Purpose

The purpose of this guide is to provide general guidance for importers who wish to import milk or milk beverages into Hong Kong.

Statutory Requirements

In Hong Kong, the legal framework of food safety control is laid down in Part V of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance, Cap 132 and its subsidiary legislation. A list of the subsidiary legislation is at Appendix. The basic requirement, as stipulated in section 54 of the Ordinance, is that no food intended for sale should be unfit for human consumption. Specifically, Milk Regulation of the Ordinance stipulates requirements and standards for milk or milk beverages.

Importers can purchase the main Ordinance and its subsidiary legislation from the Publications Sales Unit at Room 626, 6/F, North Point Government Offices, 333 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong. Importers may also browse the website (https://www.elegislation.gov.hk/?_lang=en) for the Hong Kong food legislation.

Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

This Department is responsible for implementing territory-wide policies of food safety control and enforcing the food legislation. To this end, part of its duties is to exercise the power provided under Section 62(1) of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance to collect food samples at points of entry to the territory for analyses, including bacteriological and chemical examinations.

This Department will pay the market price of any samples taken from importers. Due to difficulties in ascertaining the price at entry points, the Department will issue a sampling notice to importers when samples are collected. The notice will specify items and quantities of food samples which have been taken. Importers could send an invoice and a copy of the notice afterwards to the Centre for Food Safety of Food and Environment Hygiene Department at 43/F, Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong for payment.

Importers

Food importers, through close liaison with exporting countries, are responsible for ensuring that milk or milk beverages they procured comply with the local legislation. The Food Safety Ordinance (Chapter 612) has commenced its full operation on 1 February 2012. Sections 4 and 5 of the Ordinance require any person who carries on a food importation/ distribution business to register with the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene (DFEH) as a food importer/ food distributor. For more details about the scheme and the registration procedures, please read the "Guide to the Registration Scheme for Food Importers and Food Distributors" available at the designed website (www.foodsafetyord.gov.hk).

Importers should pay attention to the specific import procedures for these food products as set out below.

Source of Manufacture

The Milk Regulation requires, inter alia, any milk or milk beverage to be imported into Hong Kong from a source of manufacture that has been approved by the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene. Before importing these food products into Hong Kong, importers need to apply to the Food Import & Export Section of the Centre for Food Safety through on-line system at FTP website (www.ftp.cfs.gov.hk) or paper-mode application and provide the following information either in English or Chinese or accompanied by a verified translation in either English or Chinese:

  1. Copy of valid registration certificate of the product’s manufacturing plant issued by a competent authority of the place of food origin;
  2. Supply certificate issued by the manufacturer certifying that it is the direct supplier of the product, together with the manufacturing flowchart showing details of the production facilities, heat-treatment method, etc.;
  3. Test report on the quality of water used in the manufacturing plant for food production, including results of coliform bacteria and free residual chlorine levels;
  4. Test report showing the chemical composition of the product;
  5. Test report showing the microbiological quality of the product;
  6. Declaration by the manufacturer on the shelf-life of the product;
  7. Sample of empty container of the product;
  8. Full clear pictures of the product package (showing clearly the brand name, product name, ingredients, heat-treatment method, name and address of the manufacturer, name and address of the importer);
  9. Specimen of certificate issued by a competent authority of the place of food origin certifying the product has been subject to appropriate heat-treatment, has been handled, processed and packed under satisfactory hygienic conditions, meets specific quality standards and is fit for human consumption; in case legal reference is quoted in the certificate, a copy of the original text of the relevant legislation shall be attached.

In addition to the information and documents listed above, this Department may require the applicant to provide other supplementary information and documents depending on individual circumstances.

Arrival of Consignment

After obtaining the approval and satisfying other conditions which may be imposed by the Department, importers may import the milk or milk beverages into Hong Kong. Section 59(1)(c) of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance provides the Department with the power to make special procedures for examining imported food. At present, when a milk or milk beverage consignment arrives and before its release, the products will be inspected and if necessary, sampled by the Department. Upon the Department's satisfaction, a "release letter" will be issued to the importer.

Performance Pledge

Food and Environmental Hygiene Department is determined to provide quality service to the public, including importers. In connection with the import of milk or milk beverages, the Department pledges to :

  1. grant an approval of a source of manufacture within 12 working days on the condition that all the required information and material have been received; and
  2. issue "release letters" within 14 working days upon receipt of notification of arrival or actual arrival of consignments and receipt of all import documents whichever is later.

Where to make applications

Online Application

Traders who have opened user accounts in the Food Trader Portal (FTP) may submit applications for import permission online round-the-clock at FTP website: (www.ftp.cfs.gov.hk). Upon approval, the permission will be sent to the applicant's FTP account.

Paper Mode Application

Completed application form Form No. FEHB 290 (for milk/milk beverage) or Form No. FEHB 292 (for raw milk) should be forwarded together with the aforesaid information/documents to the Centre for Food Safety of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department at 43/F, Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong (by hand or post only). Upon approval, the permission in writing will be sent to the applicant by post.

Validity and Renewal of Permission

The importer permission is valid for one year from the date of issue. Application for renewal shall be submitted on-line through FTP website (www.ftp.cfs.gov.hk) or in writing by Application Form No. FEHB 291 to the Centre for Food Safety of Food and Environmental Hygiene Department at 43/F, Queensway Government Offices, 66 Queensway, Hong Kong by hand or post only within three months before expiry. Special attention is drawn as late applications will be not accepted.

Enquiry

For enquiries, please contact the Food Import & Export Section (Tel: 2867 5577) or 1823 Government Hotline. Enquiries may also be sent to the e-mail address: fsc@fehd.gov.hk or by fax at 2521 4784.

Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

目的

這份文件的目的是為香港的奶類或奶類飲品進口商提供一般指引。

法例規定

香港用以監管食物安全的法律條文,載於香港法例第132章《公眾衞生及巿政條例》第V部及其附屬法例。有關的附屬法例,現列於本文的附錄。法例的基本規定,就是如《公眾衞生及巿政條例》第54條所載,禁止出售不宜供人食用的食物。有關奶類或奶類飲品的特別準則和規定,則載於上述條例下的《奶業規例》。

進口商可前往香港北角渣華道333號北角政府合署6樓626室刊物銷售小組購買上述條例及有關附屬法例的文本,以作查閱。進口商亦可瀏覽網站(https://www.elegislation.gov.hk/?_lang=zh-Hant-HK)下載有關法例。

食物環境衞生署 

本署是負責實施食物安全監管政策和執行有關法例的政府部門。其工作包括行使《公眾衞生及巿政條例》第62(1)條所賦予的權力,從各進口檢查站的進口食物中抽取樣本作細菌和化學檢驗等分析,確保食物安全。

本署在抽取食物樣本後,會按巿價計算樣本的價值發還給進口商。由於食物的巿價難以在進口時評定,本署人員抽取樣本時,會發給進口商一份通知,列明所抽取樣本的品目和數量,而進口商事後可憑這份通知和有關樣本的發票,向本署食物安全中心(地址:香港金鐘道66號金鐘道政府合署43樓)申請發還被抽去樣本的市價。

進口商

食物進口商有責任與出口當地保持緊密聯繫,確保所輸入的奶類或奶類飲品符合香港法例的規定。《食物安全條例》(第612章)於2012年2月1日全面生效,該條例第4和第5條規定,任何經營食物進口/分銷業務的人須向食物環境衞生署署長登記為食物進口商/食物分銷商。如欲查詢登記制度或登記手續的詳細內容,請登入網站(www.foodsafetyord.gov.hk)瀏覽《食物進口商和食物分銷商登記制度指引》。

進口商尤須注意下文所載有關輸入奶類或奶類飲品的指定程序。

製造來源地

《奶業規例》中規定,奶類或奶類飲品的製造來源地必須先得到食物環境衞生署署長的批准,奶類或奶類飲品才可輸入香港。因此,進口商輸入奶類或奶類飲品之前,必須透過「食物貿易商入門網站」(FTP網站) (www.ftp.cfs.gov.hk/index_tc.html) 或以紙本模式向食物安全中心食物進/出口組就製造來源地提出申請,並提供下列資料,資料須為英文或中文,或隨附經核實的英文或中文譯本:

  1. 由食物原產地主管當局發出的有效產品製造廠註冊證明書副本;
  2. 製造商發出的供貨證明書,證明其是產品的直接供應商,並隨附顯示生產設備、熱處理方法等詳情的生產流程圖;
  3. 製造廠生產食物用水的質量化驗報告,包括大腸菌群及游離剩餘氯的含量;
  4. 產品的化學成分化驗報告;
  5. 產品的微生物質量化驗報告;
  6. 製造商就產品保質期的聲明;
  7. 產品的空容器樣本;
  8. 產品包裝的完整清晰圖片(須清楚顯示品牌、產品名稱、成分、熱處理方法、製造商名稱及地址、進口商名稱及地址);
  9. 由食物原產地主管當局發出的證明書樣本,證明產品經過適當的熱處理、並在令人滿意的衞生狀況下進行處理、加工及包裝,符合特定的質量標準及適宜供人食用;證明書如有引用法例,則須夾附相關法例原文副本。

除上文所列的資料及文件外,本署可能會按個別情況要求申請人提供其他補充資料及文件。

抵港貨物

進口商取得本署的批准及符合一切條件後,即可將奶類或奶類飲品輸入香港;但對於運抵香港的奶類或奶類飲品,本署仍可根據《公眾衞生及巿政條例》第59(1)(c)條所賦予的權力加以特別檢驗。目前,運抵香港的奶類或奶類飲品均須接受本署的檢查,必要時更須接受抽樣化驗;檢查或化驗結果合格,本署才會向進口商發出「貨物放行書」,將貨物放行。

服務承諾

本署一向致力為巿民提供優質的服務,對輸入奶類或奶類飲品的進口商,更承諾:

  1. 在收到全部所需資料及材料當日起計12個工作天內辦妥批准製造來源地的申請;以及
  2. 在收到貨物已抵港的通知或貨物實際抵港及收到全部進口文件當日(以較後者為準)起計14個工作天內發出「貨物放行書」。

申請途徑

網上申請

已於FTP網站開立使用者帳戶的食物貿易商可以隨時透過FTP網站(www.ftp.cfs.gov.hk/index_tc.html) 在網上提交進口准許的申請。經批核後,進口准許會傳送至申請人在FTP網站的帳戶內。

以紙本模式申請

經填妥的申請表格FEHB 290 (適用於奶類/奶類飲品) 或表格FEHB 292 (適用於未經加工處理奶類) 須連同上述資料/文件以專人或郵遞方式送交至本署食物安全中心(地址:香港金鐘道66號金鐘道政府合署43樓)。經批核後,進口書面准許會以郵遞方式寄予申請人。

進口准許的有效期及續期申請

進口准許由發出日期起計有效一年。續期申請須在有效期屆滿前三個月內提交,申請人可透過FTP網站 (www.ftp.cfs.gov.hk/index_tc.html) 在網上提交申請,或以專人或郵遞方式把申請表格FEHB 291送交至本署食物安全中心 (地址:香港金鐘道66號金鐘道政府合署43樓)。請注意,逾期遞交的申請將不獲受理。

查詢

如有查詢,請致電食物進/出口組 (電話:2867 5577) 或1823政府熱線。此外,亦可透過電郵 (地址:fsc@fehd.gov.hk) 或傳真 (號碼:2521 4784) 提出查詢。

食 物 環 境 衞 生 署
食 物 安 全 中 心