Purpose

The purpose of this guide is to provide general guidance for importers who wish to import Mainland chilled chickens* into Hong Kong.

Statutory Requirements for Food Safety

In Hong Kong, the legal framework for control of food safety is laid down in Part V of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (PHMSO), Cap. 132 and its subsidiary legislation. The basic requirement, as stipulated in Section 54 of the Ordinance, is that no food intended for sale should be unfit for human consumption. Specifically, Imported Game, Meat, Poultry and Eggs Regulations (IGMPER) of the Ordinance stipulate requirements for import of such foods i.e. Mainland chilled chicken.

Approved Plants

The chilled chickens must come from Mainland processing plants approved by the Department. A list of approved plants is at Appendix I.

Import Conditions

Regulation 4(3)(b) of the IGMPER allows the Department to impose conditions related to the import of game, meat , poultry, eggs or prohibited meat for the protection of public health. The import of Mainland chilled chickens is subject to compliance with conditions set out in the import licence (Appendix II). From time to time, the Department will review such import conditions to ensure that latest developments are incorporated to ensure food safety. Any importer who fails to comply with the condition(s) is liable to legal action. Besides, the imported chilled chickens can be rejected.

One condition is that chilled chickens must be transported by a vehicle which has been approved by the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene. The approval of vehicle for transporting Mainland chilled chickens shall be subject to compliance with conditions as contained in Appendix III. In this connection, the importer should apply for approval in the form at Appendix IV.

Import Licence

Under the Import and Export Ordinance, Cap. 60, import of frozen or chilled beef, mutton, pork and poultry is subject to import licensing control. The Department is responsible for issuing import licences for these foods. Thus, importers of Mainland chilled chicken are also required to apply for import licence from the Department for each consignment of chilled chickens. For details of such application, please refer to the "Guide to Application for Import Licence for Frozen Meat, Chilled Meat, Frozen Poultry and Chilled Poultry" issued by the Department. The guide can be browsed at the Department's website.

Arrival of Consignment

Under regulation 4(3)(b) of the IGMPER, the Department will require chilled chickens from the Mainland to enter into Hong Kong through designated border crossing at Man Kam To if the import is via land, or Hong Kong International Airport if by air.  At these checkpoints, the food concerned shall be subject to inspection by the Department.

Sampling

The Department can exercise its power provided under section 62(1) of the PHMSO to collect food samples at points of entry to the territory for various food safety analyses, including microbiological and chemical tests.

The Department will pay market prices for any samples taken from importers. Due to difficulties in ascertaining prices at entry points, the Department will issue a sampling notice to importers when samples are collected. The notice will specify items and quantities of food samples taken. Afterwards, importers could send an invoice and a copy of the notice to the Department for settlement of payment.

Enquiries

For enquiries, please contact the Food Import and Export Section (Tel: 2867 5577) or 1823 Government Hotline.  Enquiries may also be sent to the e-mail address: fsc@fehd.gov.hk or by fax at 2521 4784.

*The "chilled chickens" in this Guide refer to the chickens which had been subject to the pre-chilling process immediately after slaughtering and are kept at a temperature between 0℃ and 4℃.

Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department

目的

本文件旨在向擬輸入內地冰鮮雞*的本港進口商提供指引。

食物安全法例規定

在香港,《公眾衞生及市政條例》(第132章)第V部及該條例的附屬法例訂明了有關規管食物安全的法律準則。該條例第54條更列明,售賣不宜供人食用的食物即屬違法。又在該條例下的《進口野味、肉類、家禽及蛋類規例》亦明確書明對進口野味、肉類、家禽及蛋類的入口要求,如內地的冰鮮雞。

認可加工廠

進口的冰鮮雞必須來自食環署認可的內地加工廠。附錄I載有認可加工廠的名單。

進口條件

進 口 條 件

《進口野味、肉類、家禽及蛋類規例》第4(3)(b)條賦予食環署權力,可就進口野味、肉類、家禽、蛋類或違禁肉類施加條件,以保障公共衞生。就輸入內地冰鮮雞,本港進口商須遵守進口許可證所載的條件(附錄II)。食環署會不時檢討上述的進口條件,從而將新的要求歸入進口條件內,以保障公共衞生。凡沒有遵守有關條件的進口商,可遭食環署採取法律行動。此外,有關的冰鮮雞可能不准入口。

進口內地冰鮮雞其中一項須遵守的條件是,每批付運的雞隻必須由食環署署長批准的車輛運送。車輛須符合附錄III所載的條件,才會獲准運送進口冰鮮雞。為此,進口商須遞交附錄IV的表格,申請批准。

進口許可證

根據《進出口條例》(第60章),進口冷藏(frozen)或冰鮮(冷凍/chilled)牛肉、羊肉、豬肉和家禽,須受簽證條件管制。食環署亦同時負責簽發這類食物的進口許可證,因此,進口商輸入每一批冰鮮雞前,再須向食環署申請該證。進口商欲知申請進口許可證詳情,可查閱由食環署發出的《冷藏肉類、冰鮮肉類、冷藏家禽和冰鮮家禽進口許可證申請指引》。進口商可瀏覽網頁查閱有關指引。

抵港貨物

食環署根據《進口野味、肉類、家禽及蛋類規例》第4(3)(b)條賦予的權力,規定從陸路進口的冰鮮雞,必須經文錦渡輸入;空運進口的冰鮮雞,必須經香港國際機場輸入。有關食物運抵這些進口檢查站時,都須要接受食環署的檢查。

抽取樣本化驗

抽 取 樣 本 化 驗

食環署根據《公眾衞生及市政條例》第62(1)條賦予的權力,從各進口檢查站的進口食物中,抽取樣本作細菌、化學危害因素等涉及食物安全測試分析。

食環署在抽取食物樣本後,會按市價計算樣本的價值,付款給進口商。由於食物的市值難以在進口時評定,食環署人員抽取樣本時,會發給進口商一份通知,列明所抽取樣本的品目和數量,而進口商事後可憑這份通知和有關樣本的發票,向食環署申請發還被抽去樣本的價值。

查詢

如有查詢,請致電食物進/出口組(電話:2867 5577) 或1823政府熱線。此外,亦可透過電郵 (地址:fsc@fehd.gov.hk)或傳真(號碼:2521 4784)提出查詢。

*本指引中的“冰鮮雞”(亦稱冷凍(chilled)雞)是指屠宰後立即經預冷工序處理並保持於攝氏0度至4度的雞隻。

食物環境衞生署
食物安全中心