarius Commission, which are international standards, in the Guidelines Levels for Radionuclides in Food following Accidental Nuclear Contamination in testing the radiation levels of food. Relevant radionuclides include iodine-131 (100 Bq/kg), caesium-134 and caesium-137 (1,000 Bq/kg), etc, which are most closely associated with health risks.

If a consignment of food is tested to have exceeded the contamination standard, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department will immediately detain that consignment and arrange for disposal. According to Codex, when radionuclide levels in food do not exceed the corresponding guideline levels, the food should be considered as safe for human consumption.

3.6 It has been circulating on the internet that "the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has issued Import Alert #99-33 to prohibit the import of Japanese food products due to radionuclide contamination. The food products include milk, butter, dried milk , milk-based infant formula and other milk products, vegetables and vegetable products, rice, whole grain, fish, meat and poultry, venus clams, sea urchin, yuzu fruit, kiwi fruit. So it is better not to eat them!" Does Hong Kong's import control of Japanese foods suffice? Is it more lenient than other countries?

Export control measures adopted in Japan

After the incident at Tokyo Electric Power Company's Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Station in March 2011, the Japanese Government has instituted a series of remedial measures to ensure the safety of domestic and exported food supplies, such as tightening the regulatory limits of radionuclide levels in food, monitoring of food and materials for agricultural production, restricting distribution of food products with radionuclide levels that exceed the regulatory limits, as well as decontamination of farmland. For details, please refer to website of Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan.

Import control of Japanese food products by the United States (US)

In the wake of Fukushima Daiichi incident, individual country / region has implemented measures deemed fit to the local circumstances and risk assessment results. As such, the number of prefectures and categories of food products covered under their import control measures may differ from those implemented in Hong Kong. In the US, for example, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) imposes import restriction on Japanese foods (Import Alert 99-33) by making reference to the list of food products that are restricted from export by the Japanese Government. When the Japanese Government updates the list based on their food surveillance results (the list can be found on the website of Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan, the FDA makes changes to the import alert accordingly. In other words, the Japanese food products and prefectures subject to import restrictions in the US mirror the export prohibition measures taken by Japan.

Import control of Japanese food products by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS)

In response to the Fukushima nuclear power plant incident in Japan in 2011, the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene has issued an order to prohibit the import of a number of affected Japanese food products. The CFS has also enhanced monitoring and testing of food imported from Japan for radiation at the import, wholesale and retail levels. The public might wonder whether these control measures can adequately protect public health, noting that the restrictions on Japanese food imports vary by countries/regions.

Currently, apart from the food items that are restricted from export by the Japanese authorities, Hong Kong has banned all vegetables and fruit, milk, milk beverages and dried milk from Fukushima according to the Order issued by the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene on 20 July 2018. Vegetables, fruits, milk, milk beverages and dried milk from the four prefectures (namely Ibaraki, Tochigi, Chiba and Gunma) are allowed to be imported with the conditions that they are accompanied by both a radiation certificate and an exporter certificate issued by the Japanese authority. Moreover, all chilled or frozen game, meat and poultry, poultry eggs and live, chilled or frozen aquatic products from those five prefectures may be imported into Hong Kong only if accompanied by a certificate issued by competent authority of Japan certifying that the radiation levels do not exceed the Codex Guideline Levels. The CFS will continue to monitor the latest development from international and Japanese authorities, and follow up on the restrictions on Japanese food imports in due course.

輻射與健康(Q1.1-1.5) 輻射與食物安全(Q2.1-2.11) 進口食物的監察及管制(Q3.1-3.6)  預防性碘劑與健康(Q4.1-4.10) 瓶裝∕包裝飲用水在正常情況下的輻射標準(Q5.1-5.5)

進口食物的監察及管制

3.1有關日本食品進口管制的新安排是怎樣? 在新安排下,食物安全中心會怎樣確保食物安全?

新的日本食品進口限制由2018年7月24日起生效。總括來說,來自四個縣(即茨城、栃木、千葉及群馬)的蔬菜、水果、奶、奶類飲品及奶粉,如附有由日本當局發出的輻射證明書及出口商證明書,可有條件地准予進口。

新安排涉及雙重把關,即日本當局在出口地把關,以及食物安全中心(中心)在進口層面把關。在出口層面,作為簽發輻射證明書及出口商證明書的日本當局,必須確保進口本港的每批日本食品不是來自福島,並證明有關食品的輻射水平不但沒有超出食品法典委員會指引限值,亦沒有超出更嚴格的日本限值。在進口層面,中心會繼續就進口本港的每批日本食品進行輻射檢查。有關食品在進行輻射檢測後才可在本地市場銷售。中心會加強檢查,抽取來自該四個縣的蔬菜、水果及奶類產品進行輻射檢測。中心會繼續於每個工作天在其網頁更新有關的輻射檢測結果,供公眾查閱。

其餘的日本食品進口限制則維持不變。香港禁止來自日本福島的所有蔬菜及水果、奶、奶類飲品及奶粉入口。另外,所有來自上述五個縣的冷凍或冷藏野味、肉類和家禽、禽蛋,及活生、冷凍或冷藏水產品須附有日本主管當局所簽發的證明書,證明有關食物的輻射水平沒有超出食品法典委員會的指引限值,否則亦禁止輸入本港。

中心對日本進口食品進行輻射水平的檢測概況

3.2 食物安全中心已考慮哪些因素,以更新對日本食物的進口限制?

因應福島核電站事故,食物安全中心隨即加強對日本進口食品的輻射監測,並持續檢視對日本進口食物的風險管理措施,以保障食物安全。在訂立管制措施時,政府的首要考慮是確保食物安全,其他考慮因素包括本地監察結果、國際專家組織評估、日本當局監察結果、其他經濟體對日本食物管制的最新情況、有關管制措施與世界貿易組織要求的一致性1、以及公眾關注等。

1世界貿易組織的《衞生與植物衞生協議》規定,制定或維持衞生與植物衞生措施以實現適當衞生或植物衞生保護時,成員在考慮科學證據、相關檢驗、抽樣及檢測方法、技術及經濟可行性等因素後,需確保採取的措施不會超出達致適當衞生或植物衞生保護所需的貿易限制。

3.3 食物中放射性物質的量度單位為何?

食物中的放射性核素含量會以每單位體積或每單位質量的活度表達。活度是指一種放射性物質在每一單位時間可發生的放射性蛻變的數目,量度單位為貝克勒爾(貝可),一貝克勒爾代表每秒發生一次放射性蛻變。

舉例來說,食品法典委員會為嬰兒食品中的銫-137訂出的指引限值為每公斤1000貝可。*

*對於多個放射性核素,在同一組別內每一個放射性核素的活度濃度應加在一起。

3.4 食物安全中心的檢查程序為何 ?

食物安全中心人員會先用手提測量計整批檢查食品,再抽樣進行輻射污染監察系統檢查。超過限值的樣本會送交政府化驗所,以詳細分析碘-131,銫-134和銫-137的含量。此外,還有額外的樣本送往政府化驗所作測試。

3.5 當局是以甚麼準則檢測日本食品受輻射污染的水平,以及根據該等標準,當有食品被驗出的輻射污染水平超標時,當局會採取甚麼措施 ?

中心現時採用「食品法典委員會」有關意外核污染後食物內放射性核素含量的指引作為標準,以檢測食品的輻射水平。有關放射性核素包括碘-131(100Bq/kg)、銫-134和銫-137(1,000Bq/kg)等。

若有關食品超出污染水平,中心即時扣留該批次食品,並安排銷毁食品。根據食品法典委員會,食物內放射性核素含量若合乎有關標準,則可供人安全食用。

3.6 網上曾有消息流傳,指「美國食品藥品管理局發佈的第99-33進口警示,禁止下列日本食品進入美國:鮮奶、黃油、奶粉、嬰兒奶粉、及其它乳製品;蔬菜、及其製品;大米、全麥;魚類;肉類和禽類;蛤蜊類;海膽;柑橘柚類水果;奇異果。原因是核污染(Radionuclide contamination)。看到的不要吃了!」香港就日本進口的食品監管是否足夠?是否較其他國家寬鬆?

日本實施的出口管制措施

在2011年3月東京電力公司福島第一核電站發生核事故後,日本政府採取跟進行動,如收緊食物的輻射水平的規管值、監測食品和供應農業生產的材料、限制輻射水平超出規管值的食品的分銷,以及淨化農地等,以期保障供本土食用及出口的食品安全。有關資料可參閱日本厚生勞動省網站

美國對日本食品實施的進口管制措施

鑑於福島第一核電站發生核事故,個別國家或地區都會因應其風險評估結果和本土情況實施它們認為適合的措施,所以對日本進口食物有所限制的產地、數目或種類,都有可能與香港不同。以美國為例,美國食物及藥物管理局對日本食品進口的限制(美國食物及藥物管理局發佈的第99-33進口警示),是參照日本按其持續食物監測結果而釐定的禁止出口食品名單,並按日本不時更新的名單作出變動(名單見日本厚生勞動省網站),即是說美國禁止進口的日本食品及相關的縣全以日本已實施的出口管制措施為藍本。

食物安全中心對日本食品實施的進口管制措施

自2011年日本福島核電廠輻射泄漏事故發生後,食物環境衞生署署長已發出命令,禁止多種受影響的日本食物輸港。食物安全中心亦一直在進口、批發和零售層面對日本進口食品保持緊密監測檢查。市民或會留意到不同國家或地區有關限制日本食品進口的措施的涵蓋面都有所不同,因而關注香港現時的限制措施是否適合,足以保障市民健康。

現時除了日本當局禁止出口的項目外,根據食物環境衞生署署長於2018年7月20日所發出的命令,香港禁止來自福島縣的所有蔬菜及水果、奶、奶類飲品及奶粉入口。來自四個縣(即茨城、栃木、千葉及群馬)的蔬菜、水果、奶、奶類飲品及奶粉,如附有由日本當局發出的輻射證明書及出口商證明書,可有條件地准予進口。另外,所有來自上述五個縣的冷凍或冷藏野味、肉類和家禽、禽蛋,及活生、冷凍或冷藏水產品須附有日本主管當局所簽發的證明書,證明有關食物的輻射水平沒有超出食品法典委員會的指引限值,否則亦禁止輸入本港。中心會繼續留意國際上及日本的最新發展,並適時就限制日本食品進口措施作出適當跟進。