Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Test results of glyphosate residues in oatmeal products

The Taiwan authorities have announced recently that several imported oatmeal products for sale in Taiwan were found to have glyphosate ( a pesticide) residue s at levels between 0.1 ppm and 1.8ppm (mg/kg) , violating its  zero tolerance policy on glyphosate residue in oatmeal products .

2. Members of the public may have misinterpreted that the non-compliant result of glyphosate in oatmeal as reported had exceeded either their "maximum residue limits", "default values" or "detection limits" stipulated by relevant Taiwan Authority (please refer to para 7-9 of this article). Apart from clarifying these misinterpretations, we would like to point out that the pesticide residues at the detected levels have nothing to do with food safety.

3. According to the Taiwan authorities, Taiwan has set maximum residue limits (MRLs) for glyphosate in certain crops (such as corns and wheat). However, Taiwan does not produce oats and neither the oats-exporting countries nor the trade has made any proposal to the authorities for establishing limits for glyphosate residues in oats. Without the support of relevant scientific data, zero tolerance applies to glyphosate residue in oats under Taiwanese law.

4. The Codex Alimentarius Commission (Codex) jointly set up by the Food and Agriculture Organization and the World Health Organization of the United Nations has established MRLs   for pesticide / commodity combinations (i.e. the maximum concentration of specified pesticide residues permitted in specified food commodities, e.g. glyphosate in oats) based on the following principles –
(i) Apply the minimum quantities necessary to achieve adequate pest control;
(ii)The level of residues is unlikely to pose adverse health effect upon normal consumption.

5. The existing Codex MRL for glyphosate in oats is 30 ppm, which is the same standard adopted by Hong Kong. The levels of glyphosate residues detected by the Taiwan authorities in oatmeal samples are well below the Codex limits.

6. In light of Taiwan’s announcement, the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has contacted the Taiwan authorities for more information and has taken follow up actions, including contacting major local importers and conducting sales checks at major local outlets. At the moment, there are no oatmeal products known to be involved in the food incident available in the local market. For the sake of prudence, the CFS has collected 13 oatmeal samples (including Quaker brand products) for the testing of glyphosate, all meet the Codex limits and the statutory standards of Hong Kong (glyphosate residue levels between 0.14 ppm and 1.7ppm).

7. The maximum residue limits (MRLs) / extraneous maximum residue limits (EMRLs) stipulated on each pesticide-food pair by different countries/ areas could be different. Generally speaking, members of the Codex Alimentarius (Codex) would usually adopt the standards established by the organization. If these standards are considered not appropriate, individual member / member organization of Codex may set their own MRLs/ EMRLs on the basis of appropriate data obtained mainly from supervised field trials according to good agricultural practice (GAP). Moreover, certain countries / areas (like EU, Japan and Taiwan) had implemented "default values" or set their MRLs/EMRLs according to the "detection limits" when specific pesticide-food pairs are not available. Default values and detection limits are usually either set at the limits of detection made possible by the laboratory or at a very low levels, both of which have no relevance to the safety profile comprising toxicity and usage of pesticides concerned. Taking chlorpyrifos as an example, 3 out of a total of 81 MRLs (i.e. "others(fruits and vegetables)", "others(cereals grains)" and "others(teas)") are set in accordance to the detection limits.

8. In addition to the use of "default values" and "detection limits" in setting their MRLs, some countries/areas (like Taiwan) also stipulated that the detection of pesticide is not allowed in food that without a designated residual limits. Oatmeal samples that have been detected with glyphosate by the Taiwan Authority recently fits this scenario exactly.

9. As MRLs are generally established on the data obtained mainly from supervised field trials implemented in accordance to good agricultural practice, it is worthwhile to highlight that principle and methodology in deriving at the default values is totally different from that of setting up of the GAP-based MRLs. Therefore, numerical comparison of these figures are meaningless and carries no implications on which approach is more stringent than the other.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 22-06-2016

風險傳達>>主題項目>>食物安全專頁 友善列印

有關燕麥產品含「草甘膦」殘餘的抽驗結果

台灣當局近期公布有關當地市面出售的數款入口燕麥片被驗出除害劑「草甘膦」(Glyphosate,在台灣稱「嘉磷塞」),含量介乎0.1至1.8ppm(毫克/公斤),違反燕麥在當地「不得檢出」的規定。

2.上述消息可能導致公眾誤解是次台灣發現有燕麥的檢測結果超出標準是由於「草甘膦」殘餘超出了當地的最高殘餘限量(MRL)、「設定值」或「定量極限」(請參考下文第7-9段)。除了澄清這些誤解,我們希望指出其實檢出的除害劑水平亦不一定會構成食物安全風險。

3.根據台灣當局的資料,台灣雖有為個別農作物(例如粟米及小麥等)訂定「草甘膦」的最高殘餘限量,但鑑於當地未有生產燕麥,故目前無於燕麥作物使用該除害劑之需求,亦沒有向台灣出口燕麥的國家/地區或業界向其主管當局提出訂立燕麥中「草甘膦」殘留容許量的要求,故在缺乏相關科學試驗資料之情況下,根據當地法律「草甘膦」在燕麥中的現行標準為「不得檢出」。

4.由聯合國糧食及農業組織和世界衞生組織成立的食品法典委員會則根據以下原則定下食物所含除害劑的最高殘餘限量,即指明食物中允許的指明除害劑殘餘的最高濃度(例如燕麥的「草甘膦」)-
(i)使用最少分量的除害劑而達到除害的效果;及
(ii)正常食用下,這殘餘量不會對健康構成影響。

5.根據食品法典委員會,「草甘膦」在燕麥的最高殘餘限量(MRL)為30ppm,香港的標準與國際一致;而台灣於燕麥片樣本中所驗出的「草甘膦」殘餘含量遠低於食品法典委員會的標準。

6.就上述台灣當局的公布,食物安全中心(中心)已向台灣當局了解事件,並採取了跟進行動,包括聯絡主要進口商及派員巡查市面主要零售點。中心目前未發現市面上有台灣當局驗出含「草甘膦」的燕麥片產品出售。為審慎起見,中心已抽取市面上13個燕麥片(包括桂格牌)樣本進行「草甘膦」的測試,結果亦合乎食品法典委員會及香港法定的標準(驗出的「草甘膦」含量介乎0.14至1.7ppm)。

7.不同國家/地區爲某「除害劑-食物」組合訂明的最高殘餘限量/最高再殘餘限量或會不同。食品法典委員會的成員一般會採納食品法典委員會釐定的可用標準。如成員國或成員組織認為採納食品法典委員會的標準並不合適,一般會根據遵照「優良務農規範」情況下所作相關的田間試驗數據設定其最高殘餘限量。此外,部分國家/地區(如歐盟、日本、台灣)亦有為沒有列明最高殘餘限量/最高再殘餘限量的除害劑訂定「設定值」,或根據「定量極限」釐定部分「除害劑-食物」組合的最高殘餘限量。「設定值」及「定量極限」一般是除害劑檢測方法的檢測限值或一個甚低水平,與除害劑的毒性、使用量等安全資料沒有直接關係。以除害劑「毒死蜱(在台灣稱陶斯松)」為例,台灣法規訂定的81組最高殘餘限量中,有三組(即其他(蔬果類)、其他(穀類)和其他(茶類))是根據「定量極限」釐定最高殘餘限量。

8.除了訂定「設定值」及根據「定量極限」釐定最高殘餘限量外,部分國家/地區(如台灣)亦有列明除相關規例另有訂明最高殘餘限量外,其他除害劑殘餘均不得檢出。今次被台灣當局在燕麥檢出「草甘膦」即屬此一情況。  

9.值得注意的是,由於「最高殘餘限量」一般是根據遵照「優良務農規範」情況下所作相關的田間試驗數據設定,與「設定值」的制定理念及方法有所不同,兩組數字的高低並不帶有對除害劑規管鬆緊的意義,故不應將兩組數字直接比較。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 22-06-2016