Programme Areas >> Genetically Modified Food Print Friendly

Frequently Asked Questions on the
Guidelines on Voluntary Labelling of Genetically Modified (GM) Food
(for Consumers)

Q. 1 Are there any legal requirements on the labelling on GM food in Hong Kong at the moment?
A. 1 Under the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132), which provides the legislative framework for food safety control in Hong Kong, members of the trade should not falsely describe their food products. In addition, the Food and Drugs (Composition and Labelling) Regulations require that any prepackaged food should be marked and labelled in the prescribed manner. Moreover, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (subsequently taken up by Centre for Food Safety (CFS)) has set up a Working Group to develop a set of guidelines – Guidelines on Voluntary Labelling of GM Food (the Guidelines) to facilitate the trade to make truthful claims. Although the Guidelines are advisory in nature and have no legal effect, the trade is highly encouraged to adopt the Guidelines to standardise the information presented to consumers.
   
Q. 2 When buying food, how can I know whether the foods have been genetically modified or not?
A. 2 The Guidelines formulated by the Working Group, comprising representatives from the food trade, Consumer Council and relevant Government departments stated that any food items with 5% or more GM materials in their respective food ingredient(s) are recommended to be labelled as "genetically modified" in parenthesis following the name of the food/ food ingredient in the "List of ingredients" or in a prominently displayed footnote to the "List of ingredients". You may check whether such declaration is made on the packaging on the prepackaged food products.
   
Q. 3 Are loose food items recommended to be labelled similarly?
A. 3 Currently, the Guidelines are only applicable to pre-packaged food (but not including loose food items) sold in Hong Kong and it is voluntary whether the trade adopt it or not.
   
Q. 4 Should I avoid buying and eating foods that are labelled as GM food?
A. 4 Labelling of GM food aims to address the issue of consumers’ right to know. However, it does not imply that the foods labelled as GM food are less safe than the conventional ones. Moreover, the World Health Organization (WHO) stated that GM foods currently available on the international market have passed safety assessments and are not likely to present risks for human health. To date, none of the GM foods in the market have been proved as unfit for human consumption.
   
Q. 5 As GM food may be allergenic, should I stop giving them to children?
A. 5 The allergenicity of GM foods currently available on the international market has been extensively evaluated. The World Health Organization stated that no allergic effect has been found in relation to GM foods currently on the international market. The allergic risks posed by GM food for all age groups, including infants, are in principle no greater than conventional food. However, the public are advised to avoid food items that contain any ingredients which are known to be allergic to them.
   
Q. 6 How can I know whether the GM foods of plant origin contain animal genes?
A. 6 At present, no GM crops available in the international market contain any animal genes. In future, it is possible that GM crops with animal genes will be introduced in the market. As such, the Guidelines recommend that if animal genes are added to a food of plant origin, information regarding the origin of animal gene should be provided for consumers’ information.
   
Q. 7 What other information could I obtain from the labelling?
A. 7 According to the Guidelines, besides declaring that the food is genetically modified, if the composition, nutritional value, level of anti-nutritional factors, level of natural toxicants or intended use of the GM food is significantly different from the traditional counterpart, information on such changes should also be provided for consumers’ information. Moreover, if the GM food contains an allergen that was not present in its traditional counterpart, such information should also be provided.
   
Q. 8 If a food is not labelled as "genetically modified", does it imply that the food is not genetically modified?
A. 8 Since the labelling of GM food is voluntary at the present stage in Hong Kong, a food product without such declaration does not imply that the food product is not genetically modified.
   
Q. 9 How can I know whether a traditional food has a GM counterpart or not?
A. 9 Not all traditional food has a GM counterpart. For example, at present, no "GM apples" are available in the international market. Actually, only a number of foods having GM counterparts are available in the international market. The most common ones include soya beans, corn and tomatoes. If you would like to know whether a food item has a GM counterpart, you may visit the webpage on "GM Food Database" in our website. This database provides the list of food products, which have gone through the safety assessment process and have been approved for sale in some countries such as the United States, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
   
Q. 10 Is a food labelled as "non-GM" or "from non-GM source" really free from any GM material?
A. 10

According to the Guidelines, declaration that a food is from non-GM source is not recommended for food of which no GM counterparts have been produced, as it would be misleading to consumers. For example, as there are no "GM apples" available in the market at the present moment, if some traders label the apples as "non GM", it may imply that there are GM apples even though there isn't any in the international market.

Moreover, since there is a possibility of unintentional mixing of GM and non-GM crops, a truly "GM free" status is very difficult to attain. Therefore, absolute terms such as "GM free", "GMO free", "free from GM ingredients", etc. are not recommended to be used.

If a food product, which has a GM counterpart, is from non-GM source and the traders would like to inform the consumers that is the case, appropriate documentation should be available to substantiate such declaration.

The most important issue is that members of the trade should not falsely describe their food products. Such requirement is stipulated in the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132).

   
  For more questions on the Guidelines on Voluntary Labelling of Genetically Modified Foods, please click here.
Back  Back to Top
 
copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 04-09-2015

問1 現時本港有否任何法例要求標籤基因改造食物?
答1 香港法例第132 章《公眾衞生及市政條例》就本港食物安全管制訂定條文。根據該條例,業界人士必須注意不可對食物作出虛假的說明。此外,《食物及藥物( 成分組合及標籤) 規例》亦訂明,凡屬預先包裝食物,均須依照規定的方式加上標記及標籤。另外,為了方便業界為消費者提供真確有用的資料,食物環境衞生署( 其後由食物安全中心負責) 成立了一個工作小組以制定一份有關指引-- 基因改造食物自願標籤指引( 下稱指引) 。雖然這份指引純屬建議性質並無法律約束力,業內人士應積極採納該指引,以便劃一為消費者提供的資料。
問2 在購買食物時,我如何得知食物是否基因改造的?
答2 一個由食物業界、消費者委員會及有關政府部門的代表所組成的工作小組所制定的指引建議任何食物如其個別配料含有百分之五或以上的基因改造物質,應在其配料表中以括號在該種食物/食物配料的名稱後註明" 基因改造" ,或在配料表註腳中的當眼位置顯示" 基因改造" 的字眼。你可查看預先包裝食物的包裝上有否這樣的聲明。
問3 散裝食物是否根據同樣建議標籤?
答3 現時,該指引只適用於在香港出售的預先包裝食物( 並不包括散裝食物) ,而業界是否採納亦純屬自願。
問4 我應否避免購買和進食標明是基因改造的食物?
答4 為基因改造食物加上標籤的目的,是針對消費者的知情權,並不表示標明是基因改造的食物不及傳統食物安全。此外,世界衞生組織( 世衞 ) 指出,目前在國際市場上出售的基因改造食物都已通過安全評估,因此不大可能對人類健康帶來風險。截至目前為止,沒有證據顯示市面上的基因改造食物不宜供人食用。
問5 由於基因改造食物可能會引起過敏反應,我應否停止給兒童食用?
答5 現時在國際市場出售的基因改造食物,其致敏性均經過廣泛評估。世衞表示,至今未有發現在市面出售的基因改造食物會引起過敏反應。基因改造食物的致敏風險,對各年齡組別的人( 包括嬰兒) 來說,原則上並不高於傳統食物。不過,市民應避免食用含有已知會令他們過敏的成分的食物。
問6 我如何得知一些源自植物的食物是否含有動物基因?
答6

現時國際市場上並無含有動物基因的基因改造農作物。未來,帶有動物基因的基因改造農作物有可能出現於市面上。因此,本指引亦建議若動物基因被加入源自植物的食物中,有關動物基因來源的資料應向消費者說明。

問7 我還可從標籤中得到甚麼資料?
答7 指引除了建議說明食品是基因改造食物外,若食物的成分組合、營養價值、妨礙人體吸收營養的因子、毒性物質或食物的擬定用途與原來品種有顯著分別時,這些分別亦應向消費者透露。此外,若基因改造食物含有原來品種所沒有的致敏原,有關資料亦應向消費者說明。
問8 若食品包裝上沒有加上" 基因改造" 的標籤,是否代表該食品不是基因改造的?
答8 現時在本港為基因改造食物加上標籤屬自願性質。因此,若食物沒有加上" 基因改造" 的聲稱,並不代表該食物不是基因改造的。
問9 我如何得知某食物有沒有相應的基因改造品種?
答9 不是所有的食物都有相應的基因改造品種,例如,現時國際市場上並沒有基因改造蘋果。實際上,市場上只有部分食物有相應基因改造品種,最常見的包括大豆、粟米和番茄。你若想了解某食物有沒有相應的基因改造品種,可瀏覽本署的" 基因改造食物資料庫 " 的網頁。此資料庫提供了一些通過安全評估及批准在美國、加拿大、澳洲及新西蘭等國家出售的基因改造食物的名單。
問10 若食物附有" 非基因改造" 或" 來自非基因改造來源" 的標籤,是否代表食物完全不含基因改造成分?
答10

指引不建議業界為沒有相應基因改造品種的食物加上" 來自非基因改造來源" 的聲稱,因為這些聲稱可能會誤導消費者。例如,現時國際市場上並沒有基因改造蘋果,若業界把蘋果加上" 非基因改造" 的標籤,可能意味現時有基因改造的蘋果存在,但國際市場卻沒有。

再者,由於非基因改造農產品可能無意中與基因改造農產品混雜,要真正達到" 不含基因改造成分" ,是極難做到的。因此,指引並不建議使用" 不含基因改造成分" 、" 不含基因改造生物" 、" 無基因改造成分" 等絕對性的字眼。

若食品是來自非基因改造來源而又有相應基因改造品種的,而業界又想向消費者作出有關的說明,業界須具備適當的證明文件以支持有關聲明。

最重要的是,業界人士必須注意不可對食品作出虛假的說明。有關的要求已列載於香港法例第132 章《公眾衞生及市政條例》內。

  如欲查詢更多關於基因改造食物自願標籤指引的問題,請 按此

食物環境衞生署
食物安全中心
二零零六年七月二十八日