Multimedia library >> Publications >> Seasonal Food Safety Tips Print Friendly

Enjoy Poon Choi Safely at Lunar New Year’s Eve

As a local specialty, Poon Choi is particularly popular at Lunar New Year’s Eve. Since Poon Choi comprises a great variety of food ingredients and requires longer preparation time, these lead to potential risks. To prevent bacterial food poisoning caused by Poon Choi, we should keep in mind the following simple yet effective Five Keys to Food Safety for consumption of this traditional food:

First, Choose. Patronise licensed and reliable restaurants with good hygienic conditions and do not go to unlicensed restaurants. When ordering Poon Choi, we should inform the supplier of the time we collect it to avoid cooking too far in advance. Stop eating Poon Choi immediately if there are any foods in abnormal taste or smell.

Second, Clean. We should check if the staff keep the restaurant clean and pay attention to personal hygiene. After going to the toilet and before eating, we should wash hands thoroughly with liquid soap and water for 20 seconds to keep our hands clean.

Third, Separate. It is better for the food trade to store cooked Poon Choi and uncooked food in separate refrigerators. If raw food and cooked food are stored in the same refrigerator, make sure that food containers are completely covered or sealed with cling wrap to avoid contact between raw food and cooked food. Cooked Poon Choi should be put in the upper compartment of a refrigerator, while raw food in the lower compartment to prevent their juices from dripping onto the cooked food.

Fourth, Cook. As Poon Choi comprises a wide variety of food ingredients, it must be cooked thoroughly before consumption. Reheat Poon Choi thoroughly till the core temperature reaches at least 75 ℃ or bring it to a boil before eating. Also, we should pay attention to the quantity of food as the required reheating time increases with larger quantity. Consume Poon Choi immediately after thorough reheating; use communal chopsticks and spoons during consumption; and eat up all the food in one go to avoid repeated reheating. To safeguard our health, do not consume any undercooked ingredients (e.g. chicken with red juices). If ingredients in Poon Choi are not hot enough or are heated unevenly, we should reflect this to the staff at the restaurant immediately and ask them to reheat it again.

Lastly, Safe Temperature. The ingredients in Poon Choi are prepared in advance and pre-cooked for reheating before consumption. Hence, if Poon Choi has to be stored temporarily or transported, keep it at 4 ℃ or below, or above 60 ℃, to reduce the risk of bacteria growth due to prolonged storage at room temperature. Chilled "Poon Choi" should be kept at 4 ℃ or below to minimise its exposure to the temperature danger zone of 4 to 60 ℃.

To enjoy Poon Choi safely at Lunar New Year’s Eve, we should also maintain a balanced diet. Avoid eating too much food high in fat and/or saturated fat (e.g. stewed pork) and choose more high-fibre foods (e.g. vegetable and radish).

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 11-12-2013

多媒體資料庫 >> 刊物 >> 時令食品安全貼士 友善列印

歲 晚 食 盆 菜  食 得 開 心 又 安 心

盆菜已成為香港的特色菜餚之一,年近歲晚,更受歡迎。由於盆菜食材種類繁多,所需的製作時間亦較長,故潛在一定的風險。為免進食盆菜而導致細菌性食物中毒,我們在享用盆菜時應緊記下列簡單而有效的「食物安全五要點」:

第一點,要作「精明選擇」。選擇持牌、可靠及衞生的食肆,切勿光顧無牌食肆。如訂購盆菜,應向供應商說明提取盆菜的時間,避免供應商過早烹煮盆菜。在進食盆菜時,如發現食物味道或氣味有異,應立即停止食用。

第二點,我們要「保持清潔」。我們要注意食肆員工有否保持店內的環境清潔及是否注重個人衞生。我們在如廁後及進食前,緊記要用清水和梘液將雙手徹底清洗二十秒,保持雙手清潔。

第三點要注意「生熟分開」。食物業最好用兩個雪櫃分開貯存已經煮熟的盆菜及其他未經煮熟的食物。如須把生的食物和已煮熟食物貯存在同一雪櫃,貯存食物的容器必須用蓋或保鮮紙完全覆蓋或遮擋,避免生的食物與已經煮熟食物接觸。已經煮熟的盆菜要放在雪櫃上格,生的食物放在下格,以免生的食物的汁液滴在已煮熟食物上。

第四點是「煮熟食物」。盆菜含有多種材料,必須徹底煮熟才可進食。在食用盆菜前,要徹底翻熱食物至中心溫度達至攝氏75度或以上或完全煮沸,並留意盆菜分量,因為分量愈大,便需要翻熱較長時間才可令食物熱透。盆菜在徹底翻熱後應立即進食,應使用公筷和公羹,並一次過吃完,避免將食物重複翻熱。為保障健康,若發現食物未煮熟,例如雞肉有紅色肉汁滲出,便不要進食。假如發現盆菜內的食物不夠熱或受熱部分不平均,應即時向食肆員工反映,並要求重新加熱。

最後,大家要注意的是「安全溫度」。由於盆菜內的材料都是預先配製及烹煮,在食用前才再行加熱,所以如需暫存或運送,應把盆菜冷存於攝氏4度或以下,或熱存於攝氏60度以上,以避免盆菜存放於室溫下過久而增加細菌繁殖的風險。經冷凍處理的盆菜應保持在攝氏4度或以下,以免盆菜存放在攝氏4至60度的危險溫度範圍內過久。

歲晚進食盆菜,要食得開心又安心,亦要注意均衡飲食。避免進食過量高脂肪及/或高飽和脂肪的食物,如炆豬肉,應多選纖維含量較高的食物,如疏菜和蘿蔔。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 11-12-2013