Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Online Shopping of High-risk Foods

Online Shopping of High-risk Foods

Online food shopping has become a common practice these days. When purchasing food online, consumers should pay particular attention to the nature of foods because certain high-risk food items are known to be associated with food poisoning outbreaks.

What are high-risk foods?

There are two questions to determine if a food is a high-risk food – First, does it need to be kept refrigerated (4 ℃) or frozen (-18 ℃) ? Second, is it a “ready-to-eat” food (further cooking is not needed before consumption)? If the answers to both questions are “yes”, it is a high-risk food.

Foods that are high in protein or moisture and low in acid are perishable because they support microbial growth. Strict temperature control of these foods is needed to minimize or prevent growth of pathogenic bacteria. When these foods are cooked, processed or to be eaten raw, they are considered high-risk foods. It is because consumers, after receipt of the food, are not required to cook the food in order to kill any pathogens that might have contaminated the food before eating.

The following high-risk foods are of particular concern for online shoppers -

  1. Seafood to be eaten raw - sashimi, marinated raw crabs or shrimps, raw oyster, etc.
  2. Cooked or cured meats, poultry, fish and seafood– ham, sausages, smoked turkey, smoke salmon, etc.
  3. Mixed foods – sushi and sandwiches
  4. Cakes, puddings or any desserts containing milk, cream, cheese, mousse, eggs, etc.

Be discerning when about ordering high-risk foods online

High-risk foods require special storage and transport conditions to control microbial risk, but it is not easy for the consumers to verify if appropriate measures have been put in place by online shops during manufacturing, processing, storage and transport to ensure food safety along the chain. As such the public needs to be more discerning when ordering high-risk foods online. The public is advised to pay attention to the nature and potential risks associated with the food items that they intend to purchase online.

 

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 08-10-2015

風險傳達>>主題項目>>食物安全專頁 友善列印

網購高風險食物

網購高風險食物

近年在網上購買食物愈趨普遍。消費者在網購食物時須加倍留意食物的性質,有很多食物中毒事故都是因為一些高風險食物造成的。

哪些是高風險食物?

我們在判斷某食物是否屬高風險食物時,可以思索兩條問題:第一,該食物須否保持冷凍(4℃) 或冷藏(-18℃)?第二,該食物是否屬食用前無須烹煮的即食食物?如兩者的答案都是肯定的話,該食物即屬高風險食物。

高蛋白或高水分,呈弱酸性的食物有利於細菌繁殖,很容易腐壞,需要實施嚴格的溫度控制,才能減低或預防致病菌滋生。如果這類食物已煮熟,經過加工,或供生吃,消費者在收到後可直接食用,即屬高風險食物,因為在食用前沒有通過烹煮去殺滅食物中有可能存在的病原體。

網購人士應特別小心以下高風險食物:

  1. 生吃的海產:刺身、醃製生蟹或生蝦、生蠔等
  2. 已煮熟或醃製的肉類、家禽、魚類和海產:如火腿、香腸、煙燻火雞、煙燻三文魚等
  3. 混合食品:壽司和三文治
  4. 蛋糕、布甸或 含有 奶類、忌廉、芝士、慕司、蛋類的甜品

網購高風險食物要「識揀」

高風險食物需要特定的貯存和運輸條件才能有效控制相關的微生物風險,但消費者很難確認網上店鋪在食物的生產、加工、貯存和運送過程中有否採取妥善的食物安全措施。因此,市民在網上選購高風險食物時須小心挑選可靠的店鋪,對於食物的性質和潛在的風險更要了解清楚。

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 08-10-2015