The Japanese government announced earlier its plan of discharging the wastewater from the Fukushima nuclear power plant into the ocean in about two years. The Center for Food Safety (CFS) is deeply concerned about the incident and the safety of food imported from Japan. The CFS will continue to communicate with the Japanese authorities and actively request for the provision of more relevant information. The CFS will keep on monitoring the latest developments in related matters closely, including the specific arrangements for the discharge of wastewater by the Japanese authorities, radiation test results, and assessments by international expert organizations. It will also review the monitoring and regulatory arrangements for imported food from Japan.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

It has been circulating on the internet that ‘the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has issued Import Alert #99-33 to prohibit the import of Japanese food products due to radionuclide contamination. The food products include milk, butter, dried milk, milk-based infant formula and other milk products, vegetables and vegetable products, rice, whole grain, fish, meat and poultry, venus clams, sea urchin, yuzu fruit, kiwi fruit. So it is better not to eat them!’ Does Hong Kong's import control of Japanese foods suffice? Is it more lenient than other countries?

Export control measures adopted in Japan
After the incident at Tokyo Electric Power Company's Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Station in March 2011, the Japanese Government has instituted a series of remedial measures to ensure the safety of domestic and exported food supplies, such as tightening the regulatory limits of radionuclide levels in food, monitoring of food and materials for agricultural production, restricting distribution of food products with radionuclide levels that exceed the regulatory limits, as well as decontamination of farmland. For details, please refer to website of Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan.

Import control of Japanese food products by the United States (US)
In the wake of Fukushima Daiichi incident, individual country / region has implemented measures deemed fit to the local circumstances and risk assessment results. As such, the number of prefectures and categories of food products covered under their import control measures may differ from those implemented in Hong Kong. In the US, for example, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) imposes import restriction on Japanese foods (Import Alert 99-33) by making reference to the list of food products that are restricted from export by the Japanese Government. When the Japanese Government updates the list based on their food surveillance results (the list can be found on the website of Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan, the FDA makes changes to the import alert accordingly. In other words, the Japanese food products and prefectures subject to import restrictions in the US mirror the export prohibition measures taken by Japan.

Import control of Japanese food products by the Centre for Food Safety (CFS)
In response to the Fukushima nuclear power plant incident in Japan in 2011, the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene has issued an order to prohibit the import of a number of affected Japanese food products. The CFS has also enhanced monitoring and testing of food imported from Japan for radiation at the import, wholesale and retail levels. The public might wonder whether these control measures can adequately protect public health, noting that the restrictions on Japanese food imports vary by countries/regions.

Currently, apart from the food items that are restricted from export by the Japanese authorities(the list can be found on the website of Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan), Hong Kong has banned all vegetables and fruit, milk, milk beverages and dried milk from Fukushima according to the Order issued by the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene on 20 July 2018. Vegetables, fruits, milk, milk beverages and dried milk from the four prefectures (namely Ibaraki, Tochigi, Chiba and Gunma) are allowed to be imported with the conditions that they are accompanied by both a radiation certificate and an exporter certificate issued by the Japanese authority. Moreover, all chilled or frozen game, meat and poultry, poultry eggs and live, chilled or frozen aquatic products from those five prefectures may be imported into Hong Kong only if accompanied by a certificate issued by competent authority of Japan certifying that the radiation levels do not exceed the Codex Guideline Levels. The CFS will continue to monitor the latest development from international and Japanese authorities, and follow up on the restrictions on Japanese food imports in due course.

More FAQs

Publication -- Food Safety Focus

Related Sites

日本政府早前宣布,計劃約兩年後將福島核電站的廢水排放出海洋。食物安全中心(中心)十分關注事件,以及日本進口食品的安全。中心會繼續與日本當局溝通,並主動要求日本當局提供更多相關資訊。中心會繼續密切留意有關事宜的最新發展包括日本當局排放廢水的具體安排、輻射檢測結果、國際專家組織的評估等,亦會適時檢視對日本進口食品的監測及規管安排。

常見問題

網上曾有消息流傳,指「美國食品藥品管理局發佈的第99-33進口警示,禁止下列日本食品進入美國: 鮮奶、黃油、奶粉、嬰兒奶粉、及其它乳製品; 蔬菜、及其製品; 大米、全麥; 魚類; 肉類和禽類; 蛤蜊類; 海膽; 柑橘柚類水果; 奇異果。原因是核污染(Radionuclide contamination)。看到的不要吃了!」香港就日本進口的食品監管是否足夠?是否較其他國家寬鬆?

日本實施的出口管制措施
在2011年3月東京電力公司福島第一核電站發生核事故後,日本政府採取跟進行動,如收緊食物的輻射水平的規管值、監測食品和供應農業生產的材料、限制輻射水平超出規管值的食品的分銷,以及淨化農地等,以期保障供本土食用及出口的食品安全。有關資料可參閱日本厚生勞動省網站

美國對日本食品實施的進口管制措施
鑑於福島第一核電站發生核事故,個別國家或地區都會因應其風險評估結果和本土情況實施它們認為適合的措施,所以對日本進口食物有所限制的產地、數目或種類,都有可能與香港不同。以美國為例,美國食物及藥物管理局對日本食品進口的限制(美國食物及藥物管理局發佈的第99-33進口警示),是參照日本按其持續食物監測結果而釐定的禁止出口食品名單,並按日本不時更新的名單作出變動(名單日本厚生勞動省網站),即是說美國禁止進口的日本食品及相關的縣全以日本已實施的出口管制措施為藍本。

食物安全中心對日本食品實施的進口管制措施
2011年日本福島核電廠輻射泄漏事故發生後,食物環境衞生署署長已發出命令,禁止多種受影響的日本食物輸港。食物安全中心亦一直在進口、批發和零售層面對日本進口食品保持緊密監測檢查。市民或會留意到不同國家或地區有關限制日本食品進口的措施的涵蓋面都有所不同,因而關注香港現時的限制措施是否適合,足以保障市民健康。

現時除了日本當局禁止出口的項目外(名單日本厚生勞動省網站),根據食物環境衞生署署長於2018年7月20日所發出的命令,香港禁止來自福島縣的所有蔬菜及水果、奶、奶類飲品及奶粉入口。來自四個縣(即茨城、栃木、千葉及群馬)的蔬菜、水果、奶、奶類飲品及奶粉,如附有由日本當局發出的輻射證明書及出口商證明書,可有條件地准予進口。另外,所有來自上述五個縣的冷凍或冷藏野味、肉類和家禽、禽蛋,及活生、冷凍或冷藏水產品須附有日本主管當局所簽發的證明書,證明有關食物的輻射水平沒有超出食品法典委員會的指引限值,否則亦禁止輸入本港。中心會繼續留意國際上及日本的最新發展,並適時就限制日本食品進口措施作出適當跟進。

有指一些入口商刻意更改產地標籤以隱瞞食品是由那個日本省份進口,政府如何把關?

就預先包裝食物而言,根據香港法例第132W章,食物須加上可閱的標籤,列明有關食物的-

  1. 製造商或包裝商的全名及地址;或
  2. (i)有關食物原產國家的說明,再加上(ii)香港經銷商的名稱及(iii)香港經銷商的地址;讓消費者獲得相關資訊或作查詢。

雖然條例未有進一步規定必須列出有關食物是來自那一個縣,食安中心現時根據食物監測計劃就日本進口食品進行的檢測(包括輻射檢測),亦為日本進口食品安全提供保障。我們會因應外圍環境的變化,不時調整監測計劃,包括提升食品檢測數量和品種,以確保食品安全。

食安中心於2011年開始對日本進口食品實施額外管制及監測措施後,共檢測了超過75萬個日本進口食品樣本,所有食物樣本的輻射檢測水平均沒有超出國際食品法典委員會的指引限值,亦沒有樣本被發現有錯誤/虛假標籤。

更多常見問題

刋物

相關網站