Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Food Safety of Flavoured Ice Beverages

Flavoured ice beverages are popular beverages in Hong Kong especially in summer. This type of beverage contains finely blended ice mixed with flavour, syrup and other ingredients based on consumer choices. Recently, there is media report alleged that flavoured ice beverages on sale in the local market exceeded the total bacterial count standard of the Taiwan authority. The media report also alleged that the Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has not established standard for total bacterial count in cold beverages in Hong Kong.

According to the website of the Taiwan authority, the Taiwan standard of bacterial count for flavoured ice beverages should follow the “Sanitation Standard for Ice Products”, i.e. total bacterial count less than 100,000 cfu/g, rather than the “less than 200 cfu/g” as quoted in the media report. As such, the bacterial count detected in the samples as quoted in the media report (i.e. 126 – 566 cfu/g), have not exceeded the Taiwan authority standard.

In fact, Hong Kong has established microbiological criteria for cold beverages. The Microbiological Guidelines for Food (the Guidelines) group ready-to-eat food into different categories based on the ingredients used and the manufacturing process, and established relevant microbiological criteria. For flavoured ice beverages, in general, non-prepackaged cold beverages with solid ingredients but without dairy components (iced green tea with red bean, etc.) belongs to Food Category 5, while non-prepackaged cold beverages with solid ingredients and dairy components (iced milk tea with pearl tapioca, etc.) belongs to Food Category 6. According to the Guidelines, cold beverages (e.g. iced green tea with red bean, and iced milk tea with pearl tapioca, etc.) with total bacterial count less than 100,000 cfu/g is classified as satisfactory, and the sample should not contain E. coli at level higher than 100 cfu/g. Therefore, the total bacterial count and E.coli number of the samples, as quoted in the media report, have not exceeded the Guidelines levels.

Furthermore, the Guidelines established microbiological criteria for Listeria monocytogenes (i.e. the listeria species that can cause disease), rather than the whole genus of listeria bacteria including those non-pathogenic species. The report has not stated clearly that the detected level belonged to Listeria monocytogenes, rather than the whole genus of listeria bacteria. The whole genus of listeria bacteria are universally found in the environment. However, only the Listeria monocytogenes is pathogenic to human. Non-pathogenic listeria species are more common found, but the pathogenic Listeria monocytogenes is uncommon.

During 2013 – 2015, the CFS has collected more than 400 food samples, including flavoured ice beverages, edible ice and non-bottled drinks for microbiological testing, all results are satisfactory.

Back  Back to Top
 
Last Revision Date : 23-08-2016

風險傳達>>主題項目>>食物安全專頁 友善列印

沙冰飲料的食用安全

在香港,特別是在夏季,沙冰飲料相當受歡迎。這類飲料由經過攪碎的冰粒、味料、糖漿及其他原料而組成。不過近日有媒體報道稱在市面購買的沙冰飲品總含菌量超出台灣當局標準,報道亦指食物安全中心(中心)沒有為凍飲訂立總細菌含量的標準。

根據台灣當局網站顯示,沙冰的總含菌量是根據台灣「冰類衛生標準」所訂定的標準,即總含菌量不可超過100,000 cfu/g,而並非報道所稱的不可超過 200 cfu/g。因此,根據報道在沙冰中檢測到的總含菌量(即126 – 566 cfu/g) 並沒有超出台灣當局的標準。

其實,本港亦有為凍飲訂定微生物含量指引。<<食品微生物含量指引>>(<<指引>>)對即食食品的分類視乎食品的實際添加的食材及製造過程,訂立相關的微生物含量指引。至於「沙冰飲品」,一般而言,對於含固體配料但不含奶成分的非預先包裝凍飲(凍紅豆綠茶等)的分類爲指引的第五組,而含固體配料和奶成分的非預先包裝凍飲(凍珍珠奶茶等)的分類則為指引的第六組。根據<<指引>>,若凍飲(例如凍紅豆綠茶、凍珍珠奶茶等等) 的總含菌量不超過100,000 cfu/g為滿意級別,而大腸桿菌的含量亦應不多於100cfu/g。所以,根據報道所引述樣本的總細菌及大腸桿菌含量,所有樣本並無超出<<指引>>的水平。

另外,<<指引>> 所訂定的“李斯特菌”是指致病的李斯特菌 (即單核細胞增生李斯特氏菌, Listeria monocytogenes) ,而非包括其他非致病菌的整個李斯特菌屬。報道中並未清楚說明所驗出的水平是否致病的李斯特菌,而並非整個李斯特菌屬。李斯特菌屬在環境中幾乎無處不在。不過,單核細胞增生李斯特氏菌是唯一可令人致病的品種。一般的"李斯特菌屬"的細菌較常見,而致病的單核細胞增生李斯特氏菌則少見。

在2013年至2015年,中心共抽取超過400個食物樣本,包括沙冰、食用冰及非瓶裝飲料作微生物測試,全部測試結果合格。

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 23-08-2016