Reduction of Dietary Sodium and Sugar

IAP Members

The Government appointed five renowned public health experts from the Mainland and overseas as members of the International Advisory Panel on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food from 15 March 2015 to 14 March 2018. They shared successful international experiences in promoting the reduction of salt and sugar in food to tie in with the work of the Committee on Reduction of Salt and Sugar in Food.

Members of the IAP include Professor Norman CAMPBELL from Canada, Professor Graham MACGREGOR from the UK, Professor Bruce NEAL from Australia, Professor Pekka PUSKA from Finland and Professor ZHAO Wenhua from the Mainland.

Photo of Professor Norman CAMPBELL

Professor Norman CAMPBELL (Canada)

Professor Campbell is a General Internist, a Professor of Medicine, Community Health Sciences and Physiology and Pharmacology and a member of the Institute of Public Health and Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta at the University of Calgary. Dr. Campbell is currently the HSF CIHR Chair in Hypertension Prevention and Control and Chair of the Canadian Hypertension Advisory Committee to lead the collaborative nongovernmental effort to prevent and control hypertension. He is the President of the World Hypertension League and Co-Chair of the Pan American Health Organization / World Health Organization Technical Advisory Group on Cardiovascular Disease Prevention through Dietary Salt Reduction.
Photo of Professor Graham MACGREGOR

Professor Graham MACGREGOR (United Kingdom)

Professor MacGregor is Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine at the Wolfson Institute of Preventive Medicine and honorary consultant physician at St George's Hospital, London. Early this year, he set up Action on Sugar, which is a group of specialists concerned with sugar and its effects on health. It is successfully working to reach a consensus with the food industry and Government over the harmful effects of a high sugar diet, and bring about a reduction in the amount of sugar in processed foods. Professor MacGregor also set up Consensus Action on Salt and Health (CASH) in 1996 and World Action on Salt and Health (WASH) in 2005 and chairs both.
Photo of Professor Bruce NEAL

Professor Bruce NEAL (Australia)

Professor Neal is a Senior Director at The George Institute for Global Health, Professor of Medicine at the University of Sydney, Professor of School of Medicine in Flinders University of Australia, and the Chair of the Australian Division of World Action on Salt and Health. Professor Neal leads a program of vascular research at the Institute and is supported in his work by the National Health and Medical Research Council and the Australian Research Council.
Photo of Professor Pekka PUSKA

Professor Pekka PUSKA (Finland)

Professor Puska was the Director General of the National Institute for Health and Welfare in Finland (THL) 2009–2013. He continues his affiliation with THL. THL is a comprehensive national institute for public health and welfare under Ministry of Health in Finland. Professor Puska has led the North Karelia Project: prevention of cardiovascular diseases in North Karelia and later on in all Finland. The project is widely recognised as a model for successful population based prevention of cardiovascular and other NCD.
Photo of Professor Wenhua ZHAO

Professor Wenhua ZHAO (China)

Professor Zhao is the deputy director of National Institute for Nutrition and Health, Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention (China CDC). She is the chair of Chinese Chronic Disease Control and Prevention Society of Chinese Preventive Medicine Association (CPAM). She has been the vice president of the Beijing Municipality Nutrition Society since 2000.