Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Could injected meat be imported and sold as food for human consumption in Hong Kong

Could injected meat be imported and sold as food for human consumption in Hong Kong?

Some overseas companies inject raw meat with liquid (e.g. salt water and oil) for modifying the texture of the products, in addition to other purposes.  Could these injected meats be imported and sold as food in Hong Kong?

According to the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance (Cap. 132), it is an offence to sell adulterated meat, including injected meat in Hong Kong.  Introduction of any water or other liquid by injection or other means into the meat or offal of any animal, bird or reptile sold for human consumption is not allowed in Hong Kong.#

The trade is advised not to import and sell these products even though the practice and substance(s) injected may be acceptable to the exporting country.

 

# According to Section 51A(1) of Cap. 132, no person shall, by injection or any other means, introduce or cause the introduction of any water or other liquid into the tissues of the carcass, meat or offal of any animal, bird or reptile sold for human consumption or offered, exposed or intended for sale for human consumption.

Moreover, under Section 51A(2) of Cap. 132, no person shall sell for human consumption or offer or expose for sale or have in his possession for the purpose of sale for human consumption, any carcass, meat or offal of any animal, bird or reptile into the tissue of which there has been introduced by injection or any other means anything specified in Section 51A(1).

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 26-03-2014

風險傳達>>主題項目>>食物安全專頁 友善列印

注入了液體的肉類能否進口並在香港作為食物出售

注入了液體的肉類能否進口並在香港作為食物出售?

有海外公司把鹽水和油脂等液體注入生肉,以求改善肉質及達到其他效果。這些注入了液體的肉類可以進口香港並在港作為食物出售嗎?

根據《公眾衞生及市政條例》(第132章),在本港出售經攙雜的肉類,包括注入了液體的肉類屬違法行為。任何人亦不得在本港出售經注射或其他方法注入水分或其他液體的動物、禽鳥或爬蟲的肉或什臟供人食用。#

即使上述做法及注射物在出口國是合法行為,業界亦不應進口及出售這類產品。

 

#根據香港法例第132章第51A條第(1)款的規定,任何人不得採用注射或其他方法,在動物、禽鳥或爬蟲的屠體、肉或什臟的組織內,注入或導致注入水分或其他液體,而該等屠體、肉或什臟是出售或要約出售供人食用者,或是為將其出售供人食用而展出者,或是擬出售供人食用者。

此外,根據香港法例第132章第51A條第(2)款的規定,如任何動物、禽鳥或爬蟲的屠體、肉或什臟,曾被人採用注射或其他方法,在其組織內注入第51A條第(1)款所指明的東西,則任何人不得將其售賣或要約出售供人食用,或為將其出售供人食用而將其展出或管有。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 26-03-2014