What's New >> Food Safety Tips and Risk-in-brief Print Friendly

Risk in Brief

Norovirus Gastroenteritis

Introduction

  1. Norovirus is recognised as the most important cause of non-bacterial outbreaks of gastroenteritis. Gastroenteritis caused by norovirus is usually mild and self-limiting. Symptoms may include nausea, vomiting, non-bloody diarrhoea and abdominal cramps.
  2. Norovirus can be transmitted by ingestion of contaminated food and water, person-to-person, contact with contaminated objects and by aerosolised vomitus. Overseas research showed that about half of the norovirus infection was foodborne. Worldwide, shellfish especially raw oysters, raw vegetable, salad and ice have been implicated as common sources of foodborne norovirus infection. Locally, raw oyster was identified as the most commonly incriminated food for foodborne norovirus outbreaks.

Public Health Significance

  1. An increase in cases of norovirus infection has been reported, both in Hong Kong and many overseas countries, over recent years. There is usually a peak of norovirus infection during winter months and outbreaks at this time of year are more common.
  2. Norovirus appears to be infectious in very low dose. Only about 10-100 particles are needed to cause disease and no long term immunity can be developed after infection. Attack rates in outbreaks tend to be high, often exceeding 50% among at-risk groups (i.e. young children, elderly people, pregnant women and others with weakened immune systems) and may reach 90% in seafood-associated outbreaks in these groups.
  3. Norovirus is highly infectious and places that have dense population and mass food production, such as nursing homes, hospitals, hotels, as well as cruise ships are places of higher risk of spreading the virus.

Advice to the public

  1. Young children, elderly people, pregnant women and others with weakened immune systems or consumers who wish to reduce their risk of norovirus infection should avoid eating foods that are consumed without heat treatment (e.g. shellfish, especially oyster, to be consumed raw) or foods containing ingredients that are not cooked (e.g. sandwiches and salads).
  2. All foods, in particular shellfish, should be cooked thoroughly before consumption.
  3. Wash hands thoroughly with soap and water after using the toilet, before handling food or before eating.

Advice to the trade

  1. All foods, especially shellfish, should be purchased from reliable suppliers.
  2. Food handlers with symptoms of vomiting or diarrhoea should not handle food until they are symptom-free for at least two days, and should seek medical advice.
Risk Assessment Section
Centre for Food Safety
June 2007
Back  Back to Top
 
2007 copyright logo | Important notices Last Revision Date : 27-11-2007

最新消息 >> 新資訊及風險簡訊 友善列印

風險簡訊 諾如病毒腸胃炎

風險簡訊

諾如病毒腸胃炎

引言

  1. 諾如病毒被認為是導致非細菌性腸胃炎爆發的主要致病原。諾如病毒引致的腸胃炎症狀一般輕微,病徵會自行消退。病徵包括噁心、嘔吐、不帶血的腹瀉,以及肚痛。
  2. 諾如病毒可透過進食受污染的食物和水、人與人之間的接觸、接觸受污染的物件及經氣霧化的嘔吐物而傳播。 外國研究顯示約一半的諾如病毒感染個案是由食物引起的。貝類海產特別是生蠔、未經烹煮的蔬菜、沙律和冰塊是國際間 常見引致人類受諾如病毒感染的食物。在香港,生蠔被認為是最常見引起諾如病毒食物 中毒事故爆發的食物。

對公眾健康的影響

  1. 香港和許多海外國家近年都有有關諾如病毒感染個案增加的報導。諾如病毒在冬季最為活躍,由其引致的傳染病也多在冬季爆發。
  2. 很少量的諾如病毒,約 10-100顆粒,已具傳染性,即使感染後亦不會產生長久的免疫力 。 諾如病毒傳染性高,在高風險人士中(即幼兒、老人、孕婦和其他免疫力較弱的人)染病率超過 50% ,而他們因進食海產而爆發的諾如病毒腸胃炎的染病率可達 90% 。
  3. 諾如病毒屬高度傳染性的疾病,人多和大量製造食物的地方,例如安老院、醫院、 酒店及郵輪,都是傳播諾如病毒較高風險的地方。

給市民的建議

  1. 幼兒、老人、孕婦和其他免疫力較弱的人,以及希望減低受諾如病毒感染風險的消費者,應避免進食沒有烹煮的食物(例如貝類海產 , 特別是生蠔)或食物內含有不會被煮熟的原料 (例如三文治、沙律等)。
  2. 所有食物(特別是貝類海產)必須徹底煮熟才可進食。
  3. 如廁後、處理食物或進食前,用肥皂及清水徹底洗淨雙手。

給業界的建議

  1. 應向可靠的供應商購買食物 ,特別是貝類海產。
  2. 處理食物人員如有嘔吐或肚瀉等症狀,不應處理或接觸食物,應看醫生;並須在痊癒後至少兩日,才可處理食物。
食物安全中心
風險評估組
二零零七年六月
上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 27-11-2007