What's New >> New Information Print Friendly

Proposed Amendments to the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations

Proposed Amendments to the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations

Introduction

Metals are naturally present and ubiquitous in the environment. Metallic contaminants may enter the food supply chain through environmental contamination or during food production process. They may be present in food in trace amount. For ordinary adults, diet is one of the important sources of exposure to these metallic contaminants. The adverse health effects posed by metallic contaminants in food depend on the chemical nature, as well as the amount and duration of individual exposure, etc.

With a view to better protecting public health, facilitating effective regulation and promoting harmonisation between local and international standards, we propose to enhance and update the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations (the Regulations).

Proposed Amendments to the Regulations

We propose to amend the Regulations along the following directions / principles:-

(a) to replace the existing generic food categories of “all food in solid / liquid form” with specific MLs targeting individual food / food groups, with a view to aligning with the Codex principle and modern international regulatory trends of specifying metallic contamination standards for individual food / food groups of significant dietary exposure;

(b) to adopt MLs established by Codex unless otherwise justified;

(c) to establish MLs for food / food groups which are of significance to the population in Hong Kong and which there is no relevant Codex MLs;

(d) to update the food descriptions and nomenclatures in the Regulations, with reference to the available Codex’s food descriptions and nomenclatures* or those of other jurisdictions as appropriate; and

(e) to incorporate interpretation of MLs into the Regulations, given that there is currently no interpretation in the Regulations on how the maximum permitted concentrations can be applied to food in a dried, dehydrated or concentrated form; as well as multi-ingredient products.

* For details regarding the Codex food classification and definitions of other food commodities, please refer to the website of the Codex Alimentarius Commission (http://www.fao.org/fao-who-codexalimentarius/standards/list-of-standards/en/). For example, canned food is generally referred to food products which are processed in an appropriate manner, before or after being hermetically sealed in a container.
   
  Regarding the Codex Classficiation of Foods and Animal Feeds (Second Edition) (CAC/MISC 4), the revised food classification adopted by Codex (e.g. the revised fruit classification adopted in 2012) has not been incorporated in the aforementioned food classification document.

Please refer to the documents below for the details of the proposed amendments to the Regulations:-

Relevant documents can also be obtained from the following locations –

  • Communication Resource Unit, CFS, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD)
    (8/F, Fa Yuen Street Municipal Services Building, 123A Fa Yuen Street, Mong Kok, Kowloon);
  • District Environmental Hygiene Offices, FEHD; and
  • District Offices, Home Affairs Department

Please send your views by letter, facsimile or e-mail to the Centre for Food Safety on or before 5 September 2017. Details are as follows –

Centre for Food Safety
Food and Environmental Hygiene Department
43/F, Queensway Government Offices,
66 Queensway, Hong Kong.

Facsimile : (852) 2893 3547
E-mail address : metal_consultation@fehd.gov.hk

Public Forum

Public forums on the Proposed Amendments to the Food Adulteration (Metallic Contamination) Regulations will be arranged.

Session

Date/Time

Venue

Target

Session 1

11 July 2017
(Tuesday)
10:30am

Assembly Hall, 2/F,
Lai Chi Kok Government Offices,
19 Lai Wan Road, Lai Chi Kok, Kowloon

Public and all stakeholders

Session 2

11 August 2017
(Friday)
10:30am

Lecture Theatre, G/F,
Hong Kong Central Library,
66 Causeway Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong

Public and all stakeholders

If you wish to attend the public forum, please complete and return the attached enrolment form to Communication Resource Unit of Centre for Food Safety by fax at 2787 3638 or email to lmtam@fehd.gov.hk. Seats are limited. Acceptance of registration is on a first-come-first-served basis. The forum will be conducted in Cantonese (Simultaneous English interpretation will be provided). Please call the Communication Resource Unit of the Centre for Food Safety at 2381 6096 during office hours for any enquiries on the public forum.

Typhoon and Adverse Weather Arrangement

  • The forum will be cancelled if typhoon signal No. 8 or above OR black rainstorm warning is still hoisted (or is announced by the Hong Kong Observatory to be hoisted) 4 hours or less before the commencement of the event.
  • If the typhoon signal pre-No. 8 or the typhoon signal No. 8 or above is hoisted during the event, the forum will be terminated immediately.
  • If the Hong Kong Observatory announces the black rainstorm warning is to be hoisted or is hoisted during the forum, programmes already in progress will continue.
Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 27-06-2017

最新消息 >> 新資訊 友善列印

食物攙雜(金屬雜質含量)規例的建議修訂

食物攙雜(金屬雜質含量)規例的建議修訂

金屬在環境中天然存在並無處不在。金屬污染物可隨着自然環境的污染而進入食物鏈,又或在食物生產過程中污染食物,因此,食物中可能含有微量金屬污染物。就一般成年人而言,膳食是攝入這些金屬污染物的一個主要途徑。食物中金屬污染物對人體健康的不良影響,視乎個別金屬污染物的化學性質,以及攝入量和攝入期長短等而定。

為加強保障公眾健康、提高規管工作的成效,以及促使本港標準與國際標準接軌,我們建議加強和更新《食物攙雜(金屬雜質含量)規例》(下稱《規例》)。

《規例》的建議修訂

我們建議循以下方向修訂《規例》的內容:

(a)取代現行「所有固體/液體食物」的通用食物類別,改為就個別食物/食物組別訂定最高含量,以便與食品法典委員會的原則及現代國際規管趨勢(即對消費者的膳食攝入量有顯著影響的食物/食物組別訂定相關的金屬污染物標準)保持一致;

(b)採納食品法典委員會所訂的最高含量,另有訂明者除外;

(c)就對香港市民重要,而食品法典委員會未有訂定相關最高含量的食物/食物組別訂定最高含量;

(d)參考食品法典委員會可用的食物描述和專門用語*,或其他司法管轄區的食物描述和專門用語,適當地更新《規例》中的食物描述和專門用語 ;以及

(e)現時《規例》沒有說明最高准許濃度如何適用於經乾燥、脫水或濃縮處理的食品及以多種配料製成的食品,因此需在《規例》中加入相關最高含量的說明。

* 有關食品法典委員會的食物分類及其他食品的定義,請參閱食品法典委員會的網頁(http://www.fao.org/fao-who-codexalimentarius/standards/list-of-standards/en/)。例如,罐裝食物一般是指以適當方式進行加工,加工之前或之後以容器密封保存的食品。
   
  不過,就食品法典委員會《食物及動物飼料分類》(第二版)(CAC╱MISC 4),食品法典委員會其後採納的修訂(例如在2012年採納的水果分類修訂),尚未納入上述有關食物分類的文件。

《規例》的建議修訂詳情可參閱以下文件:-

你亦可在下列地點索取有關文件︰

  • 食物環境衞生署食物安全中心傳達資源小組
    (位於九龍旺角花園街123號A花園街市政大廈8樓);
  • 食物環境衞生署各區環境衞生辦事處;以及
  • 民政事務總署各區民政事務處。

請於2017年9月5日前,以郵寄、傳真或電郵方式把意見送交食物安全中心,詳情如下︰

香港金鐘道66號
金鐘道政府合署43樓
食物環境衞生署
食物安全中心

傳真號碼:(852)2893 3547
電郵地址:metal_consultation@fehd.gov.hk

公眾諮詢會

我們將安排公眾諮詢會,討論有關食物攙雜(金屬雜質含量)規例的建議修訂。

場次

日期/時間

地點

主要對象

第一場

2017年7月11日
(星期二)
上午 10:30

九龍荔枝角
荔灣道19號
荔枝角政府合署
2樓禮堂

公眾人士及所有持分者

第二場

2017年8月11日
(星期五)
上午 10:30

香港銅鑼灣
高士威道66號
香港中央圖書館
地下演講廳

公眾人士及所有持分者

有意參加公眾諮詢會的人士請填妥夾附的報名表,交回食物安全中心傳達資源小組(傳真號碼:2787 3638;電郵地址: lmtam@fehd.gov.hk。座位有限,先到先得。諮詢會將以廣東話進行(設有英語即時傳譯服務)。如有查詢公眾諮詢會事宜,請於辦公時間內致電2381 6096。

颱風及惡劣天氣安排

  • 若香港天文台於當天活動開始四小時前/內懸掛或預告懸掛八號或以上颱風信號或黑色暴雨警告信號,研討會將會取消。
  • 若香港天文台於研討會期間發出預告或懸掛八號或以上颱風訊號,活動將立刻取消。
  • 若香港天文台於研討會期間懸掛黑色暴雨警告,活動將繼續進行。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 首 頁
 
最近修訂日期 : 27-06-2017