Radiation and Health (Q 1.1 - 1.5) Radiation and Food Safety (Q 2.1 - 2.11) Import Surveillance and Control (Q 3.1 - 3.6)  Iodine Prophylaxis and Health Concern (Q 4.1 - 4.10) Radiological Standard for Bottled/Packaged Waters under Routine Condition (Q5.1-5.5)

Radiation and Food Safety

2.1 How can the radioactive substances be dispersed in a nuclear power plant accident?

If a nuclear power plant does not function properly, radioactivity may be released into the surrounding area by a mixture of products generated inside the reactor. The main radionuclides representing health risk are radioactive caesium and radioactive iodine. If radioactive fission products are released into the atmosphere, some of the gaseous and volatile radioactive isotopes could be carried by wind. The invisible radioactive material would behave in a way similar to a plume or cloud of smoke dispersing into the atmosphere, with some of its contents deposited onto the ground. The concentration of radioactive materials in the plume decreases as they move further away from the relevant site. Hong Kong is 3000 km from Japan . The plume will be much diluted when it reaches Hong Kong .

Radiation

2.2 How can the radioactive materials contaminate our food?

When radioactive substances in the plume are deposited on plants, soil or water, they might enter the food chain. In the first instance, plants and animals could become surface contaminated and tissue contamination could occur after inhalation or after intake or ingestion of radiologically contaminated nutrients (animals eating a large quantity of contaminated items can concentrate radioactivity in their tissues). This tissue contamination will reduce over time. While surface contamination can be largely removed by washing, tissue contamination cannot be so removed. People can ingest the substances directly or indirectly through eating the products of animals (including fish) which have themselves eaten contaminated substances. Through this Ingestion Pathway, people may still become radiologically contaminated even they are not living in areas under the plume or after a lengthy period of time from the incident by consuming radiologically contaminated foodstuffs.

2.3 What are the possible health effects of consuming radioactively contaminated foodstuffs?

Naturally occurring radioactivity is actually present in the environment. Potential damage caused by low levels of radioactivity may be repaired by normal body metabolic processes. In a nuclear power plant accident, the general population is not likely to be exposed to high radiation doses. In general, foodstuffs available on markets are unlikely to be contaminated with very high levels of radioactive substances after a nuclear emergency. The chance of acute health effect is not common. If people are exposed to high dose of radiation, radiation sickness with acute symptoms like nausea, vomiting, extreme tiredness, hair loss, skin burns and diminished organ function will occur and immediate medical attention is required. In addition, prolonged consumption of radioactively contaminated foodstuffs may increase the risk of cancer in exposed persons.

2.4 Can I reduce the level of radionuclides in food through food preparation?

Possible residual surface radioactive contamination on food may be reduced by suitable food preparation such as washing, brushing, scrubbing, or peeling. It is also possible to store contaminated food for prolonged times to allow radioactive decay of short-lived radionuclides. On the contrary, cooking in general cannot reduce the level of radioactive contamination in food.

2.5 Is there any international standard on radioactive substances in foodstuff?

Codex Alimentarius Commission has established guideline levels for different radionuclides in foods destined for human consumption and traded internationally, which have been contaminated following a nuclear or radiological emergency. These guideline levels apply to food after reconstitution or as prepared for consumption. As far as generic radiological protection of food consumers is concerned, when radionuclide levels in food do not exceed the corresponding guideline levels, the food should be considered as safe for human consumption. The guideline levels are defined for two separate categories "infant foods" and "other foods" due to the fact that, for a number of radionuclides, the sensitivity of infants could pose a problem.

2.6 Do iodine-131 (I-131), caesium-134 (Cs-134) and caesium-137 (Cs-137) naturally occur in food?

I-131, Cs-134 and Cs-137 are artificially produced fission products* which do not naturally occur in food. However, these radionuclides can get into food after it has been discharged into the environment from civil (e.g. nuclear reactor operations) or military nuclear operations (e.g. above-ground nuclear testing) and then passes through the food chain. Therefore, low levels of I-131, Cs-134 and Cs-137 may be present in food due to possible contamination from the environment. The detection of high levels of these radionuclides in food may suggest possible radioactive contamination from a nuclear emergency.

* Nuclides produced either directly by nuclear fission or by the radioactive decay of such nuclides. For example, I-131 from the nuclear fission of uranium-235 (U-235).

2.7 Under what circumstances will the CFS apply the section 78B of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance to prohibit food import?

The Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene may make an order under section 78B of Cap. 132 if he has reasonable grounds to believe that the making of the order is necessary to prevent or reduce a possibility of danger to public health or to mitigate the adverse consequence of a danger to public health. The order may prohibit the import and supply of problem food and order the recall of such food.

2.8 How to assess the internal radiation dose (internal dose) received through our diet?

Internal dose is the radiation doses received by an individual through consumption of radioactively contaminated food products or inhalation of the contaminated air. In our risk assessment, internal dose refers to the radiation dose received from our diet. We calculate the internal dose by the formula adopted by the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

Internal dose
= Radiation level in food x Mass of food consumed x Age dependent ingestion dose coefficient (i.e. specific factor for different radionuclides and different age group) x Import/production factor (i.e. proportion of food being contaminated)

2.9 What kind of food are likely to be contaminated after a nuclear accident and why?

Foods can be contaminated with radioactive materials as a result of a nuclear emergency. The surface of foods like fruits and vegetables or animal feed can become radioactive by deposit of radioactive materials falling on it from the air or through rain water. Under such circumstances, the large leafy areas of leafy vegetables can effectively intercept the radioactive contaminants that deposited from the atmosphere, making them more susceptible to radioactive contamination. On the other hand, when lactating cows graze on contaminated herbages of the early fallout, the radionuclides will soon transfer and appear in their milk. Therefore, in general, foods consumed fresh, such as milk, leafy vegetables, and fruit, are initially more likely to be contaminated after a nuclear accident.

Depending on the agricultural practices in the area of contamination and the stage of growing or harvest season at the time of the accident, grains, root crops, other produce, and animal-derived food products may become contaminated at later stage.

2.10 Is radioactive plutonium presence in food extremely dangerous? Will the Government monitor the level of radioactive plutonium in food?

Radioactive plutonium mainly enters the body through inhalation. In general, only minute amount of radioactive plutonium will be absorbed by the gastro-intestinal tract from the contaminated food. Most of them will be excreted. Although radioactive plutonium is a human carcinogen, exposure to very low levels of radioactive plutonium will not pose a significant risk to human health.

During the early stage of a nuclear accident, monitoring should be focused on radionuclides that have a greater impact on human health including iodine-131, caesium-134 and caesium-137. For the monitoring of plutonium in food, we will keep in view the latest development on the issue and the recommendations by the international organizations (e.g. the International Atomic Energy Agency and the World Health Organization) and make necessary actions.

2.11 Would seafood sourced from waters around Japan and other areas be affected by Fukushima nuclear incident? Is it safe to eat?

After the Fukushima nuclear incident, the radionuclides that may affect the seafood in the direct vicinity of the nuclear power plant are mainly I-131, Cs-134 and Cs-137.

I-131 has a short half-life of eight days. Its level will drop significantly through natural radioactive decay and is not expected to be transported over long distances by ocean currents. Therefore, I-131 is not expected to pose long-term impact in marine pollution.

On the other hand, the longer lived radiocaesium (Cs-134, 2 years half-life and Cs-137, 30 years half-life) could be transported over long distances by ocean currents. The great quantity of water in the Pacific Ocean, however, will rapidly disperse and dilute the released radioactive materials. Levels of radioactivity in seafood collected away from the waters surrounding Japan are expected to remain significantly below levels of any public health concern.

In view of the Fukushima nuclear incident, a prohibition order has been issued to control the import and supply of a variety of Japanese food products from five prefectures of Japan. Import and supply of chilled or frozen aquatic products from the five prefectures are prohibited, unless they are accompanied by a certificate issued by the competent authority of Japan stating that the radiation levels do not exceed the guideline levels laid down by Codex. On the other hand, radioactivity of food, including aquatic products, produced locally or imported from areas other than Japan is being monitored through the CFS's routine surveillance programme. Surveillance results and information obtained so far did not suggest that is an area of concern. With effective measures in place, seafood available on market is not likely to be contaminated with high level of radioactivity.

辐射与健康(Q1.1-1.5) 辐射与食物安全(Q2.1-2.11) 进口食物的监察及管制(Q3.1-3.6)  预防性碘剂与健康(Q4.1-4.10) 瓶装∕包装饮用水在正常情况下的辐射标准(Q5.1-5.5)

辐射与食物安全

2.1 发生核事故时,放射性物质是如何扩散?

在核电站损坏事故中,包含核裂变产物的混合放射性物质会释放到外部。放射性铯和碘是危害身体健康的主要放射性核素。若放射性裂变产物泄漏到空气中,一些气态及挥发性的辐射同位素可能会随风散发到其他地区。这些看不见的放射性物质会像烟羽或烟雾般扩散到空气中,部分则会沉积在地上。与有关地点距离越远,烟羽所含的放射性物质浓度越低。香港与日本相距3000公里,这些烟羽飘至香港时将已大幅稀释。

tadiation_c

2.2 食物是怎样受到放射性物质污染?

烟羽中的放射性物质一旦沉积在植物、土壤或水中,便会进入食物链。动植物最初可能只有表层污染,及后经呼吸、摄取或进食受辐射污染的养分,体内组织便可能受到污染(例如动物进食大量受辐射污染的食物后,体内组织便会积聚辐射)。体内污染会随时间递减。表层污染多能靠冲洗清除,但内部污染则不能藉冲洗消除。人们可能直接或间接进食有关物质。所谓间接进食,就是食用某些动物(包括鱼)制品,而那些动物却曾进食受辐射污染的物质。即使烟羽没有散发到人们居住的地区,人们仍有可能在辐射泄漏事故发生良久后因进食受到辐射污染的食物而摄入辐射物质。

2.3 食用受辐射影响的食物,会有机会导致出现甚么问题?

天然辐射经常存在于四周环境中。人体新陈代谢过程通常会自行修复由低水平辐射造成的损害。当核电厂发生意外时,公众一般不会受高剂量辐射影响。一般而言,核事故发生后在市场上出售的食物不会受高剂量辐射污染。市民不会因进食这些食品而对健康造成急性影响。若果暴露于大剂量辐射的情况下,受辐照的人会患上急性辐射病,出现噁心、呕吐、异常疲倦、脱发、皮肤灼伤及器官功能受损等急性症状,需立即接受治疗。而且,长期食用受辐射污染的食物有机会令人患癌风险增加。

2.4 我如何透过食物配制程序减少食物中的放射性核素含量?

适当的食物配制程序,例如清洗、擦抺、大力拭擦或去皮/摘去外叶,可减少食物表面上可能残留的放射性污染。此外,亦可把受辐射污染的食物存放较长时间,以便当中的半衰期较短的放射性核素可进行放射性衰变。相反而言,煮食一般不能减低食物中的辐射污染水平。

2.5 目前有没有关于食物中放射性物质的国际标准?

食品法典委员会已就发生核事故或辐射事故后供人食用和在国际贸易中受污染食物的不同放射性核素含量订出指引限值。这些指引限值适用于经冲调或配制后供人食用的食物。就食用者的一般辐射保护而言,如食物中的放射性核素含量没有超逾相关的指引限值,有关食物应可供人安全食用。有鉴于婴儿对个别放射性核素特别敏感以致会造成问题的事实,食品法典委员会已分别就"婴儿食品"及"其他食物"的不同食物类别订出指引限值。

2.6 碘-131、铯-134及铯-137会否天然存在于食物中?

碘-131、铯-134及铯-137是人工产生的裂变产物*,不会天然存于食物中。但是,这些放射性核素可能从民用(例如核反应堆)或军用(例如地面核试)的核设施外泄至环境中,因而进入食物内随食物链传递。因此,食物含有低水平的碘-131、铯-134及铯-137可能是因环境污染所致。在食物中验出上述放射性核素含量偏高代表可能受到核紧急事故产生的辐射污染。

*从核裂变过程中产生的核素或由这些核素进行放射性衰变而形成的其他核素,例如从铀-235裂变过程产生的碘-131。

2.7 在甚么情况下,食物安全中心会使用公众卫生及市政条例中的78B条来禁止食物进口?

食物环境卫生署署长根据第132章第78B条,在有合理理由相信有需要作出命令,以防止对公众卫生造成危险,或减少对公众卫生造成危险的可能性,或缓解任何对公众卫生造成危险的不良后果的情况下,可作出命令。有关命令可禁止进口和供应问题食物及命令回收该等食物。

2.8 如何评估人体从膳食接受的内辐射剂量(内剂量)?

内剂量是因进食受污染的食物或吸入空气中的辐射物质所引起的辐射量。在我们的风险评估里,内剂量指人体从膳食接受的辐射剂量。我们是根据食品法典委员会的以下公式计算内剂量。

内剂量(Internal dose)
= 食品中检测的辐射量 (Radiation level in food) x 食品消费量(Mass of food consumed) x 进食剂量系数 (Age dependent ingestion dose coefficient,因应不同放射性核素及不同年龄组而有所不同)x 进口/生产系数(Import/production factor,即被放射性核素污染的食物的比例)

2.9 哪类食物会在核事故发生后较容易受到污染呢?为什么?

食物会因核事故而受到放射性物质污染。放射性物质会在空气中或随雨水沉降,令水果和蔬菜等食物的表面或动物饲料带放射性。在这种情况下,叶面积大的叶菜实际上会截取到大气中沉降的放射性污染物,因而令叶菜较易受放射性污染影响。另一方面,当奶牛进食了受早前飘出的放射性微尘污染的牧草,放射性核素很快会在牛奶中出现。因此,一般而言,供新鲜食用的食物(例如牛奶、叶菜及水果)会在核事故发生后首先较容易受污染。

视乎受污染地区的务农方法和核事故发生时农作物所处的生长阶段或收成季节,谷类食物、块根类农作物、其他农作物和以动物制成的食品可能在较后时间才会受到污染。

2.10 在食物中的放射性核元素钚是否对人类健康危害非常高?政府会否监测食物中的钚?

放射性核元素钚主要是透过呼吸进入人体。进食了被钚污染的食物,只有极微量的钚会被胃肠道吸收,大部分透过排泄物排出体外,虽然钚可引致人类患癌,不过极微量的钚对人类健康构成危害的机会不大。

核事故发展初期,须检测的是对人体健康有较大影响的碘-131,铯-134和铯-137。至于食物中钚的检测,我们会继续留意事态的发展和国际原子能机构、世界卫生组织等国际机构的建议,以作跟进。

2.11  在日本附近及其他地区的水域捕获的海产会否受福岛核事故影响?是否可供安全食用?

福岛核事故发生后,可能对核电厂沿岸的海产造成影响的放射性核素,主要是碘-131、铯-134及铯137。

 碘-131的半衰期短暂(八天),经过天然放射性衰变后辐射量会大降,不会随海洋水流远飘,因此碘-131不会对海洋污染有长远影响。

另一方面,半衰期较长的放射性铯(铯-134:两年;铯-137:30年)则可随海洋水流远渡重洋。不过,铯-134及铯-137会在浩瀚的太平洋中迅速消散和稀释,从日本附近水域以外捕获的海产辐射量仍然远低于可影响公众健康的水平。

鉴于福岛核事故,当局已颁布禁制令,对日本五个县的多种食品实施进口和供应管制。本港严禁从这五个县进口和供应冷冻或冷藏水产品,除非这些食品附有日本主管当局签发的证明书,证明辐射量没有超出食品法典委员会所订的指引限值。另一方面,中心透过日常监察计划监察本港或日本以外地区进口食物(包括水产品)中的放射性。根据至今所得资料显示,食物并无放射性问题。由于中心采取多项有效措施,本港市面上供应的海产不会有大量辐射污染。