Food Safety Focus Banner

To the main pageNext Article

Food Safety Focus (150th Issue, January 2019) – Incident in Focus

African Swine Fever is Not a Threat to Food Safety

Reported by Dr. Maisie Lam, Veterinary Officer,
Slaughterhouse (Veterinary) Section and Dr. Raymond Chan, Veterinary Officer, 
Veterinary Public Health Section, Centre for Food Safety

Mainland China reported its first outbreak of African Swine Fever (ASF) in Shenyang, Liaoning Province on 3 August 2018.  Since then, multiple farms across the country have been affected and based on the figures Mainland China reported to the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE), there are more than 320,000 pigs have been killed and disposed in order to control the disease.

What is African Swine Fever?

ASF is a serious, highly contagious, viral disease of pigs. This disease was described in Kenya in the 1920s and according to the OIE, outbreaks have also been reported in other parts of Africa and parts of Europe, South America and the Caribbean historically. More recently (since 2007) the disease has been reported in multiple countries across Africa, Asia and Europe. This disease only affects pigs and the death rate can reach up to 100%. There is currently no vaccine or treatment available. As a result, ASF is a severe threat to pig production systems  

The disease can be transmitted by direct or indirect contact between pigs. Once infected, it can take around 4 to 19 days before the pig starts to show sickness and the shedding of virus can begin up to two days prior to the presence of the clinical signs. Virus will shed through all secretions e.g. saliva, tears, nasal discharge, etc. and excretions e.g. urine, faeces, etc. and able to survive in excretions, carcasses, fresh meat and certain meat products for long periods of time. Although the virus can survive a long time in contaminated meat, the virus can be heat inactivated by 70°C for 30 minutes.
Clinical signs of acute ASF

Figure 1. Clinical signs of acute ASF
A. Pigs are visibly weak with fever and huddle to stay warm.
B-E. Bloody diarrhoea and distinct hyperaemic (red) areas on skin of neck, chest and extremities,
F. Cyanosis (bluing) at the tips of ears.
G-I. Necrotic lesions on skin of the abdomen, neck and ears.
Source: Beltrán et al., 2017

African Swine Fever Does Not Infect Humans

ASF is not a threat to human health as it is a non-zoonotic disease, that is, a disease of animals that does not infect humans. Viruses have surface proteins on the outside which must bind to a host cell in order to enter and replicate. Different species of animals have different proteins on the outside of their cells and certain viruses can only bind to the surface of cells in particular species of animals. The ASF virus can only attach to and enter specific cells in pigs but not cells in the human body. Since the discovery of ASF, there has so far been no evidence of mutation causing cross-species transmission to humans in the past century.

Measures Taken Against ASF at the Import Control Point

As part of the government's efforts to prevent the disease from spreading to local pig farms, the Centre for Food Safety has stepped up its monitoring plan to all live pigs imported from Mainland China. For each consignment of the imported pigs, there will be a documentary check to ascertain that the consignment is accompanied with a valid health certificate which attests that the pigs do not show clinical signs of ASF, and that the animals are not originated from ASF affected farms/regions. In addition, physical inspection will be carried out at the site to ensure all pigs are physically healthy and do not show clinical signs suggestive of ASF.

ASF routes of transmission

Figure 2. ASF routes of transmission.

Measures Taken Against ASF in Slaughterhouses

The best strategy against ASF is preventing the entry of the virus through improved biosecurity. Since the start of ASF outbreaks in Mainland China, Hong Kong SAR government has enforced strict biosecurity measures at farms and slaughterhouses to reduce the likelihood of ASF incursion into local farms. The following measures have been put in place to reduce the chance of ASF virus entering and leaving the slaughterhouses.

Upon arrival, pigs are subjected to more stringent ante-mortem examinations, including monitoring of animals in lairages (animal holding areas) with increased vigilance for signs of ASF and abnormal mortalities. After slaughter, carcasses must also pass post-mortem inspections by health inspectors to ensure they are fit for human consumption before going to retail. Cleansing and disinfection within the slaughterhouses have been strengthened and to prevent spread of disease to local farms, cleansing and disinfection of the livestock conveying trucks have been reinforced.

In addition, if pigs are suspected to have ASF, samples will be taken and sent to the Veterinary Laboratory of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department for testing.

Key Points to Note

  1. ASF only affects pigs.
  2. This virus can only infect cells in pigs and cannot enter human cells, therefore it is not a food safety concern and not a threat to human health.
  3. As part of the government’s effort to prevent ASF from spreading to local pig farms, control measures at import control point and biosecurity at slaughter houses have been strengthened.

Advice to the Public


Advice to the Trade

*Beltrán-Alcrudo, D., Arias, M., Gallardo, C., Kramer, S. & Penrith, M.L. 2017. African swine fever: detection and diagnosis – A manual for veterinarians. FAO Animal Production and Health Manual No. 19. Rome. Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). 88 pages.

回到主頁下一篇文章

食物安全焦點(二零一九年一月第一百五十期) - 焦點個案

非洲豬瘟並不威脅食物安全

食物安全中心
屠房(獸醫)組林明思獸醫師及

獸醫公共衞生組陳正民獸醫師報告

二零一八年八月三日,內地公布首次爆發非洲豬瘟,疫症發生於遼寧省瀋陽市。隨後多個豬場受到影響,超過320,000頭豬被宰殺以控制疫情。

何謂非洲豬瘟?

非洲豬瘟是嚴重的豬隻病毒性疾病,具高度傳染性,在1920年代於肯亞發現。根據世界動物衞生組織報告,非洲其他地區、歐洲部分地區、南美洲及加勒比海在歷史上也曾爆發過疫情。近年來(自二零零七年起),非洲、亞洲及歐洲多國據報都出現疫情。非洲豬瘟只會感染豬隻,死亡率可高達100%。由於目前並無疫苗或治療方法,因此非洲豬瘟對養豬業構成嚴重威脅。

非洲豬瘟可在豬隻之間經直接或間接接觸傳播。豬隻受感染後需時約4至19天才發病,但病毒可在病徵出現前兩天已開始傳播。病毒會經所有分泌物,例如唾液、淚水、鼻涕等,以及尿液、糞便等排泄物排出,並可長時間存活於排泄物、屠體、鮮肉及某些肉類產品中。雖然這病毒可在受污染的肉內長時間生存,但以攝氏70度加熱30分鐘,即可殺滅。

急性非洲豬瘟的病徵

圖1:急性非洲豬瘟的病徵
B-E:出血性腹瀉,頸部、胸部及四肢範圍皮膚明顯充血(泛紅)
F:耳尖發紫(泛藍)
G-I:腹部、頸部及耳朵皮膚呈壞死斑
資料來源:Beltrán et al., 2017

非洲豬瘟不會感染人類

非洲豬瘟不是人畜共患的疾病(即不會感染人類的動物疾病),故對人類健康並無威脅。非洲豬瘟病毒外面有表面蛋白質,必須與宿主細胞結合才能進入和複製。動物的物種不同,其細胞外面的蛋白質亦有所不同,某些病毒只能附着在若干物種動物的細胞表面。非洲豬瘟病毒便只能附着於並進入豬隻的特定細胞,而非人體細胞。自發現非洲豬瘟的過去一世紀以來,至今沒有證據顯示病毒曾出現變異而引致跨物種傳播並感染人類。

進口管制站的非洲豬瘟防疫措施

為了配合政府防範非洲豬瘟傳入本地豬場的防疫工作,食物安全中心已加強監察所有從內地供港的活豬。每批進口豬隻均須作文件檢查,以確定附有有效的衞生證明書,證明豬隻沒有出現非洲豬瘟病徵,同時並非來自受非洲豬瘟影響的豬場/地區。此外,也會即場進行檢驗,以確保所有豬隻健康良好,並無出現非洲豬瘟疑似病徵。

非洲豬瘟的傳播途徑

圖2:非洲豬瘟的傳播途徑

屠房的非洲豬瘟防疫措施

應對非洲豬瘟的最佳策略,就是提升生物安全來防止病毒入侵。自內地爆發非洲豬瘟以來,香港特區政府已在豬場及屠房實施嚴格的生物安全措施,以減低非洲豬瘟傳入本地豬場的可能性。為了減少非洲豬瘟病毒進出屠房的機會,下述措施亦已落實。

豬隻在運抵屠房後,須經過宰前檢驗,包括在存豬欄中進行監察,並特別注意是否有非洲豬瘟的跡象及異常死亡的情況。在屠宰後,屠體亦必須通過由衞生督察進行的宰後檢驗,以確保適宜供人食用才出售。屠房已加強淸潔及消毒的工作,而為了預防非洲豬瘟傳入本地豬場,運豬車的淸潔消毒亦有所加強。

此外,如發現有豬隻懷疑感染非洲豬瘟,會抽取樣本送交漁農自然護理署的獸醫化驗所進行檢測。

注意事項:

  1. 非洲豬瘟只會影響豬隻。
  2. 非洲豬瘟病毒只可感染豬隻的細胞,不能進入人類細胞,因此並不構成食物安全問題,對人類健康沒有威脅。
  3. 為了配合政府防範非洲豬瘟傳入本地豬場的防疫工作,進口管制站的監控措施及屠房的生物安全保障均已加強。

給市民的建議

給業界的建議