Risk Communication >> Subject Areas >> Food Safety Topics Print Friendly

Excessive Pesticide Residues in Tea Products in Taiwan

Excessive Pesticide Residues in Tea Products in Taiwan

Recently, media reported that pesticide residues with levels exceeding their regulatory standards were detected in a number of tea leaf / floral tea samples available in the Taiwan market. The Centre for Food Safety (CFS) has contacted the Taiwan authority for more information and has been closely monitoring the development of the incident.

Upon noticing the incident, the CFS has immediately enhanced its surveillance and contacted the relevant importers/vendors to investigate if the affected products have been imported into Hong Kong.

The CFS has collected tea leaf samples from an outlet relevant to one of the affected tea stores in Taiwan for testing of pesticides that have exceeded the Taiwan standards. All results were satisfactory. In addition, the CFS has inspected an outlet of another affected tea store and found that the affected product has been taken off the shelf. The CFS has collected other tea leaf/ floral tea samples from the store for testing of pesticide residues and all results were satisfactory. Moreover, the CFS has inspected other outlets relevant to three tea stores reported to be affected in Taiwan. Although the affected products were not available, the CFS has collected other tea leaf/ floral tea samples for testing of pesticide residues and all results were satisfactory.

Summary of the investigation related to the tea incident in Taiwan (updated as at 4 pm on 8 Nov 2017)

Since the incident in Taiwan is evolving, the investigation is ongoing. Members of the trade should stop selling any product that is suspected to be affected and inform the CFS immediately. Members of the public who have doubts in related products they have purchased should stop consumption and contact the concerned retailers. Consumers and traders are advised to refer to the latest announcement at this website.

At the same time, it is worth noting that eating food with pesticide residue exceeding the standard does not automatically imply a hazard to health provided the dietary exposure to that particular pesticide falls within the safety reference value. A distinction needs to be made here between standards and safety reference values. Even though the primary purpose of setting standards in food is to protect the health of consumers and the levels are intended to be toxicologically acceptable (i.e. unlikely to cause acute or chronic toxicities in humans), the standard is not an equivalent of and should not be taken as a safety reference value per se.

Publications and relevant information

List of affected tea products announced by Taiwan authority (Chinese only)

       
    Back  Back to Top
     
    Last Revision Date : 08-11-2017

風險傳達>>主題項目>>食物安全專頁 友善列印

台灣茶葉產品含過量除害劑殘餘

台灣茶葉產品含過量除害劑殘餘

最近,傳媒報道台灣市面出售的多種茶葉/花茶樣本被驗出含除害劑殘餘,水平超出當地標準。食物安全中心(中心)已聯絡台灣有關當局了解事件,並會繼續密切留意事態的最新發展。

中心得悉事件後,已即時加強在市面的巡查及主動聯絡可能受影響的本港進口商/商戶,以了解有關食品有否進口本港。

目前,中心已在其中一間在台灣當局曾列出的不合格茶飲產品在香港的相關店鋪抽取茶葉樣本,針對超出台灣當地標準的除害劑進行檢測。結果合格。此外,中心亦在另外一間在台灣當局曾列出的不合格茶飲產品在香港的相關店鋪巡查。發現台灣當局曾列出的不合格茶飲產品已下架,但中心已抽取其他茶葉/花茶樣本作除害劑殘餘的恆常檢測。結果亦全部合格。中心亦在另外三間在台灣當局曾列出的不合格茶飲產品在香港的相關店鋪巡查。雖然未有發現台灣當局曾列出的不合格茶飲產品,但中心已抽取其他茶葉/花茶樣本作除害劑殘餘的恆常檢測。結果亦全部合格。

台灣茶葉事件的調查結果摘要 (更新至2017年11月8日下午4時)

現時事件在台灣仍未結束,而本港的調查亦仍在進行中。業界若懷疑擁有涉事產品,應停止出售並立即與中心聯絡。市民如曾購買有關產品,或對相關產品有所懷疑,亦應停止食用,並與有關零售商聯絡。消費者和業界應留意本網頁之最新公布。

同時,市民亦要留意,除害劑的攝入量只要在安全參考值之內,進食除害劑殘餘量超過限量標準的食物並不意味著健康會受到損害。限量標準值和安全參考值是兩種不同的概念。雖然就食物中的除害劑殘餘制定限量標準的主要目的是保護消費者的健康,以及確保除害劑在毒理學上可接受的水平(即不會令人急性或慢性中毒),但限量標準並不等同,亦不應被視作安全參考值。

刋物及相關資料

 

上 一 頁   返 回 頁 首
 
最近修訂日期 : 08-11-2017